We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll stay again.”
Review of Bayswater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bayswater Inn
Ranked #922 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I'll stay again.”
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great location. Nice & clean room .Very Good price for similar room in this area. Basic breakfast

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandros v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    309
    514
    346
    541
See reviews for
470
528
101
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

London hotels are normally not something to remember especially at this price range, but I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel! Me and my friend stayed here a weekend in the beginning of March and the room we got was much bigger than I had expected. The inventory was very standard with two beds (one single and one double), and even though the room was located in the basement, we still had a window that could open.

The hotel is located in a nice and quiet backpack'ish area, just 5 min. walk to two different tube stations; Bayswater and just further up the street is Queensway. We walked to the market in Notting Hill which was only a 10-15 min. walk.

The breakfast was not worth getting up to, but still had more choices than what I had expected.

If you're looking for a cheap hotel with a good location this is a good choice. It's not the Hilton, but compared to other London hotels at this price, this is a very good deal!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellemaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbeach, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed here in November 2011, just as a crash pad after a night out in London. Unfortunately, didn't get to do much crashing considering between 4-6am I was kept awake my people literally running and shouting down the corridor! The walls and doors are paper thin so it was very disturbing and really did make me angry because they were being so loud and inconsiderate!! Obviously i'm sure this doesn't happen every night, but light sleepers beware! This is an average place to stay if you just need somewhere for the night - we absolutely love Bayswater so it was more location than anything, but it wasn't really worth the money (£80 for one night) due to the fact we asked for a double bed and were given twins! Also the breakfast was crap, have vivid memories of just a large bowl of baked beans placed on the side and a lot of bread rolls. Stay here if you just need a place to stay for 1 night!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you are looking for a hotel to stay in London then whatever you do DO NOT stay here.
The only thing going for this dump is the location.After checking in was given keys to 105 a family room that was DIRTY AND SMELLY.The carpet was sticky the walls had staines the room STANK !!!!
Wife and daughter burst into tears,had to book into another hotel around the corner (the phoenix)
Whatever you do not book this hotel YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

peterborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The hotel was easy to find and it is manned I believe 24 hours a day, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff and the check in was easy, the room was on the 3rd floor we had 3 single beds with a put you up kind of bed for my 3 year old ,it was clean and basic with a kettle and cups and a hair dryer the bathroom was clean, the curtains were old and so was the paper but they are redoing the hotel they have quite a few rooms since November and you can not tell that they are doing building work. The Breakfast was fine we could choose from scrambled egg, sausage, toast and pastries and fruit cocktail and also cereal the drinks were tea, hot chocolate orange and apple juice. It was fairly nice area and there are cafes and shops within a few minutes including a Mcdonalds, I would use this hotel again. The only reason it has 2 stars from me for children activities is that there was none

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christmaskaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Right, first of all lets be honest about what this hotel is. It is a large, simplistic style hotel offering all the basic needs of a traveller. My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night and found the staff friendly and helpful and the overall place felt comfortable. We had a room on the fourth floor which looked over the very pretty garden area outside the hotel, the room was small but there was enough room for both of us to get ready and fit bags in etc. The bathroom was nice, shower a little slippery as no proper mat so do mind that. Was all clean and there was a hair dryer, kettle etc and a basic TV. I certainly wouldn't say it was TOO basic, it was comfortable and was definitely enough for us! Breakfast was as expected from this sort of place, self serve scrambled egg and sausages and some pastries, but was free so why not! For only £31 I really can not complain! Area was decent enough and the hotel was easy to find. I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask not to be in the basement and also confirm you want a double not twin (I rang, them as recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This hotel is disgusting, we checked into our room only to find dirty bedding, pubic hair and head hair in our beds, beds like childrens beds , demanded a change of room, 2nd room not that much better, bedding again dirty, water in shower didnt drain away due to limescale and dirt in plughole, carpets vile, cooked breakfast served on a tiny sideplate ( no kidding) windows not double glazed, shook when doors getting closed, rooms smell musty, dirt and hair in teacup in our room, the owners of this hotel should be ashamed of themself, the staff that we spoke to were friendly enough but did not seem to care about how bad the place is, nice location, this hotel could be lovely if it was cleand up, dont waste your money staying here,

Room Tip: dont think that there is a good room in this hotel, my advice to travellers, DONT STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GENERAL MANAGER B, Manager at Bayswater Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Dear Guest,
The Queens Park Hotel is naturally distressed by such negative reaction to the duration of stay here, but very much appreciate you taking the time and trouble to appraise us of your recent stay here. I perfectly understand and would like to tell you a little about the circumstances involved.

You state that the room was "dirty". I have spoken to the head of the Housekeeping department and I have informed them to undertake thorough inspection of room cleanliness. I must add that we regularly train our staff to conduct their duties efficiently and effectively, as quality is a very important issue that we raise, and we are constantly thinking of new ways to improve the service and quality at The Bayswater Inn Hotel and The Queens Park Hotel (Sister Hotel)

You also state that the staff, although friendly did not attend to your matter. Again, apologies that this had happened.
Under no circumstance, do we allow for this attitude at the Hotel, on the contrary, we are always looking to improve the Hotel by conducting regular meetings with our staff and improving our services.
We, the New Owners of the Bayswater Inn Hotel, will be doing everything we can to improve the quality and service of the entire property. We have already started to refurbish the rooms at the hotel and are pleased to inform you that we have already completed 15 of the 139 bedrooms of the Hotel in less than 2 months. We aim to work hard (without disrupting the in house guests) in order to complete the refurbishment works in the near future.
I hope this explanation (which should not be misconstrued as an excuse) has shed some light, and that you will accept our deep regrets and apologies for any unpleasantness you had suffered.
We do hope you consider returning to us in the near future and we promise that next time round, you will not be dissapoointed!

Best regards,

The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#282 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#851 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#605 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#831 of 1,064 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#495 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswater Inn

Property: Bayswater Inn
Address: 8-16 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #922 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Inn Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Bayswater, it was built in the 1900's and overlooks the picturesque views of Princes Gardens. The Hotel's location is also a stones throw away from Hyde Park. The Hotel's location borders some of London's most attractive vicinities to explore. Some of the top attractions in London are only moments away, this will be your ideal base to start your visit. The hotel is also minutes from Bayswater Tube station, Hyde Park, Notting Hill and Whiteley's shopping centre. Presenting over 140 bedrooms, which range from single to family rooms and arranged over six storey's, we strive to offer our guests the most comfortable and memorable experience that we hope your stay at the Bayswater Inn will exceed your expectations. Our recently refurbished lobby and Reception area, has stunning new marble floors and a stylish lounge adjacent to the modernized and transformed Reception desk. In addition, the contemporary Restaurant, serving breakfast every morning, has been superbly renovated to offer our guests a perfect setting overlooking the charming views of Princes Gardens, whilst indulging into our ample choice at the breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you to The Bayswater Inn Hotel and we wish you a very pleasant stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bayswater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswater Hotel London
Bayswater Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing