We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Awful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Curzon Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Curzon Plaza
Ranked #947 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Checked in at 3 pm today. Room was Noisy,dirty and smelled weird, glass in window was cracked - felt like I had walked into a vacated squat.

Luckily the job I went to do in Mayfair finished early so I was able to check out 5 hours later without having to stay the night.

I am not picky - this place was bad !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    33
    27
    21
    43
See reviews for
25
48
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Absolutely no correlation of price and quality. The room was barely furnished, and what furniture there was was either Ikea or cheap. Linoleum floor throughout. Flaking paint on the window-frames, cracked tiles in the bathroom. Strangely enough, there was no COLD water for the three days of my stay. Each day they promised to fix it, and each evening I found out that nothing had been done. The room was cold, and they only provided one thin blanket. When I asked for another, they had to go to look in the cellar for a long time, before returning with an ancient blanket that had seen much better days, and obviously hadn't had a clean since the day it was purchased. The only positive point of the hotel is its excellent location near Green Park and the underground.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WiglafMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We were both very pleasantly surprised when we checked into the Curzon Plaza.
Naz and the rest of the team were first class and upon arrival we were upgraded to a one bedroomed deluxe apartment which exceeded our expectations.
The location was excellant as was value for money in such an exclusive location.
My only crticism was that the corridors were slightly tired and the exterior apartment doors could be doing with being either replaced or refurbished .
Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

Very mis-leading website with lots of tightly croped pictures of beds and freshly painted walls. On closer inspection and I looked at several rooms, very dated fittings, falling plaster, dubious stains, and general grubby feel about the place. Not what i'd expect from such a location. Felt more like a student bedsit then Mayfair apartment.
What a shame this place has huge potential.
Dispite some of the apartments being huge by London standards its one to avoid, travel half a mile down the road and get better value.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonHotelinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Brought back memories of shabby and filthy student halls of residence. Accommodation of hostel and not hotel standard. Myself and four colleagues refused to stay here due to concerns over cleanliness and our personal security due to room doors and windows not closing properly.......Carpet stains, bathroom mould and general grime around skirting boards, all in good need of a clean with Cillit Bang and Bleach! We did not stay and resorted to alternative accommodation in the area - of a higher standard and equal cost! If only we had checked tripadvisor first.
The disappointing fact was that the receptionist gave the impression that we weren't the first to express our dissatisfaction and refusal to stay.

Overall a bad experience. This hostel(!) needs a complete refurbishment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank anorakheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

The room has all you need: living room, full kitchen, and bathroom with a bath. It's really HUGE, you can put your stuff everywhere. And the price is very low for that location, a few steps from Piccadilly Circus. The staff is not the nicest one, but the hotel itself is superb!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCKD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

we booked this place as we was going to the us embassy and it was close.
we had a studio room priced @ £94.00
the room was clean bath room looked new, it had the biggest bed ever & it was comfortable.
it was basic but it was just a bed for the night
its in a great location within walking distance to lots of sights.
there is lots of coffee shops near & a mini supermarket.
over all we would stay again for the odd night.
i found the staff to be nice & helpfull,
also they gave us a car park ticket that got us £30.00 deducted from the price (40)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deenaross0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Washington Mayfair Hotel
Washington Mayfair Hotel
#425 of 1,070 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Mayfair
Hilton London Green Park
Hilton London Green Park
#568 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#209 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
44 Curzon Street by Mansley
#435 of 1,070 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Mayfair
The May Fair Hotel
The May Fair Hotel
#187 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 3,675 reviews
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#347 of 1,070 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Curzon Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Curzon Plaza

Property: Curzon Plaza
Address: 56 Curzon Street | Mayfair, London W1J 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #947 of 1,070 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Curzon Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-Suite Hotel housed within a redbrick building dating from 1934. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Curzon Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Curzon Plaza London, England
Curzon Plaza Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing