We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Ranked #105 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
southern england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

Well this is a bit late but stayed here or long weekend in December last year.
From the outside I was a little disappointed for a 5 tar hotel to appear so architecturally bland, but once inside it was 5 star interior all the way! Faces out onto a fenced garden in the centre of the roads
We drove straight to hotel car park (entry in access road at the rear)
Although busy with Xmas shoppers etc the check in was really quick & very friendly.
The bedroom was very large with a huge really comfortable bed ! I suffer from insomnia but didn't have a problem here !!
We walked everywhere from the hotel , for shopping its a great location & a stroll over to Hyde park a few mins away.
Breakfast was just about everything you could want, cold buffet of fruit cereals,cakes & middle eastern treats or waiter served hot food on request all included in the breakfast price.
We arrived back tired & late one evening so ordered room service , this was a treat of piping hot food waiter served to a table they set up in our room, then came & cleared away on request.
Rooms have all amenities you could want including an iPhone/pad charger !
The on site bar was a lovely atmosphere to chill out in with live pianist & very agreeable bar staff !!!
All staff extremely friendly ,helpful & polite.......can't wait to go back this Xmas !!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holhotspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel and we hope to welcome you soon again for Christmas in London! We appreciate you positive comments and we would be delighted to assist you with any further requests.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,322
    554
    162
    72
    40
See reviews for
525
704
146
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
southcoast
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed at the Churchill for three nights during the Olympics. The room was beautiful, a large king size bed which was very comfortable , what more can you ask for.
The staff were all very friendly from the front desk to the concierge to the restaurant, always a smile and nothing was too much trouble.
I can recommend the eggs Benedict for breakfast, excellent start for the day. Would have liked a pot of coffee on the table at breakfast rather than rely on it being topped up. But overall I have no complaints
Perfect situation for shopping and sightseeing, will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezayi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found all our staff friendly and efficient. I will pass on your kind words on The Montagu’s Eggs Benedict to our Chef’s, as they love to receive feedback.

We hope you will come and visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Churchill is one of the classic top end high quality hotels.
An outstanding location, walking distance to subway, Oxford street shops and Hyde park. ll you could want.

The service from front desk and all staff during the stay was outstanding. The restaurant on Club Floor was superb with brilliant service, good food and good wifi access. A quiet place to work if you have to. An example of the excellent service levels was the staff in the Club lounge providing me access to the conference room because I had a private calls to make.

The only criticism I would have, which is outside their control, is that the rooms are small, but I think this is the standard for London hotels built in the 70s. There was no real 'living space' or even space for a couch in the room.

Secondly, with so many VIPs staying around the period I was there the constant presence of high level security staff and swathes of armed police with machine guns standing outside 24/7 was a bit intrusive and made me feel uncomfortable.

I would gladly return to this hotel with its outstanding and friendly service and brilliant location, but maybe not at such a hectic time, when VIPs and heads of state are sharing the place.

Room Tip: Opt for the Club Floor. It costs extra, but the Club check in and Club breakfasts make it worthwhile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocM-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
It was a pleasure to read your feedback about your recent stay with us. Our philosophy is to exceed our guests’ expectations and I am happy to note that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest. We appreciate your honest comments about our room size. In regards to our high security standards, we would like to ensure that all our guests feel safe during all times and we are sorry that it made you feel uncomfortable.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Stayed at the The Churchill on business trip, is was perfekt from the first sight to the last. I will most defenently return. the front desk staff was very correct and helpfull. rooms where perfekt whit at big and long bed. And the breakfast is outstanding.

Room Tip: rooms higere up seems to be newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG-Marienlyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind compliments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon at the Churchill.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

OVERALL
Spent two weeks at the Churchill leading up to and then during the first few days of the Olympic Games (a BUSY period). Rooms were almost perfect, lobby was stylish and felt very high-end, location wonderful, service generally good with a few odd nuances. Also, would be great to have a little gift shop or kiosk IN the hotel where one could get a cheap bottle of water but there are plenty of nearby stores as well.

ROOM
Had a standard king and the bed was comfortable, the room very clean and quiet and in excellent condition. The bathroom was wonderful and, expecting to be in a SMALL London-style hotel, I was very pleasantly surprised. I will say (to all Europeans), enough with the hand-held showers and the half-doors - we in America devised a better system and it ends with the whole bathroom not being wet.

FOOD
Had breakfast in the restaurant daily and the food was reliably good and service always friendly if not a touch irregular. Sometimes a coffee would take 30 seconds to deliver, sometimes there was quite a wait with a weird process of the waiter ordering it through the kitchen.Never ordered room service and didn't eat other than breakfast inside the hotel.

SERVICE
As mentioned, sometimes the wait staff at breakfast were a little irregular in their service but they were still WONDERFULLY friendly and professional. Housekeeping also did odd things in that they would stack bars of soap every day - I guess in case I went on a soaping spree (one back-up is enough). And then would also leave glasses that were clearly used and dirty for the next day.

SUMMARY
Highly recommend. Great location, no real complaints and, again, I was there for about two weeks.

Room Tip: SEEMS that those at the ends of the main hall were smaller (though perfectly acceptable in size).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chicagodude07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback on your experience and it compliments us that you took the time to thoroughly describe your stay. It is our great pleasure to let you know that we have shared all yours valuable feedback with our teams.

We really appreciate your comments and look forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt in a club level king for five nights for the Olympics. The room was small but well appointed. Very comfortable bed and plenty of storage. There are a couple of club lounges all of which offer a nice variety of hot and cold breakfasts daily as well as snacks, wines and beverages. This hotel is in an ideal location in London - Marble Arch, Bond Street and Oxford Circus tube stops are all in walking distance. Lots of great restaurants within a short walk from the hotel. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Club rooms are on the top floors of the hotel. At night, even in the city center the room is nice and quiet. This hotel was fully booked for every night we stayed. Despite that, they run efficiently. No waits for anything! With a full hotel one would expect and forgive hiccups -- we didn't experience any. We would return to this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: The club rooms are worth the extra cost as you have a private check in, private concierge, free beve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scooby19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review! We really appreciate your honest words about our Team and it will be my pleasure to thank all of them in your name. During these busy Olympics days, it is always a great motivation for our colleagues that their work is honoured by our guests.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Really liked it, as I came to the hotel the bell men where very helpful I went to the upper level I think it was 4 not sure to check in the Winston Churchill presidential suite I was very happy with my choice lots of room quality luxury and the service I guess it's the Hyatt they always go out of there way for you!!
Stayed in the Dorchester hotel before also in a suite That's just different level but if you want a reasonable price good service and excellent area it's going to be worth your while!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RayminS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyLondon, General Manager at Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
It is always great to hear that the hotel experience starts already “in front of” the hotel! Thank you very much for your comments and I am glad that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and memorable. Indeed you chose a marvellous suite with a lot of special features.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michael J. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#70 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,416 reviews
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Arch London
The Arch London
#21 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,645 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#149 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
Mayfair
InterContinental London Park Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill

Property: Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill
Address: 30 Portman Square, London W1H 7BH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in London
#100 Romantic Hotel in London
#130 Business Hotel in London
#139 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the West End, with views over Portman Square, this five-star hotel is perfectly placed for London’s main shopping areas and tourist attractions. Each of the hotel’s well-appointed guest rooms and suites offer extreme comfort in elegant surroundings. Guests can enjoy European ‘comfort’ food in The Montagu, award-winning Italian cuisine at Locanda Locatelli and cocktails in The Churchill Bar. This luxurious hotel offers the highest levels of standards and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill Hotel London
Hyatt London The Churchill
Hyatt Regency London - The Churchill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing