We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #889 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Expected a more modern hotel as decor was rather dated. Bedroom furnishings were dark and oppressive but at least the beds were comfortable. We were on a coach trip for the New Year period so was pleased to see that we were well catered for and overall we had few complaints. However, I feel that more information should have been available about the surrounding area - ie how to get to underground station and to river.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happykath912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,061)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,578 - 2,584 of 4,061 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed at the hotel as part of a coach trip offer over Christmas 2012. As a single traveller I was pleased to have a twin room and everything in the room worked great. it was clean and comfortable, as was the hotel. My gripe is with the horrible food. This was served out of the main restaurant and in the conference suite in order to accommodate the hundreds of coach trip guests. I guess this is where they pull back some of the cost because it was so terrible, I paid to eat in the hotel restaurant one night, just to eat tasty food which I could identify. The breakfast was edible but the evening meals were laughable.So overall, I would stay again, but not as part of a cheap coach deal.

Room Tip: Second floor, no views but easy to use the stairs as the lifts get very full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

From the arrival to the departure, the Britannia staff were friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel looked lovely with the christmas decorations and our room was spacious and comfortable. The bar had a good atmosphere and we would certainly stay here again next time we are in Docklands.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiFan50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a Christmas break. The room was very pleasant, warm and provided good facilities, although the beds were very hard. We would never stay for a break at this hotel again as the food for vegetarians was diabolical. There was no protein offered in the meals on the first two evenings, and the second two evenings there was chickpea curry served on both occasions, both very thin and insubstancial. The chef clearly had no vegetarian cooking training as we have never had such poor alternatives. The Christmas lunch left us so hungry that we had to go across to Londis opposite and buy some cheese rolls. We had a quarter of an auberine (which we could not even cut it was so undercooked) with a couple of mushrooms, two rock solid sprouts and the only thing we could eat was a a small portion of root vegetables. We have travelled extensively throughout the world and have never had a vegetarian meal as poor as this.

W left these same comments on the Hotel's evaluation form and was expecting to hear from the hotel with some sort of acknowlegement that we were dissatified with the meals. Not a word.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank GHar872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Britannia International Hotel (Docklands) on work. We booked through Late Rooms at the last minute and paid £72 for B&B (plus parking) - which is pretty good value given the location. The room was quite spacious and the bed comfortable, and apart from the odd rumble of a train it was also surprisingly quiet.

We didn't really have a problem with the hotel, but it is much more suited to business than leisure. As a place to rest your head it's fine - but it is rather tired (doesn't look like it's been touched since the 80s!). Breakfast was a little bizarre... Lots of choice, but a little below average. And there were chips as part of the cooked breakfast buffet... Never seen that before!

So to summarise, don't expect too much and just appreciate the cost of it given the location (although given the choice, the Ibis and Novotel are better budget-end options when staying in Docklands - they were just fully-booked).

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malobo7042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Enjoyed a one night stay on a coach trip to London. Room was a decent size with 2 chairs. The single beds appeared smaller than average but were comfortable. The room was very warm.
Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful.
Parts of the carpets in the corridor on the third floor were damaged and appeared dangerous, a few areas had been replaced.
Evening meal was excellent in Jennys restaurant overlooking the water and the trees were lit up around the wharf. It was a buffet style meal and was constantly replenished. The ham being carved was beautiful.
The only problem was at breakfast. Again a buffet style. We were given a time to eat in the morning by the hotel and a departure time by the coach driver 45mins later which should have been sufficient time. Unfortunately we had to leave without having a cooked breakfast as it was a complete free for all with up to 20 people queuing around the breakfast bar trying to get the cooked food and we ran out of time. Also the cereals and fruit were on the same breakfast bar and we had to push our way through the crowds to even get some cereal.
It would have been more helpful if the cereals and fruit and meat and cheeses were on a different table and the cooked breakfast available from 2 sides to avoid the pandemonium at breakfast. Disapointing.
If they can sort the breakfasts out than it would be a good place to stay when wanting to visit London.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazzy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend in December 12 on a deal booked with Travelzoo. Had a nice room which overlooked the river and O2.We weren't disturbed by the DLR. Our friends were upgraded to a larger room with jacuzzi bath on same deal!

We used the bar area which has a relaxed vibe and had a good meal at the Italian restaurant. Breakfast was nice but very busy and tables were very close together. We used the swimming pool, good temperature but area is rather tired looking. There is also a gym.

We would book here again, especially if got a good deal again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliWorks2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#68 of 1,077 in London
3,691 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#133 of 1,077 in London
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Docklands
#568 of 1,077 in London
130 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Docklands Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Address: 163 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#404 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $62 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International
Britannia International Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing