We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about acceptable and cheap hotel in Canary Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #889 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed April 27, 2014

This hotel is very dated and in serious need of a refurbishment, particularly in the entrance lobby. However, the rooms are clean, if dated and importantly if you can get a good deal it is one of the cheapest options at Canary Wharf, often 50% or 65% cheaper than the competition. In the end, you get what you pay for.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,888 - 1,894 of 4,061 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

The hotel room was a bit dated and smelled a little damp, but it was clean and the bed was very comfy. The bathroom even had scales in and the air con worked well.
If you do stay remember to put the do not disturb on the door as the maid knocked at 8am, we were awake but it did shock us that it was so early.
The only complaint was at check in, there was only one guy on reception and A very long queue, when I finally got to check in no apology was offered for the weight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This hotel is a 7 minute walk to the Jubilee subway line, which is a good, quick line to the city. There are plenty of places to grab some quick breakfast near the subway in the morning; we did not eat breakfast at the hotel. The wifi does not work well in this hotel. It was often times hard to stay connected due to weak signal, even when moving around the room; it was quite frustrating. We did not use the pool or gym. Parking was expensive but convenient. In hind sight, I might have checked the rates across the street for our 5 day stay. Staff were nice.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an extra bed for our son. Since we let them know in advance, I think they put us i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

On a weekend trip to visit my son in canary wharf the britannia seemed the ideal location. However even though we had upgraded the room the hotel was tired and shabby. Definitely not chic!! Our room had damaged wallpaper the furniture had pieces of decorative trim missing, the shower head had a hole in the handle rendering it useless and to top it all under the bed was a subway wrapper and a hair clip.
After meeting with the front of house manager I came away thinking all would be resolved and I would gain feed back on my return home. This has not happened and I now feel that the moment we checked out my complaint was forgotten. Such a shame that this hotel in such a prime position and with such potential should be so unloved. I would have loved to make a return visit feeling my comments had been acted upon but sadly I don't feel confident that anything will change.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan59mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We stayed here Easter weekend and had a lovely stay. Very friendly staff, we didn’t have enough towels in the room so called down to the concierge and towels were bought up within minutes. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Good location only few minutes walk from the DLR and tube station. Will defiantly be staying again, great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our third visit to the Britannia. We were going to a gig at the O2 arena and this hotel is the perfect base.
We stayed in a 13th floor suite which gave excellent views over the city, the staff were friendly and helpful.
Breakfast self service excellent. Look forward to our next visit.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DG_photo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Booked this hotel through a East coast Railways Superbreak weekend ,very satisfied with room and location especially if ypu are attending the O2 Arena .cleanliness was excellent and staff freindly and helpful ,would readily stay there again (plus point is that it is a short distance from Canary Wharf tube station and the docklands light railway)

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wullie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#68 of 1,077 in London
3,691 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#133 of 1,077 in London
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Docklands
#568 of 1,077 in London
131 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Address: 163 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#404 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $62 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International
Britannia International Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing