We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DoubleTree excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #240 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DoubleTree excellent”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Our first experience of DoubleTree since we stayed in one in Rochester NY some years ago. We had a great experience then - and were not disappointed this time. Were upgraded (wife's birthday weekend) at check in. The staff were extremely professional and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,852
    2,068
    532
    143
    90
See reviews for
743
2,449
197
1,387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This was a last minute booking and I have to say we were pleasantly surprised.

The staff were lovely, the room was one of the biggest on the floor and the location was brilliant!

The natural kitchen was great too...lots of lovely treats which I thoroughly recommend.

If you are in the area, check out skylounge on the 12th floor.....oh my goodness what a view!!!

We will be visiting this hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear 'Laura L'

Thank you for sharing your experience on trip advisor, I'm thrilled to hear you would look to visit us again! Thanks for mentioning our staff and that you had liked your room & the space available (we are so proud of our team and it’s great you found everybody to be welcoming).

Do let us know what we can do next time around to make sure any future stay can be even better! And in the meantime thank you again for the fantastic feedback!

Kind regards,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for the second time for one night. We Love the modern take and comfort feel of the rooms at doubletree and how you know what you'll get. Also very close to tower hill tube station and a lot of sights.

Upgraded to executive room for £20 before arriving, main benefit was breakfast included but you also get access to executive lounge and slippers and robe (although it is a horrendously heavy towel robe that scratches you).

Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. Very busy but staff worked hard to keep the tables turning over.

Check in and out was a breeze. Left our bags with reception (and shopping) on two occasions without any hassle.

A little disappointed that arrival cookies still all have nuts in! But if that's all I can complain about it shows how happy we were with our stay. Will be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michellekcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Hi 'Michellekcr',

Thank you for your review and for pointing out what things you feel we could improve on. However small, it is good to receive this information so we can take a note of it and see where we can make changes!

I'm really sorry to hear that you had found the bathrobe in your room to be on the dry side, and this will be something I pick up on with the Housekeeping team. Again, thank you for making us aware.

I'm really sorry if you have a nut allergy or do not like nuts, which will prevent you from being able to enjoy our DoubleTree signature cookie. Do let us know if there is an alternative 'sweet treat' we can provide you with instead, such as from our delicious lobby bar cake/pastry selection, and we'd be more than happy to have something sent up to your room next time around.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I spent a very pleasent stay at this hotel, which really surprised me positively on multiple levels. The hotel was built only few years ago, so it appears very modern and bright. Once I arrived I checked in without any problems and went to my room on 9th floor. It was facing an inner courtyard, so despite the lack of view I could enjoy some peace and quiet. A fine detail is the ability to open a small window allowing you some fresh air during the night - this always gives me a better sleep than using the AC. Room size was actually quite nice, especially compared to similar hotels in London.

I highly recommend visiting the Sky Lounge, which offers great cocktails and fine views over Tower Hill. The executive lounge is definitely seen better, but offers the essentials (warm snacks, beer, wine, etc). Breakfast is really something which surprised me positively. Usually DoubleTree breakfasts are few levels under the standard of Hilton breakfasts. However this specific hotel offers a fantastic selection across the buffet.

I will most definitely be coming back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lunow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Loved it . Nice room ,with free wifi and apple computer . Good choice of tv channels and complimentary cookie on arrival . No parking was available when we arrived , but we found a car park across the main road just by the Tower of London ticket office . We parked just after 13.30 on the Saturday and left the following day . The cost was £5. If we had gone were customer services recommended I think it would of cost a lot more (NCP rates ) and was a 10 to 15 minute walk . Also the hotel charges £20 , so this bit of luck is worth passing on. The sky lounge was nice and had a great view .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night due to an unexpected stopover in London. Lunch in the restaurant was nice however the wait staff were not particularly attentive, we had to fetch ketchup ourselves having asked the waiter to provide us with some. The rooms are clean, comfortable and depending on the floor/location have pretty nice views of the shard. Great shower & toiletries. This hotel would be perfect for business travellers as there is a desk catering for a working environment. Decent restaurants in the area (BBQ rib place around the corner was really great). Very central location. Extensive & really good breakfast albeit completely overpriced.

Room Tip: Higher up,front facing rooms have views of the Shard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill_Dublin_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel, and we enjoyed it just as much as the first. You get cookies on arrival which is a really nice touch, and the staff are very friendly. Tower Hill is a great place to stay, still within the centre but not as much hustle and bustle as Leicester Square or Covent Garden. The breakfasts are extremely overpriced, so head to the Wetherspoons, to the right, or The Minories to the left for a full English for a fiver. Another good tip- Ripping Yarn Jack the Ripper tours take place from Tower Hill station at 6.40 every night, really worth a look!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear 'Emily H',

Thank you for your comments and for choosing to return to our hotel for this stay! The Jack the Ripper tours do indeed give tourists a fantastic chance to see the local sights, and learn a little history (of course, it's also pretty spooky!).

Thank you for saying you found our staff friendly which is great, and I'm sorry you had been somewhat disappointed by the price of our breakfast. This does allow our guests to enjoy all items available on our hot and cold buffet, which offers a wide range of choice to help kick start the day!

Thank you again and we hope to say hello again soon!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#169 of 1,069 in London
4,045 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#83 of 1,069 in London
3,307 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#181 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing