We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, functional hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #882 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant, functional hotel”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for business in October 2013. I am familiar with Canary Wharf and the location of this hotel is superb. The entrance and hallway is impressive and I checked in quickly and easily. As many of the reviews state, the hotel is rather dated, but I would add that this is not in a negative way. Yes, my room looked a little aged, but it was clean, tidy and there was plenty of room. The view was superb! There was some confusion over being able to pay for drinks on my room and the barman in the hotel was not overly helpful, but someone else helped me with the situation. If you are looking for a clean, pleasant hotel in a top location, then I highly recommend the Britannia International - it's really good from a functional perspective. Yes, it's a little dated, but so what? However, if you are looking for a place to stay where the hotel is part of your holiday experience, then just be aware that there are more 'luxurious' and modern hotels around, although you'll be hard-pushed to find a better value hotel that is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Callum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    1,041
    1,021
    610
    633
See reviews for
470
1,338
257
1,039
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (871)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at the Britannia with my Mom. Had a bit of trouble finding it with the directions they gave from Canary wharf station but found it eventually.

The hotel was very clean although quite outdated, it could really do with some refurbishment. We had a twin room with great views of the river. Please note that you can hear the DLR so if you are a light sleeper you might want to consider somewhere else. We booked with Wowcher so got a free bottle of wine, unlimited 'spa' access, breakfast and the room for £80, which is really good for London obviously.

We used the hotel as a stay over because we were going to a concert at the O2 and this proved an excellent location, just a tube away after a ten minute walk.

The 'spa' was quite nice, there's a small pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna. Again though this is outdated and could do with some refurbishment.

The staff overall were ok, did not come across one English worker the whole stay but did not really affect us. We visited the 'pizzeria' after the concert and got pizza to take back to the room for just under £7. Please not there is not much around the hotel in terms of food places but there's a zizzis and a Chinese about a 15 min walk away.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhanxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness, Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at The Britannia for a concert at The o2 arena. Perfect situation next to Canary Wharf underground. On check in we received our key and were allocated a room on the 10th floor. When we opened the door we discovered the room was already occupied. This could have been an embarrassing situation however on returning to reception staff could not have been better and upgraded us to a suite on the top floor. Excellent room. Couldn't fault the hotel or staff during our stay. Even an in house Indian restaurant which was lovely! Would definitely return if we were attending the o2 again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlander63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

A friend and I went to Wireless Festival in the summer, shes in a wheelchair and canary wharf seemed the easiest place to stay for accessibility. We booked a disabled room 3 months in advance of the festival. The day before the festival we confirmed with the hotel that it would be OK for us to arrive past midnight for the night of our stay. Around midnight when we were on our way to the hotel we received a phone call saying that we didn't have a room. When we arrived we discovered that this was due to a "system error". We asked to be transferred to another hotel within Canary Wharf even if that was not with Britannia hotels but they told us no rooms were available. We were told our only choice was to stay at their other hotel in Hampstead (Britannia Hotel Hampstead London). We were too tired to fight the case so agreed to wait for a taxi to take us there. It arrived, not wheelchair friendly, so we waited again for another more suitable taxi to arrive this was around 1.30am. It cost nearly £50 but the hotel paid. In the taxi we were told that if we wanted to return to Wireless the next morning via taxi (which the hotel said they would pay for) it would take an hour and half at least. There goes our reason for choosing the hotel for its proximity to the festival.
We arrive at the hotel to a cool reception and are shown to our room. It is not disabled friendly. We squeeze the wheelchair into a tiny hallway type space at the entrance to the room and I struggle to help my friend to the toilet. Due to the stress of the situation she is sick, I manage to get her onto the bed and ask the porter (who has arrived to tell us that the disabled toilet is at the end of the corridor on the floor above) to bring cleaning equipment due to the situation. He returns with a mop and blue roll and wipes up the mess. I explain that we need extra towels so I can bathe my friend in bed and some disinfectant to properly clean the toilet as well as fresh sheets for the bed. He returns with what I requested but as he goes to leave I get annoyed and say that I am not changing the bed in a hotel, bearing in mind we have traveled so far, been messed around, given the wrong room and I still needed to clean the bathroom.
He changed the bed, I managed to have a shower that was way too hot in a bath with a clogged plug, and I decide to open the complimentary bottle of wine they provided us with when I notice that the porter has left two sets of keys on the side. I kindly take them to him and request the bottle of wine opened, I definitely needed it. I end up getting to bed around 4am but at least we have arranged a to have a late check out of 1pm with a taxi to take us to the festival.
Morning comes, a cheap and nasty breakfast is delivered, and we receive a knock on the door at half 11 reminding us that check out was at 11. I explain the situation of the late check out but we have decided to skip our second day at the festival and just go home, we are both exhausted, and request the taxi, to be called at 1, to take us to the train station.
We go to reception at one expecting our taxi, it has not been ordered. We wait for 10 minutes and are approached saying that there is a taxi but we need to fold the wheelchair up, this is not possible so we wait a further 20-30 minutes for a taxi to take us to the station.
We missed out on the second day of our festival, were put through a huge amount of hassle and stress and only received a bottle of wine and a refund which was difficult to get.

Room Tip: Apparently you need to book at least 3 months in advance if you hope to get a room and even then you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

In its heyday this hotel no doubt basked in the early glory of the creation of Canary Wharf and its Gotham City-like micro world. However whilst the rest of Canary Wharf has maintained it's glossy image, the Britannia has simply aged and slumped into depression.

Once gleaming gold taps have faded to dull steel, the room is dated and not very clean with beds that are small and uncomfortable. There has clearly been no noticeable investment in maintaining the glistening appeal it once had and not doubt was intended to maintain.

The paintings on the corridor walls are visibly screwed to the wall - literally big screws through the picture frame. It makes you fear for the security of the place if they think guests or viistors are going to make off with their artwork, and you are left with a sense of accusation as you walk past each picture as if it was you that was the potential culprit. There are discreet ways of securing pictures that should be used instead.

The food here is absolutely dire. We ate in their Indian restaurant on our first night. Quite definitely the worst Indian meal we have ever had. It was hideous. A Tesco microwave meal would have been tastier and £50 cheaper. Don't even be tempted. The second night we ate in their Pizzeria. Oh man - another disaster, over priced and really poor quality.

Buffet breakfast was £27 for two people. It was grim and again poor quality produce.

This is certainly not worthy of 4 stars.

Managers appear to be mysteriously unavailable, leaving reception and front of house staff to face the music. Save yourself the money and disappointment and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you are more than the size of a ten year old opt for a twin room rather than fight for space in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburghtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

By far the worst hotel I've been to in London. You can find attractive rates online, especially if you pay the full price in advance, but there's a reason for that. No hot water, screws falling from the bed structure when you get on it, dirty carpet. I strongly advise you not to try the room service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidbernar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Got this on Groupon deal so feel bad criticising but as a hotel it lacked a couple of essentials. No minibar/bar fridge & the smallest wardrobe ( closet) I have ever seen. Location excellent but car parking excessive at £21 per day . We found a car park directly opposite at half that price. Wifi very poor, dropped out a lot which is surprising in a hotel like this one. Breakfast good, but prefer to have coffee brought or pour fresh rather than have to use what the previous couple had not drank.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aussiepomcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel, London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#76 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#102 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#485 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Property: Britannia International Hotel
Address: 163 Marsh Wall | Docklands, London E14 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#397 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International
Britannia International Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing