We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #467 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 5, 2012

me and my fiance stayed here for a mini break and found it was ok as far as location was concerned however it is a very old hotel and decor a little tired. overall a nice stay but not sure i would stay again

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsM-330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel.

I'm glad that you found the location suitable for your needs.

I see that you stayed in December 2011, since then we have made a lot of improvements to our rooms including changing our bedding to duvets and other refurbishment.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 693 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you like the plush surroundings full of antiques and oil paintings and crystal chandeliers with a Victorian atmosphere dating back over a century, with a low cost, then look no further.

The staff are extremely polite and welcoming. I still go there even if it's only for a drink, as it's my favourite place to chill out. Many celebrities are also relaxing there.........so you never know who you might come across. It's a mysterious hotel, with a haunted feel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are huge and very Victorian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanceinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments regarding our hotel.

It is always pleasing to read what brings our regular guests back time and time again.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

returned yesterday from an overnight stay for 2 adults and three children aged 5,10 and 13 years. we had a very comfortable large family room with large bathroom . all very clean and well equipped with usual things expected in a 4 star hotel. added bonus was full english breakfast included in the price which was excellent. staff were very pleasant and helpful and they have since contacted us to find out if our stay was ok. very good hotel in lovely safe street and tube station only 200 yards away. would use again and recommend

Room Tip: phone the hotel direct if you have any questions you need answered the staff couldn't be more he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoopybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Nice english middle class hotel. Price is relatively to London a fair deal.
The breakfast is average.
The service was good, actually we got room 6 at the beginning and it was really noisy around 5am probably because of the heat system starting to work at this time. We received an upgrade to a better room because of this.

Room Tip: Avoid room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Serge A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel.

I am sorry that there was an issue in the first room you stayed in but pleased that you were moved quickly to another room which was more to your liking.

We hope to have that chance to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Handy location if you are looking for a hotel with very good travel links with the shopping etc. Dour staff who made us feel uncomfortable being there, a smile of some sort from any member of staff would have helped - we felt in the way and they were doing us a favour though we were paying to stay there. Room was clean, bed and bathroom towels and linen were clean. Dated throughout within a maze of corridors and doors. Probably not one I would rush back though it served a purpose this time round. Breakfast was average and if I'd known it wasn't included in the reservation price I wouldn't have had it, better option would have been to enjoy breakfast elsewhere.

Room Tip: Have a look at pictures before you choose one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you found the location of the hotel to be convenient and clean but saddened to read that you felt our staff didn't make you feel as welcome as they should have.

I do hope that you will choose to stay with us in the future and in doing so we will make sure you receive a much warmer welcome.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed ther twice and found it very nice. Locate in and great area and close to the tube.
Their room is good and the first time a got an spaceus two bed room.
The area is an very safe area and we had a marvellaus dinner at Indian restaurant just around the corner.
The hotel a has small bar

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bubbla20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read that you have enjoyed staying at our hotel on the past two occasions and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Cold shower, with very little water. Cold room with no proper heating. My bed was partially broken an the mattress uneven. Very old construction, which is beautiful from the outside, but just old inside... Not worth, not coming back!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RicardoPesciotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that you had hot water and heating problems in the room. The points that you have made have been looked into to avoid it happening in the future and I thank you for taking the time to write. Rest assured that all comments we receive from our guests, positive or not, are used constructively to improve the quality of service that we offer.

I do hope that you will give us another chance in the future and consider staying with us again.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#633 of 1,077 in London
668 reviews
Camden
Holiday Inn London - Camden Lock
Camden Lock Hotel
#458 of 1,077 in London
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #467 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $95 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing