We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, beautiful neighborhood” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayswater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bayswater Inn
Ranked #940 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location, beautiful neighborhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

I had a pleasant stay here. The location is fantastic. It's on a quiet street, so there's minimal traffic noise. The closest tube is Bayswater, which is a 5-minute walk, and connects you to the Circle and District lines. Central is on Queensway farther down the block. Tesco Express (mini market), Starbucks, Pizza Hut, pubs, money changers are all on Queensway, where the tube station entrances are located. Notting Hill and Kensington Gardens are within walking distance. The staff were competent and professional. The manager, Saturnino, accommodated a last-minute request, which I appreciated. The rooms are clean and small, but you expect that size in London, and most major cities in Europe and really, few people travel to stay in their rooms all day. You'll be out most of the day. Continental breakfast was free and easy (no lines). There are two Internet stations in the lobby which charge one pound per twenty minutes, which is reasonable. They key is convenience and location, and Bayswater Inn delivers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinephile97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    301
    502
    336
    537
See reviews for
458
512
101
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
glos
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

First the good news clean sheets fluffy towels .Thats it.The bad news.Artex in dirty white colour ,curtains that would not draw fully across.wallpaper hanging off walls in bathroom.Mould around bath (room 427) obviously never heard of bleach when cleaning.A paper bath mat (what help is that ?).Polystrene cups for coffee !.Breakfast was a nightmare had to give order on piece of paper to manager . Basic quality when it finally arrived.Receptionist was wearing dirty off white shirt with tie half way down to waist.Yes we made a mistake going 3 star instead of our normal 4.This is probably not worth a 2 star .I have advised Superbreaks with whom the hotel was booked to investigate.It is jeopardising their reputation.This is not a hotel in the true sense of the word it is a hostel .Not even think of going there

Room Tip: Dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonyandandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

Booked an all inclusive trip and ended up at the Bayswater.
The rooms were satisfactory and at the end of a long day they were sufficient. As they say "You get what you paid" and we got what we paid for, but were content. The continental breakfast was seriously lacking and we had to go out for breakfast at other locations. The Prince Edward Pub down the street was really good for dinner. It was a nice and fairly quiet location not to far from the tube and Hyde Park.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vistor90012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We had one night stay at this hotel during a stop over and our agent chose it for being in close proximity of central London. Loved the old world charm. Rooms were a bit small but clean and well maintained. Breakfast did not include any cold cut or eggs - only breads / croissants and coffee!! Best part of this hotel is the location...very close to Bayswater Tube station on the Circle line. Also only couple of mins away from the Hyde Park. We went for an early morning walk to Hyde Park and it was lovely. Would like to come back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnimitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

We first stayed at the Bayswater Inn in 2008 and thought it was basic, but fairly comfortable. Maybe we were just naïve as this was our first overseas trip. Anyway, as our hotel couldn’t fit us in for the last three nights, we decided to go back to the Bayswater Inn. It's in a great location and is on the right side of London for Heathrow. This was probably the worst decision we made on our trip.

The hotel is appalling and it is apparent the owners have done nothing to modernise or renew in years. I can forgive the polystyrene cups, but to still use the paper bath mats is a joke. Once wet, they slip all over the floor, risking guests safety. We asked for an extra towel and used that as a bath mat.

Other reviews have mentioned the unfriendly reception staff. On this visit, the staff member was actually helpful and pleasant. Perhaps he is new to the job. We went up to the room and couldn’t open the door with the key. Reception came up and opened it, but walked away quickly. The room was totally inadequate. There was a bed shoved against the wall and no space at all for our suitcases. When you are travelling from overseas, you don’t just have hand luggage. We closed the door quickly and went back to Reception. Luckily the manager gave approval to change the room, but I don’t think she was too happy about it given the tone (and loudness) of her voice.

The next room again couldn’t be opened but while my husband was going back to the front desk, I was able to unlock the door. Who knew you would need specialist skills to open a lock?? One turn full left and then a hard turn to the right as far as it will go.

The room was bigger with two beds, a double and single. The curtains were torn, the bedspreads and duvets looked as if they hadn’t been washed in months and after sitting on the beds, we knew a good nights sleep was not going to happen. Any padding in the mattresses had long gone and you could feel every spring. They sagged in the middle which wasn’t helped by the fact that they were fold-up beds, not ‘real’ beds.

The bathroom was pretty ordinary, with an ill-fitting toilet seat that wouldn’t stay still. I’ve already mentioned those paper bath mats.

I hated this hotel and if I had to stay one more night, would have moved out at any cost. It truly is horrible and a visit from a hotel inspector is long overdue.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tripper2Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Bayswater Inn for 10 nights in May 2011. We usually seek out a basic, inexpensive hotel, since we do not spend that much time in the hotel room on a trip to London. The room itself was small and basic, but fine, clean and everything in working order - in keeping with something in this price range. The Continental breakfast is adequate, the dining room comfortable.

The big problem was with service.
We reserved and paid for our room months in advance. When we arrived, we were told unapologetically that they were not ready for us, and we would be transported by cab to a similar hotel across town for the night, then picked up the following morning and brought back to Bayswater Inn for the rest of our stay. The concierge pointed out several times that the hotel would be paying for the cab, apparently feeling that this justified everything. (I assume someone else's extended stay overlapped with ours, and they did not want to turn down either customer.) We lost half a day of our vacation waiting for a cab and re-establishing ourselves in our room at the Bayswater.

The Bayswater Inn also insists on guests leaving their key at the front desk whenever they leave the hotel, and picking it up again when they return. Only one key is provided, even with two people in the same room. The main entrance of the hotel is usually locked, and guests have to ring a buzzer and wait to be admitted, which can take a while if the front desk is temporarily unattended. We would sometimes return to the hotel to encounter a queue outside the door waiting to be let in. This makes the hotel sound security-conscious, but the actual room keys are basically skeleton keys, and the door to our room would not latch when closed without a struggle; it would have been easy to walk away and leave our room door unsecured without realizing it.

We stopped asking the desk staff for directions after being sent entirely the wrong way several times, partly due to a language barrier and partly because they were unfamiliar with the city. The only clear directions we got were to the nearest underground station.

It is not exactly a terrible hotel, and the location is good, just a short stroll from Kensington Gardens, on a quiet, pretty street but close to a major road and Tube station. All the same, you could do much better for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamabadger56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I have my beloved hotel in London - vancouver studios - but it was busy. So I booked through hotelbed.com this this hotel. When I arrived there they told me "sorry overbooking we move you in another hotel, in another part of London". I refused to be moved as they accepted people that came after me because they were in double and I had a single. I spole with hotelbeds.com and they were very professional so after 1 hour I had the room. Windows with big cut on it, no shower bath, no towel/carpet in the shower but a piece of paper where to put the wet feet, no air conditioning. People at the reception are terrible (the small blond boy speaks as a computer: yes mom, take a sit mom, overbooking mom"), the woman I met understood the problem and was very nice. once I told them "I am calling the police as overbooking is illegale if you accept a pre payment" they were very impressed and they gave me a double instead of a single. I have seen many people complaining for the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresabattista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
Garden Court Hotel
Garden Court Hotel
#593 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Notting Hill
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#284 of 1,086 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royal Eagle Hotel
#863 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Central Park Hotel
#860 of 1,086 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,506 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#529 of 1,086 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayswater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayswater Inn

Property: Bayswater Inn
Address: 8-16 Princes Square | Bayswater, London W2 4NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #940 of 1,086 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bayswater Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bayswater Inn Hotel is one of the oldest Victorian buildings in Bayswater, it was built in the 1900's and overlooks the picturesque views of Princes Gardens. The Hotel's location is also a stones throw away from Hyde Park. The Hotel's location borders some of London's most attractive vicinities to explore. Some of the top attractions in London are only moments away, this will be your ideal base to start your visit. The hotel is also minutes from Bayswater Tube station, Hyde Park, Notting Hill and Whiteley's shopping centre. Presenting over 140 bedrooms, which range from single to family rooms and arranged over six storey's, we strive to offer our guests the most comfortable and memorable experience that we hope your stay at the Bayswater Inn will exceed your expectations. Our recently refurbished lobby and Reception area, has stunning new marble floors and a stylish lounge adjacent to the modernized and transformed Reception desk. In addition, the contemporary Restaurant, serving breakfast every morning, has been superbly renovated to offer our guests a perfect setting overlooking the charming views of Princes Gardens, whilst indulging into our ample choice at the breakfast buffet. We look forward to welcoming you to The Bayswater Inn Hotel and we wish you a very pleasant stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Bayswater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayswater Hotel London
Bayswater Inn London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing