We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swiss Cottage Hotel in London could be favored by a renovation but it has character”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #509 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
680 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Swiss Cottage Hotel in London could be favored by a renovation but it has character”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Not fancy at all, a bit rundown, but it has character this hotel. One of the London small hotels that is really located close to a tube station. You are half block from Swiss Cottage station.

Established in a typical London townhouse and decorated in Victorian style, it certainly would be favored by a renovation. However, the Best Western standards guarantee cleanliness, really soft bed sheets and towels and a honest service. Avoid rooms in the last level(3rd), where some equipments might disturb your sleep. I will not recommend the most typical touristic attraction nearby, since you can find them easily at the London guides, but rather I’ll suggest for those interested in psychology to visit Tavistock Center and Freud’s House, which are a walking distance. There is also a bookshop called Karnac Books in Finchley Road, near the station with the same name, which is worth a visit. It sells special titles and intriguing themes in the psychological field.

But don’t ask me about the breakfast in the hotel, which I presume is plain British style, once I have discovered this small cozy place called Chimney Cake, a block away from the hotel, also in Finchley Road, where you can have a delicious home made pastry prepared on spot accompanied by fresh orange juice squeezed in front of you and a creamy cappuccino.

Room Tip: Avoid the third (last floor), where some noise from machines can disturb a bt your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuPereira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and service at the hotel and do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    260
    140
    61
    38
See reviews for
134
196
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I always think that London hotels are either very expensive or [at the budget end] rather sparse and very noisy. I booked this hotel at Swiss cottage when attending a training course near Baker Street. The hotel was easy to find and within a 1 minute walk of the underground [Swiss Cottage obviously]. I didn't expect a great hotel but was pleasantly surprised to find it staffed by professional and efficient staff. the room was very comfortable - I had a good nights sleep - there was no traffic noise and I heard no noise from other guests until around 7am. Decor was fine and the room had good facilities. I am planning on returning to London later this year and will book here again - maybe this time I will use the gym that is advertised as open to hotel guests. Thank you for a pleasant and trouble free stay.

Room Tip: I chose a room on the third floor as other reviews indicated a lot of street noise. I had a good nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you intend to stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

hotel very good value very clean staff helpfull and profesional breakfast was great evening snack was great we had room service which was perfect for us location was really good easy access to buses underground and taxis shops were handy

Room Tip: pick a superior room thier are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A great location if you go to the Tavistock center or the Ana Freud center for training. I stayed there three times.
A little outdated. The rooms are large, some with refurbished bathrooms. It seem to come out of an old movie. However it is clean and calm. The wifi wasn't working part of the stay. Close from the subway.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viva_badabing_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your stay in December.

I was pleased to read that you have stayed with us before and find the hotel suitable for your needs and hope that you continue to use us for your future stays.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Booked this hotel due to it's cheap price for an overnight trip with two friends. It's decor is dated, but the staff were friendly, and the Hotel was clean and tidy.
Conveniently located about 100m from Swiss Cottage tube station, so an ideal location for getting around London.
The room was ample in size, although the bathroom didn't reflect this. It was totally out of proportion. The beds were supremely comfortable, and the room was a perfect temperature. The street was very quiet, due to it being a (kind of!) no through road.
We popped in the bar quite late at night, and the staff were happy to serve us.
All in all, i'd recommend this hotel if you're not worried about style.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slipalong999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased that you had a comfortable stay with us and that the location was suitable for your needs.

I hope that you will return for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location very close to Tube Station (150 yds). Well worth considering for a stay in London. I would stay at this hotel again. It has character. Staff helpful and friendly. Comfortable rooms. Provided everything that a good hotel should.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.


Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here before but at the time I wasn't a 'trip advisor' member.
Both stays at this hotel were sensibly priced. Room is nothing special but is spotlessly clean, has comfy beds, plenty of pillows and the usual free toiletries of shampoo etc.
My bathroom was imacvipate and had obviously been recently refurbished.
Managed again to get a (limited) free parking space too. Staff are polite and all is good.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryAshwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#567 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#525 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#765 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #509 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing