We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannia International Hotel
Ranked #887 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this over for two night. Everything is very clean and the rooms are spotless, it could do with a bit of an update but apart from that we coulnt complain it is a very well used hotel. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lee_susan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,066)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,680 - 2,686 of 4,066 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

Sadly this was probably once a fine hotel, as can be guessed from its wide use of quality marbles in the large open public areas, facilities (pool and spa etc), vista and location - one of the first large hotels built coincident with the development of Canary Wharf.

Unfortunately, our overall impression in October 2012 can best be described as dire or even dismal: this is a hotel in urgent need of considerable investment and good management.

Reception was quite unable without much wasted time to reconcile bookings made for consecutive nights but booked on different occasions. Across 2 instances, this took up 20 minues of our time to sort out.

Our room was generally clean but very tired: the bed was uncomfortable - too hard and over-sprung; the air conditioning control did not work and constantly re-set back to too high a temperature; the bathroom extraction vent needed urgent cleaning; the bedroom carpet was literally fraying at the edge. The pictures were ghastly and gave a strong impression of a Parisienne fin de siecle 'tart's boudoir'. Worse still, while all electrical items had test stickers, these were undated - ie quite meaningless. Furthermore, the hotel facilities guide stated that WiFi was only available in public areas or upgraded rooms: this is quite unacceptable in a hotel adjacent to one of London's thriving business area.

Hotel staff were demotivated, underpaid (most apparently on less than the 'London Living Wage' - we asked 2 separately) and poorly supervised, supported and trained - but very polite when engaged, almost worryingly so.

Breakfast was quite definitely the worst we'd ever experienced in a so-called '4 star' hotel: toast only cooked on one side and flabby from being stacked - even when asked for fresh toast, staff took away existing to re-toast it! Sausages and bacon only cooked on one side; white and under-cooked on other. Fried eggs had a thick skin from sitting too long under a fierce heater unit. Orange juice so cheap in quality that it was bitter; very small glasses to limit how much you can take without having to return. Coffee was pre-provided in filthy vacuum flasks on the table; on the first morning this was genuinely like mud in both consistency and taste. On the second, in fairness, it was far better. Tables were not cleared on arrival (insufficient staff on duty) though one waiter later started clearing our table from beneath us while we were still eating, as if we weren't there. We rather wished we weren't ...

Please avoid this hotel at all costs unless you can get the price down to budget levels (by booking well in advance). Then go elsewhere for breakfast and perhaps even to sleep too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricklt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Clean friendly good value nice and handy for the tube. slightly further than we thought for the appollo theatre but enjoyed our stay. Excellent service from the concierge. some nice shops nearby in the canary wharf shopping centre. slug and lettuce excellent service and gemerous portions

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband I stayed at this hotel for one night on 12 October 2012. The hotel is in an ideal location very close to the O2 Arena, and a short distance from Canary Wharf tube station.

My first impression of the hotel was that it wasn’t a modern hotel, it had huge chandelier in the lobby, with dark wooden surroundings. Checking in was quick, and the staff were polite.

Our room was on the 11th floor, and in the evening the view over looking Canary Wharf was beautiful. It was very warm in the room, so we easily adjusted the temperature. The room was clean. It had dark chipped furniture probably been there since the hotel opened, it matched the rest of the dark wooden décor in rest of the hotel. It’s not a modern contemporary hotel, I realised this when I saw the bathroom. The tiles around the soap dish by the bath were discoloured and yellow, and there were a dozenor so tiles all discoloured along the bottom of the bathroom wall too. The bath was just your standard bath with an average shower head, and a shower curtain, which could have done with replacing.

The breakfast area was large, with a very good selection of cooked items and pastries and cereals. I liked that the knifes and forks and napkins were already on the tables as where the coffee and teapots.

I felt the Fire Exit instructions on the back of the door of the hotel should have been more clearer. There was no diagrams of where our room was and which way to head in case of an emergency. It stated ‘follow the nearest EXIT/STAIRWAY and proceed to the assembly point closing all doors behind you’ It then stated the ‘The designated assembly point is: Admirals Way’. It would have helped if the notice stated where ‘Admirals Way’ was. A concern if you’re a visitor from abroad and like myself don’t know London very well. Most hotels I've stayed in including top hotels and budget hotels always have diagrams. Perhaps Britannia could look into this?

The hotel could do with slight refurbishment and modernisation. If you’re looking for a contemporary and modern hotel then is not for you. Ideal if you’re attending an event at the O2.

I think if I needed to visit the O2 again I will probably look for an alternative hotel, and wouldn't stay at this hotel again, as I found it too expensive.

Room Tip: Our room over looked Canary Wharf and we could see the DLR, and trains going by, but as we were on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed here on business for two nights. Reception staff were friendly. I had a room on the 10th floor. The hotel was pretty busy which meant a long wait for lifts. My room was spotless - it had old dark furniture, which would really show the dust but it was all very clean, as was the bathroom. The furniture itself was definitely a bit tatty, scratched and scuffed. I found the bed very comfortable. I could not open the window, as it had been sealed, but the seal did not sound proof the room so it was quite noisy. There is an elevated section of the DLR running close by as well as being near London City airport. Saying this it is very handy for a selection of underground and DLR stations, as well as for Canary Wharf to eat. Breakfast was a bit of a free for all and the choice of fruit was limited. Coffee was provided in pots on the table and was a little stewed.There is a great view from the public areas, especially at night when everything is lit up. i did not have a chance to use the gym but beware - it is not complementary for hotel guests as it would be in other hotel chains. Overall it was ok for a couple of nights but I will be looking for something better next time I stay in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

im 70 and never been to london but me and the wife went with national holidays for the weekend the hotel was great and in a good location on canary wharf, i would like to you if you get chance book it as this weekend deal goes quick we will go again.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back it overlooks the wharf
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdog49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerInternational, Manager at Britannia International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear gdog49,

On behalf of all the staff of the International Hotel I would like to thank you for taking the time to post these positive comments about your recent stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Siddharth Mahajan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I came to Britannia with friends who stayed in a double room, and I stayed in a single room. The difference is unbelievable. The double room looks like a real hotel room, but the single one is more like a train cabin or, maybe, a tree house, a doll house. That is really small, and I mean really small. The room window is blocked by the vanity desk, since there is no room for it elsewhere. TV is hanging on the wall. I complained twice about that tiny thing, but staff would reassure me that is the only size for single bedroom. They said that was what I had bought, and the hotel was full. Should they have any other room, they would be glad to move me in. Bathroom is ok, but shower has a very week water flow , which goes too hot or too cold. They provide shampoo, conditioning cream, shower gel, body lotion, and shower cap. Twin bed is ok and linens are white and clean. Cleanness seems ok, although decoration colors do not allow you to see it very well. There is no fridge, no safe. Breakfast is poor. Pulling bags during check in and check out? Do it yourself. No matter how big or heavy your luggage is, no one will help you out. Otherwise, staff is gentle, well educated, well trained.

Room Tip: Have a double room, have a roommate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuelyBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerInternational, Manager at Britannia International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear SuelyBrazil,

We are delighted to know that you had enjoyed your stay with us when you came with your friend and stayed in Double Room.

In regards to Room 317, it is Standard Single Economy Room, which was booked by you. We generally upgrade the Guest to Twin or Double Standard Room, but when the Hotel is fully occupied, we give the Guest Single Economy Room (Which they have booked).

I am concerned that you have taken away a less than favorable impression of the International Hotel as a result of the above and I am anxious to redeem our reputation in your eyes. With this in mind, I would be grateful if on the next occasion you require accommodation in London you make your booking through this office so that I may personally attend to the details on your behalf. Please do not hesitate to contact me on siddharth.mahajan@britanniahotels.com

Siddharth Mahajan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Point A Hotel London Canary Wharf
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,705 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London Canary Wharf
Novotel London Canary Wharf
#139 of 1,077 in London
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Docklands
#569 of 1,077 in London
134 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Ibis London Docklands Canary Wharf
Docklands Lodge
#585 of 1,077 in London
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia International Hotel

Address: 163 Marsh Wall, London E14 9SJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#404 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $62 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Britannia International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 530
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel situated in Canary Wharf, London's popular Docklands area. Canary Wharf, Jubilee line underground station is a 5 minute walk away. DLR stations South Quay and Heron Quay are within 5 minutes walking distance. Enjoy the shopping and lively atmosphere of Canary Wharf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia International London
Hotel Britannia International
Britannia International Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing