We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing rooftop Sky Lounge location with amazing views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #210 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 367 helpful votes
“Amazing rooftop Sky Lounge location with amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The views from the rooftop bar - Sky Lounge - make this review 5 out of 5 alone but the range of drinks is also good. My only negative about the place is the service since some of the servers can be somewhat uncaring and not really interesting in helping people. The previous owner of the hotel had very good rooms and I am assured these haven't really changed that much - which is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ManuelLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,437
    1,734
    441
    111
    62
See reviews for
586
2,036
175
1,190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (782)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have just come back from a weekend in London for my birthday. The Doubletree surpassed my expectations. I stayed in the king atrium suite which was a lovely size room. The view from the Sky lounge was amazing. The staff are very helpful and friendly. A great location. I will definatley be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is very clean and modern compared to similar London hotels. I stayed there with work for a one-day conference. The food was tasty and above average. A small minus to the breakfast buffet that only offered toast bread until 7.00. Some fresh bread rolls would have been nice. The Sky Bar was the best part of the hotel with a fantastic view of the Tower Bridge and the Shard. This is rare in London. The rooms were surprisingly small, considering the standard of the rest of the hotel. The room was quiet though, which is a big plus, as the hotel doesn't face any big street or noisy area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tripre_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed over at the Doubletree by Hilton and decided that I should write an appropriate review for it since this was my second stay. While the room is not spacious by Asian standards, it was more than adequate as I spent 6 nights (or was it 7?) . The check-in was fuss free, manned by friendly staff and the room, bedding, pillows were fresh and new. Decor is minimalistic but nice, with a working desk, iMac and free Wifi throughout the hotel.

Location of the hotel is also excellent as it is just minutes from the Tower Hill Underground and the DLR to Excel. With the recent hotel promo rate, the stay was worth every penny and maybe even a bit more. My title says it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have to travel to London once a year to visit Lloyd's of London. This year I elected to stay nearby rather than in the West End. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful so right there you have to start liking the hotel. The room was clean and modern, a bit chilly at first but a call to the desk sorted that out. Instead of TV you get a mac computer which also gives you the usual UK TV channels which was very nice. Iron, Ironing Board, Hair dryer, plenty of tea and coffee, complimentary bottled water and the usual shampoos etc. I bought the £15.00 breakfast coupons and enjoyed the ample and tasty buffet in City Cafe each morning. I also enjoyed having a drink with friends in the Skytop Lounge and eating the Natural Kitchen restaurant on the ground floor (you can't charge meals to your room but you can walk straight in without going outside). All in all a great experience. The "Fitness Room" is one of the most complete (and busiest I've ever seen in a hotel. Definitely a hotel for the business traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyingTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIntHotel, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hi FlyingTurtle,

I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience many of our restaurants, bars and facilities. The charging of meals to rooms from Natural Kitchen has come recently so we are changing this in the coming weeks - and we've just added additional equipment to the Fitness centre! Thanks for you r comments adn see you on your return.

Patrick

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel has the best location only 5 mins away by walk from the subway station tower hill. The tower of london and london brige are the neighbors.
The service in the hotel is excellent. The room is a little bit small but equipped with the 21"imac with Edifier sound system. You will never feel lonely by playing the music.WLAN is in the whole Hotel rooms available. The breakfast is not typical english but the quality is very high. The room looks like not so luxury but comfortable typical Business hotel. If you really want to take a long sleep and get recovered from the stress then pick this hotel up. The room is so quite that you can heart only the music you played but nothing else.

Room Tip: Room on the south i picked
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passworts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited this hotel for a birthday weekend in London. Make sure you check what engineering works are taking place on the Tube before booking, both the circle and district lines were down, but that is obviously not the hotel's fault!

Reception area and check-in was smooth, given a nice cookie on arrival which was good. Room view was a bit poor, but the room was good, comfy bed, powerful shower.

SkyLounge bar was impressive when we saw it, but it would have been good if the hotel offered resident perks, such as special offers or a free drink within a certain specification. It is a great venue and just needs to be utilised more.

Overall an excellent few days, maybe just offer that bit 'extra'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harropmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#182 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,510 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#86 of 1,069 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,055 reviews
The Tower
#249 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 5,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#146 Business Hotel in London
#159 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing