We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms...sorry food and beverage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Ranked #103 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Excellent rooms...sorry food and beverage”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great hotel location for London attractions with clean and very nice rooms, however the attitude to the guests leaves a lot to be desired. There is a general rip off mentality for food and drinks. An example is the early closing of the cafe area, (on a Saturday night just as two huge events in town had finished) so that customers had to walk and fetch their own drinks from the Churchill bar next door...a small point, but at $10 for a small Heineken, insult was added to injury by the automated addition of 12.5% service charge. (for going and getting your own drinks) After asking for this "discretionary" to be removed I was ignored.
This was just an example of staff being a little too aloof....I felt we were an imposition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melmoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our Hotel. Whilst I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our excellent location, I have noted your comments regarding some aspects of our service. I have raised this with relevant team to ensure that we improve our communication.

I apologise for the inconvenience caused and I do hope that it will not prevent you from visiting us in the future.

Kind regards,

Michael J.Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,387
    576
    164
    74
    41
See reviews for
547
743
156
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here on 13th July for one night, we booked through last minutes secret locations and to find out this would be our hotel, we were so happy! We were staying in London as it was our 3 month wedding anniversary and as we are yet to have a honeymoon, this was our 'mini moon'....the staff were made aware of this and were so attentive and willing to make our stay as special as possible, we went out to the theatre for the evening and upon our arrival back we were welcomed in our room to a bottle of prosecco and a cake...this was very unexpected and such a lovely treat....the bed was so comfortable and massive, the views are so lovely you forget you are in central London, such a fab location. The breakfast was amazing too, such a large and tasty selection. My one regret is not having afternoon tea on the Sunday but we had to get back to our boys, I have heard amazing things though, so a great excuse to go back! Thank-you hyatt regency for such a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for your lovely title of ‘Perfect’. I am so pleased to read that you so enjoyed your stay with us and I will be delighted to share your feedback with our team. Congratulations on your three month anniversary and please do come and see us again soon to enjoy our Afternoon Tea!

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
318 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Churchill is a classy hotel, stayed a couple nights in between trips. Hotel is what I expected. Has old world charm and a very international client base. Conveniently located north of Hyde Park – was able to walk to most tourist destinations and restaurants in Mayfair. Selfridges is around the corner which is convenient. Breakfast in the hotel is great. International buffet where you can pretty much have anything you want. Running in Hyde Park is an option, but the hotel also has a gym that is basic, but never found anyone in it. The rooms are clean and comfortable – will continue to stay at the Churchill as a base for London travels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of our Hotel. I was delighted to read that you find us to have ‘old world charm’ and a convenient location to travel around the city. I am so pleased that we were able to meet your expectations and thank you for mentioning that you thought the breakfast was very good, it will be my pleasure to pass on your kind comments on to the team at The Montagu.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to London.

Kind regards,

Michael J.Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Pros/Likes:
- Check-in was fine and our room was ready at 1:00 pm when we arrived but took a little bit longer than usual because it was an employee's first day.
- Check-out was quick and efficient.
- Room was nice with modern decor and of decent size with two comfortable twin beds.
- In-room coffee, safe-deposit box, robes, and slippers.
- Room had one American-style electrical outlet.
- Mini-bar refrigerator had ample space to put in your own beverages.
- Alarm radio with iPhone docking station though not for iPhone 5.
- Big flat-screen TV with several channels in English, about a fourth of the channels in Arabic from a variety of countries (including Oman and Sudan), and then some channels in Spanish, Russian, French, Portuguese, and Chinese.
- Good location close to Oxford Street with lots of shops and an 8-minute walk to the nearest tube station.
- Came back to our room on the evening of the 4th of July to find a plate with a sign saying "Happy 4th of July" along with a mini-pecan pie and sugar cookie in the shape of the American flag...what a super nice touch!
- Loved the daily lunch specials for £11.50; one day we had fish pie and another day we had shepherd's pie, both very good.
- Sunday brunch was equally nice though expensive.
- Excellent though expensive tea time with awesome sandwiches and pastries.
- Newspapers in English and Arabic were available on each floor and in the lobby.
- Staff were super nice, especially at the Montagu Restaurant.

Cons/Dislikes:
- Well, the building won't get any beauty awards...ugly on the outside!
- Small bathroom and the bathtub did not have a curtain but that dreaded plexi-glass half-divider that causes the floor to get wet when taking a shower.
- The bathtub was high (knee length) so consider this if you fall easily or have knee problems.
- Bathroom had no electrical outlet (other than for shavers) so had to plug in the hair dryer outside.
- No pool/spa.
- Water leak (drops every couple of seconds) woke me up one morning at 6:00 am, apparently from the air conditioner, though was fixed promptly upon being reported later that morning.

Neutral:
- Gym had mostly cardio equipment with some free weights and unisex showers/changing rooms.
- Had free internet, presumably due to my Platinum status, otherwise prices start at £17.00 /day.

Miscellaneous:
- Received e-mail from the hotel a couple of days before check-in date to ask for confirmation of room preferences, check-in time, and other info.
- There were some places to eat nearby but not as many as you would imagine based on where the hotel is located.
- Still a four-star facility but at five-star rates.

Impression:
Outstanding customer service if not so much the amenities thus overall too expensive for what it is.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MBWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with so many succinct points. We are constantly striving to better our services and appreciate all of our guests’ experiences and observations. I will certainly share all your thoughts with the management team of all the departments. Thank you for mentioning the outstanding customer service you received, especially from our team at The Montagu, they will be delighted to receive this feedback.

We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hyatt Regency London – The Churchill in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael J.Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Even though the hotel is situated right in the middle of the Oxford shopping area, it is actually two blocks north of Oxford St and therefore a little removed from the hubbub which is a blessing. Check-in was very quick and the receptionist even noticed that I had a Chinese last name and provided a very well-made booklet explaining all the services in both Chinese and English.

The room itself was a decent size with a nice sitting area, but the bathroom was on the small side. Lots of items like the electric kettle and etc were tucked away in cabinets and drawers, so you might have to search for certain items. Coffee and tea were complimentary which was great because I was suffering from a cold at that point and was drinking several cups of tea a day. There is no ice machine, so I had to call for a bucket to be sent up, but the service was very quick. The glass door walling off the shower only extends for half the length which makes for a somewhat awkward situation; I don't understand why they don't just go the full length or use shower curtains.

Nonetheless, I had a great stay at the Hyatt and would return next time I'm in London.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klavkonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
I was so pleased to read your review on Trip Advisor and that we were able to meet your expectations. It is of great importance that we listen carefully to our guests’ comments and share your experiences with our team. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed our ‘Nin Hao’ booklet and thank you for your kind title of ‘great service and good location’.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I only stayed here 1 night, but it was worth it.
The hotel is in a nice location only about 3-4 blocks from Oxford street the main shopping area, but it has the feel of been in a more rural location. This is helped by the hotel been across the road from a park ( but it must be said that this park is for local residents only ).
The welcome was very good and even though the reception was busy they were quick and you were made to feel very welcome.
The room was very nice , large bed and the small seating area was nice also.
The bathroom was small but this is London and I have been in smaller that cost more.
We had lunch in the hotel which was on offer , 2 courses for £20 which was good value.
There was also a small jazz band playing which added a nice touch.
Breakfast was takin in the room and this along with room service was fantastic also.
I would stay here again as they go out of their way to make you feel relaxed and welcome .
If you need to be at the top end of Oxford street or near to Marble Arch then this is great hotel, a bit far from the west end but I am sure the hotel could arrange to get you a taxi from the many that stand outside.
As I say we'll worth a look.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the park are nice, though they are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind comments; I was delighted to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of our Hotel. We are very proud of our location and in particular our view onto Portman Square. The square is open to guests of the Hotel, so please do let our Concierge team know if you would like to spend some time in it. Thank you for kind comments on the service, I know all the team will be delighted to hear your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency London – The Churchill in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel recently. The room was disappointing to say the least. It felt dated, and maintenance was poor (eg the shower hose in the bathroom was partially detached and water kept gushing out). Also, the glass shower screen covers only about a third of the length of the bathtub, and is simply not practical if you are tall (as I am). Needless to say, water ended up on the bathroom floor whenever I took a shower. The room standards are simply not those of a Hyatt. The saving grace for the hotel is its F&B outlets, which are very good. However, given the price that the hotel charges for its rooms, I would much rather stay elsewhere and just dine at the Churchill.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dbasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael G, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor, following your stay with us. Please rest assured that I have taken on board all of your comments with regards to our bathroom facilities. We are currently looking at this aspect of our rooms. I am delighted to read however, that you enjoyed our F&B outlets, which we are extremely proud of.

We hope that you may return to us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,067 in London
1,552 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#20 of 1,067 in London
1,697 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,460 reviews
Marylebone
The Langham, London
The Langham, London
#24 of 1,067 in London
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill

Property: Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Address: 30 Portman Square, London W1H 7BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Romantic Hotel in London
#130 Business Hotel in London
#139 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the West End, with views over Portman Square, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for London’s main shopping areas and tourist attractions. Each of the hotel’s well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer extreme comfort in elegant surroundings. Guests can enjoy European ‘comfort’ food in The Montagu, award-winning Italian cuisine at Locanda Locatelli and cocktails in The Churchill Bar. This luxurious hotel offers the highest levels of standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill Hotel London
Hyatt London The Churchill
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing