We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay/value/location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #225 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great stay/value/location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

2mins walk from Tower Hill tube, overlooking Tower Bridge and the Shard and Gerkin both in the view from the Sky Lounge. Warm delicious cookie on arrival after signing up to HHonours. Lovely room, very comfortable bed, quiet (on the 7th floor), free in-room internet and tv all through the rooms own Mac. Few nice bars in the vicinity and the Sky Lounge well worth it for a treat. Unfortunately, reception didn't know what time the Sky Lounge closed at on a Bank Holiday Sunday and no-one was answering at the bar so friends and I decided to stay away that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,709
    1,949
    510
    129
    79
See reviews for
682
2,311
188
1,320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Excellent location close to the Tower of London - good, spacious, modern rooms - bigger than most in London.

Excellent roof top bar on the top floor with amzing roof terrace and great views across the London skyline. A great place to spend a few hours with some cocktails!!!

Breakfast rather manic at weekends!

Room Tip: Go to the Sky Lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I booked this hotel as it was recommended to me and because of it's location. It's a minute walk from Tower Hill tube station and a five minute walk to the Tower of London.

It was my mum's 70th Birthday weekend so I wanted it to be extra special. I had emailed the hotel prior to arrival to ask if we could have a room with a view. Check in was very quick for my sister but our room wasn't ready, we'd booked a twin so had to wait for the beds to be split. Eventually when we were allocated our room we had no view even after been promised one by the reception staff. By this time we just wanted to have our room so we didn't complain. But it was a let down to say the least.

The room itself was quite small but adequate. There is no bath but the shower was powerful although the temperature kept changing from hot to cold. Our view was of the glass roof overlooking reception, so a big disappointment.

Breakfast was plentiful but the breakfast room was very busy with long queues for everything. You had to time it right to get a seat.

The Skylounge had wonderful views but the drinks were very pricey. Four drinks cost over £40 with the 12.5% service charge added.

Would I stay again? Probably not simply because next time I would want to be in a different part of London.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenMarkhamLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool _ England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. Just situated a minute's walk from Tower Hill Tube station, it is ideal if you are visiting the Tower of London.
Staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. The hotel is clean, spacious and has a sleek feel about it.Breakfast is amazing - a great choice but can be busy and there can be a 15 minute wait if the hotel is full. This is the case with most hotels and the staff actually came round with orange juice whilst we were waiting.
We stayed the weekend of the August bank holiday. The hotel allocated a room for guests who wanted to leave their luggage after checking out, so we could go to the Tower and pick up our bags later. Just great.
The only improvement would be the air conditioning in the room which even on full on, made little difference. Apart from this - a great hotel - difficult to find better.
If you are going to the Tower, arrive at opening time and go and visit the Crown Jewels first as the queues are horrendous from 11 am onwards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST MIIDLANDS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Competitive rate for room, pleasant enough hotel....let down by delays at Breakfast which looks like it is down to the breakfast area being too small and the number of guests creating some delays when accessing breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank MJS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
250 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Second stay here and yet again it was superb.

Booked an atrium suite which was great, very roomy and quiet. Parking is on a first come basis and costs £20 per night, which is a bargain!

Location is superb, less than 5 mins from tube station.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here during my first visit to London. It's a modern hotel within the walking distance to Fenchurch Street station, Tower Hill station, as well as the Tower of London. In general, I like modern hotels so I'm happy with its décor both in the room and in the lobby. The room is small and doesn't have a bathtub. However, I like the Apple Computer/TV and free internet access. For the price I paid in London, I give high point in value because of its location and modernism. At the third night of stay, there was a power outage. We had to move to a different Hilton chain hotel. The staff at the hotel was very calm and nice. They have solved our problem but I wasn't too happy about it because our plan was disrupted.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#178 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,882 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in London
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing