We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect View, Perfect Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #234 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect View, Perfect Stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Having a 9 day business trip in London, the Doubletree was centrally located. Executive suite and breakfast each morning was a great plus. Staff was very helpful, although check in could go smoother. Housekeeping went above and beyond. Cannot say enough. Have never stayed at a hotel that tidied my room so well. And let's talk about the ShyBar. Although the view from my room was less than ideal (the Grange has better room views) the view from the Sky Bar was amazing. Tower Bridge and the Tower at night should not be missed. Will definitely return in the near future.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room with a view of the Tower. Also, ask for an executive suite, which includ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank etk116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for mentioning how you had been particularly impressed by our housekeeping team! I have made all of our housekeepers aware of your feedback and they were thrilled to hear you had been so complimentary, thank you again!

I apologise however that you had felt your check in experience had been lacking a little in terms of our efficiency and we will be taking this on board.

It is great to hear you will look to return to our hotel in the future (thank you again) and do let us know if our team can be of any assistance!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,821
    2,036
    528
    139
    86
See reviews for
727
2,412
195
1,377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights in September and were very impressed with the room, service, facilities, and location (two minutes walk from the Tower of London/Thames Clippers and very close to the DLR). The Sky Bar is well worth visiting to see sunset although it is a little pricey (which is to be expected when you get views across Tower Bridge and the Thames). We were also very lucky to be upgraded to an Executive Room with access to the Executive Lounge which was great to grab a quick coffee or water. Breakfast was good quality and fresh however the only slight negative point was that the breakfast room was always very busy and the cold/hot food could maybe have been laid out in separate areas to keep everyone moving. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room on a higher floor as when we visited, building work was taking place in the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winemaker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear 'winemaker23'

Thank you for your review on trip advisor! I'm delighted we were able to upgrade your room and that you were able to take advantage of having access to the Executive Lounge. Thank you for being honest about what could have been improved and we will certainly keep this in mind. We do appreciate that the restaurant can become a very busy area, during peak times in particular, and there has been a lot of focus on this and how we can ensure our guests can enjoy a relaxing and plentiful breakfast each time they visit.

Thank you for saying you will return which is fantastic and if ever we can be of any assistance please let us know.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, NJ
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This seemed like a nice hotel, a bit on the expensive side, but given the location that was understandable...

,.. and then I had to shorten my stay by 1 night. They jacked up the rates... Not a bit - by almost 100%. I tried to point out that paying more (much more!) for 2 nights then for 3 is rather ludicrous, but all I got back from the hotel is a very polite equivalent of "go ..... yourself." Avoid this property, blow you money on a nice dinner somewhere, if you have money to waste.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear 'Alex R'

We had been saddened to read your review and it is a great shame that despite liking the hotel you have been inclined to rate us 1 out of 5. I would very much like to understand the details of your conversation with our team such as who you had spoken with and if you can recall the person’s name and/or department. Naturally we will be taking your comments seriously and wish to follow up further with the individual(s) concerned. Please do not hesitate to contact our hotel switchboard (+44 207 709 1000) and ask to be connected to Amy where hopefully we can discuss your experience a little further.

I'm afraid that our rates would also depend on the length of a guest's stay, and this can sometimes have a particular impact on our rate if dates should fall over our busiest days of the week, which it appears has been the case when looking at the dates of your stay.

I'm very sorry if any of our team had come across as insensitive and not understanding to your situation and again I would like to discuss this with you should there be a convenient time.

Thank you and I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
199 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here 2 days on business. Excellent location in the City area. Room was very modern, super clean, and a lot of windows that made it light and airy - not the sometimes dreary appearance urban hotel rooms can exhibit. The iMac television/computer in the room was easy to use and a great asset to have. The free WiFi was most appreciated, and could be used without a daily password input. The City Cafe restaurant in the hotel was better than average - nice dinner specials, including a glass of wine, were a good value. I did not have time to check out the rooftop bar and lounge, so cannot comment on that. Departed very early in the morning, but a taxi was right there at the entrance, to take me to Paddington Station. Overall, a very good experience, and a relative good value in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranknDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Stayed overnight only so did not use all the facilities the hotel had to offer. Bedroom was comfortable but had an issue with TV/PC which failed to behave! Staff were very friendly and welcoming without being overpowering.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 2Spens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on trip advisor and for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton London, Tower of London for this business trip. I'm really sorry to hear you had experienced an issue with the i-Mac in your room and I trust that our Careline operative had been able to arrange for a member of our team to assist you?

I'm pleased to hear that our staff had come across as welcoming and yet not overbearing which is absolutely key.

If ever our team and I can be of any assistance please do let us know and thank you again for your comments.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lustleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is well located, near the Tower of London and the City. Inside it feels modern, clean and well kept. The rooms are reasonable, and fairly well appointed.

Rather than TVs, they have an iMac in each room, which ends up being pretentious rather than helpful, as it isn't very good as a TV (difficult to get channel guides, switch on and off etc.). It does match the whole hotel which is trying desperately hard to be extra trendy.

The hotel isn't exciting, and doesn't have the fancy spa and the fitness room is small and dull, but is perfectly good for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guard42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on trip advisor however I apologise you had not found the i-Mac in your room to be an added benefit to your stay. We do provide user instructions in our guest rooms having received feedback from our guests that this would be handy, and I'm sorry if you had found these instructions to be limited. We will certainly be taking this on board and I apologise for any inconvenience this had caused.

I'm afraid we don't have a spa at the hotel like you say, however we are happy to help our guests with suggestions of nearby spas and offer easy routes to get to these locations from the hotel. We are grateful to receive a high level of positive feedback about our fitness suite though I apologise this had not quite been to your taste.

I really do hope we may be able to change your mind regarding these aspects of the hotel and if ever we can be of any assistance please do not hesitate to reach out to us.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is great. I loved the free cookie on check in! It was really close to the tower of London and in a more interesting location than the typical Westend hotels. Really close to Tower Hill tube. The rooms were lovely with big comfortable beds. The view from our room was not brilliant and there is a lot of building work going on in the area, but i did not hear anything and it does not disturb.
There is a fantasitic bar on the roof with amazing fews of the buildings in the city as well as over to Tower Bridge and city hall. The prices in the bar are expensive! £6 for a bottle of beer! There is also a really nice coffee place just off reception with reasonable prices.
The hotel is new and has a nice feel about is. I would stay here again for sure!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DaffyBrightonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback and for rating us with a perfect 5 out of 5 for this stay! We're extremely grateful and are delighted you enjoyed the Cookie given on check in (and please feel free to ask our desk for more cookies during your stay, they love to give them out!!).

There are nearby construction works you are right, and the hotel is working closely with the Managers of this project to ensure the wellbeing and comfort of our guests & visitors is never compromised. Naturally this remains our utmost priority…
I'm pleased you have been able to say this had not affected your stay negatively and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

In the meantime do let us know how we can be of any assistance.

Thank you again for the wonderful comments!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#81 of 1,067 in London
3,269 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing