We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #519 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“So convenient!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came across this hotel by accident while browsing the web.
Although a little bit away from the main parts of 'London', the bus service from Swiss Cottage into town is brilliant.
Plenty of them and on time!!!
The location of the hotel is a quiet leafy London street and the hotel is very comfortable with lots of old Victoriana making for a cosy atmosphere within the hotel.
Our room was very spacious and a good bathroom, although ours only had a shower and no bath, but that was not a problem.
Our room was in the basement, but still eye level with the street, and did seem a little dark at times
and we had to put lights on.
Breakfast was good particularly the cooked breakfast.
The continental breakfast was ok, but could have been replenished a bit more for those who came down later.
(We were down at 9am which we do not consider late)!
After all if the breakfast finishes at certain time, then the food should all be plentiful until then!
Just a few breakfast rolls and one croissant was left when we came down, but the meats and cheese were there, enough for what we wanted, but you do pay extra for the breakfast at £10.95 pp.
All in all a pleasant stay and would definitely return should we have another weekend in London.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valsey49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and location of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    265
    141
    61
    40
See reviews for
137
202
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2013

moved to this hotel after Marriott sold out, where I had two fantastic days. Ended up in one of the 4th floor rooms - no elevator past the 3rd floor, so you have to take the stairs up. Ok for me, but perhaps not for others. Beautiful old character building though, which was quite nice. Room was clean, had twin beds.. was comfortable. However, sloping ceilings in this room on the 4th floor, so one was right up against the sloping ceiling. Biggest draw back - no water pressure, and water was luke cool. I think the old building was just struggling to get any pressure up to the 4th floor. Not sure what it might have been like on other floors. Staff were very good, except when I told them the wireless wasn't working on the 4th floor -i tried 3 devices. Got connected on the main floor. Was told it should work then. Went back up.. did some sleuthing and discovered that the wireless router on the 4th floor was disconnected. So, reconnected it, and we were golden. Otherise, staff very polite. Breakfast was passable. And certainly a great location - close to Underground and very easy to get around.

Room Tip: ask for a room other than on the 4th floor. Sounds like other have had some very nice rooms, so migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bccup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I would like to apologize for any issues you had with water and the internet, I would like to assure you that we are looking into these issues.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the style of the building, service and location and do hope that you will choose us for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marieholm
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staying at this charming hotel was a much enjoyable experience. It's centrally located and close to the nearest tube station, the staff is friendly and helpfull and the rooms are spacious (more like mini-suites) and tastefully decorated. Lots of natural light, nice bathrooms ,coffee-tea facilities ...so far from the average "shoebox London hotel room" as you can imagine! The breakfast buffet (not included in the price) could offer more variation, but a plus was that all hot dishes were prepared to order.
I truly recommend this hotel, and will definitively come back in my next trip to London

Room Tip: Ask not to get room 6 or 7: located by the breakfast room, you may be disturbed by the breakfast gue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbtar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nice folks in reception, excellent location (very close to the Tube station), good neighborhood (and you feel like you're in a neighborhood), terrific market on certain days of the week just a few steps away--although it is a bit dusty and the rooms (at least the one we had) can feel a bit cramped at times. No window in the bathroom, which also oddly housed a large but entirely useless closet which had no shelving or railing (although both would have been useful) and no washcloths with the toweling, which was a little sad. But good value for the money and a place I would return (hoping for a different and larger room).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay for the most part. I thank you for all of your feedback and would like to assure you that all guest comments, positive or not, are used to continuously improve the quality of service that we offer.

I sincerely hope that you will choose us again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our second or third stay in as many years and always pleased to return. Reception staff are very helpful and friendly; rooms are above average size for the class of hotel, and very well appointed with plenty of storage space, comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms. The location is in a quiet, tree lined street with not a lot of passing traffic, making for a good, quiet night's sleep - something that not all London hotels can offer! Comfortable and quiet lounge and bar area. Very close to the busy Finchley Road, with shops, cinema, regular bus services to the West End, Hampstead, Camden Town, and very close to Swiss Cottage tube station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithShackleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Having read previous reviews, I was expecting an average hotel experience. However, the hotel, its location, the accomodation and the staff made this a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

I had booked a singlr room, but for some reason I got a very large triple, with a big bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities were included. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was very clean. Congratulations to the reception staff, who were very efficient, and to the croom cleaning staff, who were very friendly, and they performed a super job with a smile!

I will definitely be back the next time I am in London!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelPiraeus_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had a tiny single attic room with shower. It was clean but SO hot on one of our very rare HOT summer days this year! A fan would have been appreciated. Tea and coffee provided but I did not get breakfast. The room was quite big and could have had a small double or a three-quarters bed in it in order to make it less 'cell-like'! Decor was OK. The hotel is on a quiet residential street, so that was good, but some overhead plane noise could have been a problem. Lovely communal rooms - it would have been an Edwardian town-house at the turn of the 20thC. Very 'Upstairs, Downstairs'! Reception was fine and efficient but nothing special. I booked direct with the hotel and they were quite professional.

Room Tip: Avoid attic rooms if you are alone. Generally, rooms seemed quiet as it's on a residential stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyMargulies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel but apologize if you found the room too hot, we do provide fans in most bedrooms and on a request basis if they are not present in the room, however I apologize if this was not made clear to you.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Langorf Hotel
#609 of 1,067 in London
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiswick
Best Western Chiswick Palace & Suites
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#621 of 1,067 in London
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing