We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very clean!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eden Plaza Kensington
Ranked #665 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Location opposite natural history museum brilliant. rooms small but well appointed with nice bathrooms. reception staff helpful but not great English. reception needs a computerized location itinerary maker for guests. would choose again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SouthamptonSaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 874 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

A lot of hotels in central London can feel a little tired and in need of a facelift; thankfully this hotel isn't on that list. I stayed just one night in a twin room, and though it was fairly small we had plenty of room. The air conditioning was superb, which was great considering we stayed on the hottest day of the year so far.

It was well appointed, with a good shower and nice clean bathroom. The beds I think would have been a little uncomfortable for more than a couple of nights, as they were a little soft, but I had a decent nights sleep nonetheless.

The room was in the basement, but despite that it still had windows, that could be opened and actually stepped out of to a small outside area. The room had plenty of natural light, if a bit of a strange layout with the beds not side by side but rather in a line.

Great little place though, and you couldn't be in a better location if you're down for something at the Royal Albert Hall as we were. It's opposite the Natural History museum, and about a 3 min walk from Gloucester Road.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iceandlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

As others noted, rooms are tiny. Ours had just enough room to walk on two sides of the double bed.
Wifi is free, however, it only worked in our room if we crouched right next to the doorway. The staff offered to move us if this was a problem, but we didn't bother as we didn't come to London to surf the Internet anyway.
However, I was pleased with this hotel due to the great staff. They were friendly and attentive and always seemed to be busy keeping the place clean. Once the man at the desk even let us make a call on his mobile phone, since ours didn't work in the UK.
The breakfast was nothing special--cereal and pastries. Nearby is a little square with lots of restaurants, and it's also near several museums and Kensington Gardens. We paid for breakfast our last day there, but they waived the price, to make up for the lift having been broken.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank triplover42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and whilst we experienced quite a shock when we saw the room we still managed to get some decent sleep over here.
The rooms are very small and can barely fit two persons, and the same can be said of the bed. However one way or another we managed. The bathroom was also pretty small.
The level of cleanliness was very high and the staff were always very helpful.
One good thing about this hotel is the free wi-fi which is good and quite fast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trevordg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights, don't think we would have been able to handle more. Very small room, one of us had to sit on the bed while the other manoeuvred around unless one of us was in the bathroom. There was hanging space and two small shelves for clothes, complementary shower gel, tea and coffee but no biscuits. The room and the bathroom were clean. The reception staff were pretty much not interested..not at all smiley! We did feel that £100 per night was too much, The hotel was in a good position for us as we had a date at The Royal Albert Hall, but two days was enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemini01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I made the mistake of booking this for 3 nights for a work function. If you ever stay in room 112 then you probably still need counselling. The room is barely bigger than a single bed and doesn't even have any windows! You are underground and when you go up for breakfask your are told 'you need to have yourself'! English not a strong point then! £129 A NIGHT! NOT WORTH THE SUFFERING!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The pictures on the bookings websites suggest this hotel is bigger than it actually is. The bedroom was tiny and the reception doubled for a bar. The hotel was however very clean and tidy and was OK just to go back and sleep in, but anyone looking at this hotel to use as a base for longer than 2 days and wanting social space such as bars and lounges you may want to think about another location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylor560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#432 of 1,077 in London
836 reviews
South Kensington
The Gainsborough Hotel
The Gainsborough Hotel
#809 of 1,077 in London
490 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#381 of 1,077 in London
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Best Western Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#446 of 1,077 in London
407 reviews
South Kensington
ibis Styles London Gloucester Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Plaza Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Plaza Kensington

Address: 68-69 Queen's Gate | South Kensington, London SW7 5JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #665 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $69 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eden Plaza Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Queens Gate, South Kensington, this newly refurbished 3 Star Deluxe Hotel offers a chic yet comfortable atmosphere in a fantastic location.Set opposite some of the most famous Museums in London - the Natural History, Science and Victoria & Albert Museums, the Hotel is just moments away from the shopping of Harrods and Harvey Nichols, the Serpentine Gallery, the Royal Albert Hall, Earls Court as well as Hyde Park and Kensington Palace/Gardens. So whether you are visiting for business or pleasure, the Eden Plaza Kensington is an ideal base for your stay in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Plaza Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Plaza Kensington Hotel London
Eden Plaza London
Hotel Eden Plaza
Eden Plaza Hotel London
Eden Plaza Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing