We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs attention”
Review of Bayswater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bayswater Inn
Ranked #909 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here on a weekend trip we booked last minute and had trouble finding somewhere to stay. We were put on the lower ground floor in a room with a window that had no security measures in the far corner of our room. The room was dark and in great need of some care and attention. The bathroom too was run down and needed updating. I am not one for voicing displeasure but our experience in the dining room each morning was very stressful both mornings there were not enough tables to accommodate the amount of diners . The food was cool. There was not enough clean crockery or cutlery. Empty serving dishes were not restocked until guests asked. They appeared to be very short staffed (who incidentally were very nice and we're trying their best ) and the tables were not cleared often enough to accommodate future diners. The one positive was the location . It was in walking distance from sone very good bars and restaurants with easy access to the tube station.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debSheffieldUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,956)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,956 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August and it does not warrant a 1 star. We can verify everything these reviewers have said.
We booked this hotel through Superbreak and we were told over the phone it was a lovely hotel we are disappointed that these reports were not put right after our visit and travel agents are still sending guests to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fadymay56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

we arrived to hotel on the 2 nd of october , first impression outside the hotel is good however when you entered reception reality is much different, people working there there are very nice , roos are average not the best you may be shock little bit but you get what you pay for it is difficult to find something better in london for that price. Breakfast is awful , we stay for 3 days and menu was exactly the same, no proper coffee. Location excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubu860101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Ok so i did leave it a little late to read the reviews (the day before our arrival) but not one to be deterred i thought i'd make up my own mine but boy were they right.we booked this hotel through a reputable travel agent for a special birthday weekend for our daughter including show tickets but never again. She had joked that we'd be staying in a travelodge to my reply-no i'm spoilling you this week end-hu, a travelodge is a palace compared to this place believe me. On first appearance the frontage was clean & tidy & in a good position for sightseeing. The reception area was the same & i can only guess that this was the bit that was refurbed as nothing else seemed to be. On taking the lift to our room which didn't work on first try we were greeted with wet towels in the passage ways, entering the room it was shabby & warm with no air-con. The beds were comfy but the double was on the small size. The cold water tap in the sink didn't work, the loo seat was loose & the hair dryer didn't work either neither did the shower. After a reasonable nights sleep we ventured down for breakfast to be greeted we no english speaking staff, dirty tables that hadn't been cleared, very limited choice of food & no bacon as mentioned in another review (i can only guess that this was because the staff were a muslim origin). The best bit was the free parking outside after 1.30pm on a saturday into sunday only but believe me we won't be staying here again-you have been warned!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Lobby and reception area was fine, welcome was ok. On arrival used the ladies in the lobby and got a dirty look (eye roll included) from the man who had been cleaning them, then as I was leaving the loo he was stood leaning against the wall, mop in one hand and the other on his hip and almost pushed past me to get in. Rooms were abysmal. The decor is very dated but also dirty wallpaper which is coming away from the wall and stained in the corners of the ceiling. The carpet was covered in bits and the sheet on the bed threadbare in places. The towels were tiny and the floor somewhat uneven. The rooms were also very noisy not because the hotel is a hub of activity but because the walls were so thin you could hear the neighbours moving around. The bathroom was horrible ... Sachets of shampoo offered but they looked like they'd been left unused by many a guest before us as the packets were wrinkled and the corners dirty. The shower was powerful but not overly warm. Breakfast experience was probably the worst I have ever had. We had to find seats ourselves and the only ones available were dirty.when the lady came to clean she removed the dirty dishes and wiped the grimy white table cloth with a dirty blue cloth which had been used on another table. The white table cloth was not changed and we were left with juice, bean and grease stains from previous guests. The buffet breakfast was cold, cheap and toast which had been put through the toaster twice was really no more than stale bread. I do appreciate that you get what you pay for and this is London, however I don't think this experience was anywhere near the almost £100 we paid ... A complete rip off, no guest care at all. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kazzers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Me my mum and sister stayed here for 1 night. Never again would I stay here. The area in which the dive is located in is lovely and is quiet with the tube station a 10 minute walk and a nice walk to Hyde park. Perfect for getting to oxford street shopping. But as I say it's just a bed. The triple room we had had a cracked window u felt like u were in a prison with railings inside the window and the bathroom i wouldn't wash a animal in it. Also it makes out it has a bar it doesn't so couldn't even come back and enjoy a drink in the hotel. Like i say never again. It's not 3star I have stayed in better places abroad as a 3star than this

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Emms26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful location - quiet and close to the train station. Our room was spacious and clean with a double bed, a single bed and an ensuite bathroom. Buffet breakfast was delicious! Only faults were that the room was quite warm and had no airconditioner & wifi was only accessible in the lobby for a fee. Overall good value for money!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
The Premier Notting Hill
#353 of 1,077 in London
1,566 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#285 of 1,077 in London
1,713 reviews
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#313 of 1,077 in London
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#601 of 1,077 in London
480 reviews
Notting Hill
The Royale Chulan Hyde Park Hotel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswater Inn

Address: 8-16 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #909 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $67 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Inn Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Bayswater, it was built in the 1900's and overlooks the picturesque views of Princes Gardens. The Hotel's location is also a stones throw away from Hyde Park. The Hotel's location borders some of London's most attractive vicinities to explore. Some of the top attractions in London are only moments away, this will be your ideal base to start your visit. The hotel is also minutes from Bayswater Tube station, Hyde Park, Notting Hill and Whiteley's shopping centre. Presenting over 140 bedrooms, which range from single to family rooms and arranged over six storey's, we strive to offer our guests the most comfortable and memorable experience that we hope your stay at the Bayswater Inn will exceed your expectations. Our recently refurbished lobby and Reception area, has stunning new marble floors and a stylish lounge adjacent to the modernized and transformed Reception desk. In addition, the contemporary Restaurant, serving breakfast every morning, has been superbly renovated to offer our guests a perfect setting overlooking the charming views of Princes Gardens, whilst indulging into our ample choice at the breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you to The Bayswater Inn Hotel and we wish you a very pleasant stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bayswater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswater Hotel London
Bayswater Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing