We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb coffee and snacks after some antique hunting”
Review of Gails Bread

Gails Bread
Ranked #77 of 278 Bakeries in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Description: Post Code W11 2DZ
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
563 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Superb coffee and snacks after some antique hunting”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Visited on a Saturday afternoon after a long time antique shopping. The coffee have to say was among the best we have had. Had a few savoury snacks and cake and each one of them were fabulous. Took a while to get a table and no loo on the premises but thought was well worth the wait.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PavRao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    53
    16
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So good its almost insane”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Good coffee, good food, excellent bakery. We hade coffee and breakfast at this place and wanted to take this place home with us. Most of the staff polite and serviceminded. Its busy and not to many tables, but its worth waiting!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“I am so glad I don't live near Gail's”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful coffee, wonderful pastries, wonderful breakfast, wonderful location. Can't wait to go back but so glad this isn't round the corner as I'd never leave.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djstirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great place for breakfast”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have been here couple of times. Excellent products. Breakfast was also more that nice. Staff was quite polite and friendly. Suits well for all of you Sirs!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkingFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Seriously?!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very limited menu which you have to go right in to the counter to read the board behind the counter. A very limited menu. The price of the pastries we high but the portion sizes were very small. This is meant to be a bakery. We had two Americanos, well actually one and half, I have photo to prove that hubby's coffee was half a cup so much so may as well have ordered the small size! Oh yes we did look for wait staff to complain, they were whizzing around, didn't make any eye contact or didn't check if people we ok. They could also do with some training in waiting tables and speaking to customers with looking like they want to rush off somewhere else more important.
I love Gail's bread, and buy it from my local waitrose....I will stick to doing that and looking elsewhere for café!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nush7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gails Bread also viewed

 

Been to Gails Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing