We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff very friendly and helpful, much less impersonal than many chain hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #509 of 1,068 Hotels in London
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Staff very friendly and helpful, much less impersonal than many chain hotels”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Unfortunately the standard of the fixtures and fittings do not match up to the service. Seemed to be kept clean but did not always look it due to ageing paintwork and furniture. I would probably return to the hotel (which is more than I can say for some London hotels) but I would advise an upgraded room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zcwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and that you would return.


We hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    273
    145
    64
    40
See reviews for
141
211
68
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I travelled to London with my 2 daughters and took one of the family rooms which was easily large enough for us. The beds were fine (1 double and 2 singles). The only problem we had was the heat since London was very hot at that time and the room has no AC. However there was a fan in the room which helped.

We did not take breakfast in the hotel since there are a number of cafes and supermarkets so close that you can eat out.

The staff were excellent, no problems at all. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flueyox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and will visit us again in the future, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Ok so the rooms & furniture may seem dated in comparison to the bigger hotel chains BUT the room was clean and functional, with large screen TV, updated bathroom, comfortable bed, massive wardrobes etc - floor was a little creaky, but only to be expected.

We found the positioning of the hotel to be fantastic - 1 minute to the Swiss Cottage tube station - 1 change to Leicester square! There are also a number of good restaurants around the hotel with a special mention for Mia the Lebanese restaurant around the corner.

Service at the hotel could have been better, receptionists could lift their heads up when guests come into the reception - but this is a trivial matter. Housekeeping were very good. We were lucky that the parking restrictions were suspended on the streets around the hotel as it only has parking spaces for 4 cars - and when we arrived 15 mins before checkout time, with the hotel not full - there were no spaces.

All in all an excellently priced hotel located on a main tube line, close to Leicester Square. We will definitely use again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macstace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us and was happy to read your largely positive comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
House Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Four years ago we vowed that this hotel had deteriorated to a point where we couldn't stand it any longer -- decrepit and dirty! But this year because of the exorbitant pricing of hotels with the Olympics, we decided to give the Swiss Cottage another try since its prices were not as outrageous as other London hotels and we like the area. And we made a good choice! Money and care have been put into the place since we were last there. The room was big and convenient; the bathroom was modern and spotless. The furniture in the room was a bit worn -- but still quite all right -- despite the bed and a rather old mattress. Breakfast was quite adequate -- and reasonably priced. And the young men at the front desk were cheerful and welcoming -- such a change from the rather "abrupt" attitude of four years ago. So -- we hope that we can return...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosstucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great comments following your recent stay with us.

As a hotel, we are always striving to improve and move forward and it is always pleasing to know that this does not go unnoticed by our guests.

We do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a grand period house converted into a hotel. It sits in a quiet location albeit conveniently very close to a theatre , the tube and a mini food market selling some interesting foods ranging from Portugeuse cakes and pastries to Thai curries. Shops and restaurants are also a short walk away.
As you enter the grand entrance you are met by interesting and individual period furniture which seems to capture the spirit of the building and mark it our from chain hotels. Sadly this is also lost the moment you step into the coffin size lift with its battered interior and well trod carpet. This takes you up to narrow corridors created to accommodate the rooms. Entering the rooms is also odd. Open the door and you are faced with another narrow corridor and a second door at the end of it. This opened into a good sized room with a chaise longe and a bed -which appeared to dip in the middle. The room -which looked onto the street at the front- had a second room attached with a single bed in it and the bathroom. The latter while perfectly clean also felt like the rest of the room in need of some care and attention. It didn't have the smartness of the modern corporate hotels but it didn;t need that, It should have played more to luxury within the setting of a period house- in the same way they had tried downstairs. Breakfast is served in a large room in the basement. Furniture was utilatarian - dark brown wood. A shame becae this room also had potential with the doors at one end opening into a garden . Staff were friendly but but breakfast was let down on a number of fronts. The meal was included in the room rate but to upgrade to full English you had to pay a pound. It would have been better for them to absorb that into the cost ofd the stayas it felt trivial and miserly handing over a pound. It's also one of those hotels where instead of giving you a juig of coffee you are given one cup and you have to keep shouting out to the staff if you want another . That never feels comfortable and again smacks of being miserly. It's not a bad hotel but I wouldn't rush back and if i had other options I would take them. With just a little more investment on some basics and a slightly different approach it could be a good place to stay and given its location next to the tube a perfect place for a reasinably priced stay.

Room Tip: Ask if any have been refurbished recently and request one of those if they have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeedsCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giselle122, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your review of our hotel.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the building and we have made a note of your other comments to see where we could improve.

We hope that you will give us another chance and come back to stay with us.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
Sales Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My stay at this hotel was probably the worst I have ever experienced from a service point of view. From the start the attitude and service from the front desk staff was appalling. This coupled with the fact that my hotel room was broken into due to a faulty locking door mechanism made the experience terrible.
The hotel took no acknowledgement of the offense other than call the police, not apology was ever made. The theft was clearly an inside job as happened late at night when I was out for dinner. The hotel made no effort to assist in trying to figure out what happened or assist in any possible way other than to claim this is a police matter.
I would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sean e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Excellent location with easy access by tube to the city centre. The area surrounding this hotel is established and very pleasant to walk around in the evenings. There are plenty of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance from the hotel.

The furniture in this hotel is very interesting especially the reception desk. The hotel is an old building so you could argue that the building is in need of some updating especially the lift which is very slow and antiquated.

The hotel has limited parking at the rear but after 6pm it is not too difficult to find a parking space in the surrounding streets. Breakfast was disappointing but the service and friendliness of the staff was excellent.

Price paid for this hotel was very reasonable considering the location. Having booked through the Best Western website the cost was £95 which included breakfast. Considering the location and the alternative prices quoted by some of the other hotes this was very reasonable. Like most things in life you get what you pay for and if you had to answer the simple question as to whether this hotel was value for money it would get a resounding thumbs up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and hope that you will choose us again for a future stay.

Kind Regards
Giselle Unsworth
Sales Manager
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#609 of 1,068 in London
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Hampstead
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#612 of 1,068 in London
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#767 of 1,068 in London
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #509 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing