We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't Wait To Get Out!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Ranked #505 of 1,063 Hotels in London
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Couldn't Wait To Get Out!”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

on says :

Like everyone else, I stayed here because of the close proximity to the Swiss Cottage Underground.
This is not a Classy Character Hotel by Best Western. It’s an overpriced D-U-M-P! I think they believe that they are shabby chic or something. Old, dirty, and mismanaged does not qualify as shabby chic cool.
The guy, who checked me in, was rude & indifferent. Got the feeling staff morale is low there. Nobody behind that counter looks happy!
He handed me a card key and sent me down a cramped stained hallway into a room that was beyond ridiculous. There was an elevator but being 6 feet tall I wouldn't have been able to stand properly! The walls were dirty and the room was not cleaned properly. I had the worst sleep ever as the people above me decided to show up at 1.00 am and walk around or exercise for an hour or two.
Almost checked out in the night.

I couldn’t wait to get the heck out of there.

If you stay here you’re crazy!

Room Tip: Good luck!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Genevieve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    261
    140
    61
    38
See reviews for
134
197
67
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

My friends and I were scattered around North London for a reunion get together.
I was extremely disappointed with this hotel - especially because I got to see my friends hotels and was able to make a comparison.

The room was off a tiny corridor and I could hear the neighbours next door. The bathroom barely had room to turn around in it .
Was awoken early in the morning by the cleaning staff and doors being opened and closed.

Did not find the reception very helpful or friendly. Pricey and poor value! Oh, and no breakfast included.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rustneversleeps83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The room was the smallest in over 40 years of staying in hotels - 8 ft wide. The TV was colour - green and purple only. Morgues have more atmosphere. Positives - close to tube, close to restaurants, quiet - well it would be the place if dead.
Never again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kenbpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel. I stayed in a ground floor twin with my teenage daughter. The room was clean,warm and very spacious. The staff were very helpfull at all times. The location was first class, very quiet but a stones throw from local shops and just three stops on the Tube from Piccadilly & Leicester Sq. Definitely a recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Small stuffy room. Barely possible to walk along the corridors as it is so narrow. Lift is tiny. Not recommended for elderly people.
Noisy rooms, creaky floors and it smelt of smoke and bacon!
Very poor value 85 pounds per night!


Don't go there if you value a good night's rest!




















D








Sme

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stevie394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hotel was local to where I was working, room was quiet with a comfy bed and best of all; free internet access, unlike some other hotel chains.... The only downside was the room was a little small and they did not serve evening meals

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IW1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny South coast of UK!
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is spacious and well appointed situated in a quiet road in swiss Cottage. Tube (Jubilee Line) is 5 mins walk and is a fast link to central London (on same line as Waterloo if you're coming in from the South). Rooms are clean and well equipped. Breakfast is OK, reasonable (half) English. Outside congestion zone with some car parking (first come first served). We've stayed half a dozen times and recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teamscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
0.5 mi away
The Langorf Hotel
The Langorf Hotel
#569 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.2 mi away
London Marriott Hotel Regents Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Hampstead Hotel
1.9 mi away
Best Western Palm Hotel
Best Western Palm Hotel
#526 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
#759 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel

Property: Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel
Address: 4 Adamson Road | Swiss Cottage, London NW3 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #505 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western London
London Best Western
Best Western Swiss Cottage Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing