We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, fading decor and unhelpful staff”
Review of 11 Cadogan Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
11 Cadogan Gardens
Ranked #104 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, fading decor and unhelpful staff”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We tried to order room service and our call was completely ignored. They then called us back 3 times through the night! 1am, 3am and 5am. Complained at checkout and they didn't even try to make amends! Disappointing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlncrrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    162
    64
    31
    28
See reviews for
118
339
50
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

lovely location. Hotel sumptious and elegant but heavy. Maybe it would appear more pleasant in autumn/winter. In summer it is rather oppresive.
On arrival the key to our room was missing. After waiting around we were taken to our room with the housekeepers key. Apparently we were expected to come and go leaving it unlocked. Or after room service had been, to go down five floors and get them to unlock it for us. . All this went on for two days until they managed to cut another. We were let into the beautiful private gated garden one day, but someone shut the gates while we there and we were locked in. If we hadn"t got our mobile (with the hotel number on it) with us, who knows how long we would have been locked in there.
Staff were sort of friendly, but clearly not enough of them, and none that I met had English as a first language which made it all a bit of an effort.
The nice surprise was at the end when we asked them to book us a taxi to the station , and they took us for a very reasonable price in the hotel car.

Room Tip: If the lift isn't working avoid being to high uo, there are lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morwenna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed one night in one of the suites in this charming hotel and would definitely come back. First of all, the location was great! Just a few minutes walk from Sloane Square underground, for shopping and eating, King's Road is just around the corner. The area is quiet and felt safe. I love staying in these hidden boutique hotels where you almost feel as part of the locals.
The hotel is old and has kept a lot of the history and charm. The suite was small but just enough for the three of us staying in it. It was clean and had nice light furnitures and a very comfortable bed! In the bathroom there were luxurious products by Ormonde Jayne. We went out for breakfast, plenty of nice and cozy cafees in the area. I slept very well and it was so nice to wake up to the view of a green English garden. Would absolutely come back if I get the chance!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mihanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

we didn't book here, but were put in the hotel having being bumped by another hotel locally. This was a very strange experience..............most of the hotel is really oldy worldy, with dark furnishings, wallpaper, black ceilings and dark furniture. The rooms were not great, and definitely could have been cleaned better, and some updating is required. The huge plus point are the staff who were quite excellent........forever helpful, informative and above all friendly.
.
Not sure I would stay here again, but was certainly an experience. It is described as 'luxury'....which I would not agree with..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAbraxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Our visit to London was to be highlighted by, in my instance, several EPL soccer matches. I contacted the Head Concierge, Richie Long, for assistance in securing tickets, only to find that during our 4 day visit there'd be few matches in London and extremely expensive prices. Richie was selected as the 2011 London Concierge of the Year, and for very good reason--he knows everybody and everything in London, makes great restaurant recommendations, and best of all, he too is a soccer fan: he personally took me to a mid-week game featuring his favorite 3rd Division London-based team. The evening far exceeded any total experience an EPL game could have provided me. Since our last visit the hotel had added a lovely full-service bar/lounge, including some food service, very capably manned during our stay by Victor. In all services the staff left us feeling like we were part of their family.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My husband and I just spent a lovely 4 nights at this charming, quirky boutique hotel in the Sloane Square area of London. The staff were absolutely superb, very friendly, warm and helpful. Our room was bright and comfortable. The neighborhood was quiet and well located near shopping and restaurants and an underground stop that could take us everywhere. Despite being a small hotel, there was a bar, library, drawing room, restaurant and even a quite nice gym. While the maze of dark, Victorian common rooms might at first seem off-putting, they actually begin to grow on you as you begin to feel like you are living in a private club (which it used to be) amongst friends. Concierge services are fantastic and if you get a chance to communicate with Richie, you will be laughing out loud all the way to London.

Room Tip: The Deluxe room is fairly small, so I'm sure the standard rooms are very small. Just be prepare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellenmelon149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location is great, next to Harvey Nics, Harrods, Sloan Street. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel, however, is in desperate need or renovations, with holes in the carpet, lift not functioning half the time, etc. It seems the renovations are planned so will not come back until after.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Chelsea
Draycott Hotel
Draycott Hotel
#24 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Belgravia
Sloane Square Hotel
Sloane Square Hotel
#189 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Chelsea
Sydney House
Sydney House
#215 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belgravia
The Hari
The Hari
#12 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Belgravia
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
Jumeirah Carlton Tower
#69 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Knightsbridge
The Capital Hotel
The Capital Hotel
#42 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11 Cadogan Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11 Cadogan Gardens

Property: 11 Cadogan Gardens
Address: 11 Cadogan Gardens | Sloane Square, London SW3 2RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#92 Luxury Hotel in London
#112 Business Hotel in London
#171 Romantic Hotel in London
#185 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — 11 Cadogan Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Cadogan Gardens is located just off Sloane Street in the heart of Chelsea, moments away from the designer boutiques of Sloane Street, Kings Road, Harrods and Hyde Park. A member of the internationally recognised brand Small Luxury Hotels of the World, this enchanting urban hideaway is full of character and charm. Originally built as four separate Victorian townhouses by Lord Chelsea in the 19th century, 11 Cadogan Gardens has a unique and rich heritage forming part of the historical Cadogan Estate. 11 Cadogan Gardens is relaunching following a year of extensive renovations and now offers 56 individually designed rooms and suites. Each of the hotel's 25 suites have been individually designed to complement the hotel's unique character, five of which have a private entrance. Contact a member of the team directly to find out more about the room and suite options for your next stay. The hotel's drawing room is a welcoming retreat for guests, with an eclectic mix of warmly toned fabrics and light floral-pattered walls creating a comfortable and cosy atmosphere in which to relax and enjoy our delicious Afternoon Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your 11 Cadogan Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eleven Cadogan Gardens London
Eleven Cadogan Gardens Hotel London
11 Cadogan Gardens London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing