We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #888 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I found this hotel on lastminute.com and booked it for a night away with my boyfriend.
I was a little concerned after reading some negative reviews but was thoroughly impressed with the hotel upon arrival.

The building is just a short distance from the DLR and was pretty easy to find (although we did almost walk past it). The entrance and reception is beautifully decorated and the staff at the check out desk were efficient and polite.
We had a standard double room which had a beautiful view of Canary Wharf, was clean and was a good size. I can see what some reviews mean about the hotel being a little dated but i felt that it gave the rooms quite a grand feel which I liked.
There appear to be plenty of options for food including room service although we did not sample these and the hotel is just down the road from Subway, Tesco and Pret a Manger. There is also a selection of restaurants and a shopping mall just across the river which take no longer than ten minutes to walk to.

The room was a little hot at night but that is my only vague concern and I would definitely consider returning to the Britannia International Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keeley2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,045)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,004 - 2,010 of 4,045 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here for the new year, we had booked with National Holidays. The hotel is clean, the food basic but well cooked and presented,staff friendly and the rooms are clean spacious and well equipped ie TV kettle and hairdryer. Furniture is a bit dated in the rooms but hey what you expect for the price, its clean!!!
Its well situated for central London, with easy access to trains and buses.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 721 which was a quiet room loking on the main street. some people complained their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

In London for a weekend break between Christmas and New Year,. We had a large, clean well presented room with excellent views over Canary Wharf, ideal for access to the Jubilee Line and Docklands Light Railway for easy transport into Londons main attractions. Bars and shopping centres also located nearby. Hotel staff were welcoming and polite, Plenty of choice in the restaurant and food was hot and well prepared, Rahman in the restaurant was especially helpful, polite and very well presented, Would recommend as a great short trip base

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have been to the Britannia hotel between Christmas and new year for 5 consecutive years. It has always been of a good standard, but this year it's been even better. All staff were polite and well mannered especially Rahman in the restaurant. We stayed in an executive room which was very clean and tidy. Food in the restaurant was to a good standard. Well done Britannia you must be doing something right.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purpleelefont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel itself start to get a littlie bit old. But exept that it was nice. The buffet resturant had not much to offer but it tasted good. The staff was friendly too. The rooms was okay, new tv`s has been installed. Beds was a little too hard for my taste. To get the perfect water temprature in the shower, you must have millimeter pressison to get it right. All in all the hotel is okay and probaly one of the best hotels in the Britannia corporation.

Room Tip: Rooms higher than 2th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebastianStixrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

a very nice stay good clean rooms plenty to eat and reasonably good food easy accsess to London city centre and major attractions London has to offer would recomemd this hotel if you are looking for a place from which to explore London at a reasonable cost

Room Tip: all rooms are of very good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vennypaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Trip to London to see Michael Buble at the O2 was topped off by the wonderful experience my Mum and I had with this hotel. We were warmly welcomed as soon as the taxi pulled into the hotel. Every staff member were happy to help. The bedroom was beautiful and the view was fantastic! I would highly recomend this hotel to anyone staying in London. Are if you are going to the O2 this hotel is a perfect location, not too close but close enough!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#115 of 1,077 in London
448 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#68 of 1,077 in London
3,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Docklands
#595 of 1,077 in London
113 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Aloft London Excel
Aloft London Excel
#276 of 1,077 in London
1,903 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Address: 163 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#402 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $64 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International
Britannia International Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing