We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
V Hotel(London)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,265)
Filter reviews
6,265 results
Traveler rating
3,132
2,247
599
170
117
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,132
2,247
599
170
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky loungerooftop bartower hill tube stationnatural kitchencity cafeapple tvdouble treewarm cookiesthe executive loungeon arrivaltop floorweekend breakmodern hoteldecent sizewest endfull englishimac
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,062 - 3,067 of 6,265 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I recently stayed for a long weekend at the DoubleTree Tower of London while tagging along on a business trip with my husband.

LOCATION: Steps away from the Tower Hill tube stop. Easy walk to Tower of London, Tower Bridge, and the Thames. There are pubs and restaurants in the area, all within walking distance. The neighborhood is very quiet compared to the West End.

ROOMS: Rooms are of course tiny and you have to pay more for a room with a view of the river and the bridge. The bath contains a shower stall, no bathtub. The amenities are good quality. Plenty of room on the vanity for toiletries. Our king bed was very comfortable and featured a "pillow bar" with various levels of fluffiness.

FOOD: We upgraded to the Executive Room and were able to visit the main floor lounge for breakfast, snacks and drinks. Breakfast was excellent, and they put out hot items and cold.

ENTERTAINMENT: Go to the rooftop "Sky Lounge" it features an amazing view. We had perfect weather and enjoying a stunning view of nighttime London.

STAFF: I found that the staff were attentive and professional. No issues during our stay. The concierge got us tickets to the play at the Globe Theatre (also very close)! Excellent!

In all I thought that the hotel was a great value. I normally book a flat for longer stays but I think the DoubleTree will be a top contender for hotel stays because of the location and walkability.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a bridge view!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissBirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear 'MissBirdy'

Thank you for your comments! It sounds like you made full use of your time at our hotel, and managed to see some of the sights of London which is great. I hope you enjoyed the Globe theatre, a fantastic thing to do, with such a great history!

We look forward to having you back as our guest in the near future.

Take care
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

2 minutes from Towerhill tube station on the District and Circle lines means very easy to get around London. Room was usual Hilton standard, clean, had all amenities but no minibar, just water. We checked in at 930am and skipped the huge check in queue by just collecting our key at 245pm. Staff were polite and helpful. The Skylounge was nice, it seemed a bit over run with non guests booking out tables which was a bit of a disappointment. Staff there were a bit hit and miss, either really nice or downright rude which again spoiled the experience there a bit.
Overall, would stay again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bibyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a reservation for one night. When I arrived, the staff were struggling with a computer failure & there was a queue of people waiting to check in. Staff were apologetic, friendly, professional, & worked the queue with cookies and fruit juice.

The room was immaculate, a good size & the air conditioning worked beautifully.

The bed was firm and comfortable.

I had a great stay, & the location of this hotel is great for exploring London, without the overcrowded streets around Soho.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room, with views of the Tower of London if possible.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roosterza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Dear 'roosterza'

Thank you for your comments regarding our teams efforts during a wait at check in whilst we had experienced some issues with our system. I'm sorry this had happened, but I'm pleased this didn't negatively impact on your enjoyment of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Thank you for recommending us to others, we really appreciate it!

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's a nice enough and new enough hotel to a very good standard. We arrived and there was a queue like you see at a hostel. They gave us cookies whilst we waited but, poor start. Then have us the wrong door card so we had to go back downstairs so not great first impressions !

The hotel as a whole was nice though. Sky bar on the top floor with great views. Premium prices for the drinks though and the service from the Eastern European staff didn't reflect this. Some training issues required and it would be a top notch middle-end hotel though. A Dorchester it is not, but the prices were on par with premier inns which they could trump for quality easily.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RossminsterCase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel is perfectly located in the centre of London.
The rooms are up to a 4 star standard.
Breakfast and internet were complimentary. The breakfast is ok, pretty much standard.
But the Sky Lounge is exceptional, particularly on a warm summer evening with a perfect view over London.
A great city - I had that almost forgotten after some years.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
Thank Juergen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews