We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“5 star staff and hotel...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #206 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“5 star staff and hotel...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

When we came to check in, the hotel had not received our booking made through a 3rd party hotel site. The reception staff were so helpful and apologetic it made you feel "that this is 5 star treatment".
Whilst sorting the misunderstanding out they offered us complimentary drinks in the open plan lobby bar which is nicely furnished and decorated, and the staff were keeping us regularly informed of how the situation was progressing on sorting out our misplaced booking. Also they give you free warm cookies as you check in.
Suffice to say we got our room, which was spotlessly clean, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds. The room had the usual complimentary toiletries, tea/coffee making facilities, in room safe etc. Another plus factor was the free wi-fi where the Apple flat screen monitor with keyboard and mouse, doubled up as a TV screen with sky sports 1,2,3 and 4!!
As others have said the skylounge gives fantastic panoramic views over london and is well worth a visit both in the day and at night.
The hotel we found to be well placed for transport links to around the city (Bank and London underground stations are about a 15 minutes walk).There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby to this hotel if you don't want to dine in the hotel.
The only slight negative we had was that we felt the breakfast area was to small for the hotel, its the first time ever that we have had to queue for breakfast. But the breakfast was lovely with a wide choice of food.
A big thank you to Romino and Enico at reception and all the staff we encountered for your friendliness and professionalism,we thoroughly enjoyed our stat at your hotel and we would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in london,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tets-Kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,490
    1,780
    450
    113
    67
See reviews for
611
2,090
177
1,210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (799)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The views from the rooftop bar - Sky Lounge - make this review 5 out of 5 alone but the range of drinks is also good. My only negative about the place is the service since some of the servers can be somewhat uncaring and not really interesting in helping people. The previous owner of the hotel had very good rooms and I am assured these haven't really changed that much - which is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ManuelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have just come back from a weekend in London for my birthday. The Doubletree surpassed my expectations. I stayed in the king atrium suite which was a lovely size room. The view from the Sky lounge was amazing. The staff are very helpful and friendly. A great location. I will definatley be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is very clean and modern compared to similar London hotels. I stayed there with work for a one-day conference. The food was tasty and above average. A small minus to the breakfast buffet that only offered toast bread until 7.00. Some fresh bread rolls would have been nice. The Sky Bar was the best part of the hotel with a fantastic view of the Tower Bridge and the Shard. This is rare in London. The rooms were surprisingly small, considering the standard of the rest of the hotel. The room was quiet though, which is a big plus, as the hotel doesn't face any big street or noisy area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed over at the Doubletree by Hilton and decided that I should write an appropriate review for it since this was my second stay. While the room is not spacious by Asian standards, it was more than adequate as I spent 6 nights (or was it 7?) . The check-in was fuss free, manned by friendly staff and the room, bedding, pillows were fresh and new. Decor is minimalistic but nice, with a working desk, iMac and free Wifi throughout the hotel.

Location of the hotel is also excellent as it is just minutes from the Tower Hill Underground and the DLR to Excel. With the recent hotel promo rate, the stay was worth every penny and maybe even a bit more. My title says it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have to travel to London once a year to visit Lloyd's of London. This year I elected to stay nearby rather than in the West End. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful so right there you have to start liking the hotel. The room was clean and modern, a bit chilly at first but a call to the desk sorted that out. Instead of TV you get a mac computer which also gives you the usual UK TV channels which was very nice. Iron, Ironing Board, Hair dryer, plenty of tea and coffee, complimentary bottled water and the usual shampoos etc. I bought the £15.00 breakfast coupons and enjoyed the ample and tasty buffet in City Cafe each morning. I also enjoyed having a drink with friends in the Skytop Lounge and eating the Natural Kitchen restaurant on the ground floor (you can't charge meals to your room but you can walk straight in without going outside). All in all a great experience. The "Fitness Room" is one of the most complete (and busiest I've ever seen in a hotel. Definitely a hotel for the business traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIntHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi FlyingTurtle,

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience many of our restaurants, bars and facilities. The charging of meals to rooms from Natural Kitchen has come recently so we are changing this in the coming weeks - and we've just added additional equipment to the Fitness centre! Thanks for you r comments adn see you on your return.

Patrick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel has the best location only 5 mins away by walk from the subway station tower hill. The tower of london and london brige are the neighbors.
The service in the hotel is excellent. The room is a little bit small but equipped with the 21"imac with Edifier sound system. You will never feel lonely by playing the music.WLAN is in the whole Hotel rooms available. The breakfast is not typical english but the quality is very high. The room looks like not so luxury but comfortable typical Business hotel. If you really want to take a long sleep and get recovered from the stress then pick this hotel up. The room is so quite that you can heart only the music you played but nothing else.

Room Tip: Room on the south i picked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passworts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#187 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,582 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#80 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,113 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
The Tower
#246 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 5,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Business Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing