We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very could, but needs 'extra'” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #205 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very could, but needs 'extra'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited this hotel for a birthday weekend in London. Make sure you check what engineering works are taking place on the Tube before booking, both the circle and district lines were down, but that is obviously not the hotel's fault!

Reception area and check-in was smooth, given a nice cookie on arrival which was good. Room view was a bit poor, but the room was good, comfy bed, powerful shower.

SkyLounge bar was impressive when we saw it, but it would have been good if the hotel offered resident perks, such as special offers or a free drink within a certain specification. It is a great venue and just needs to be utilised more.

Overall an excellent few days, maybe just offer that bit 'extra'.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harropmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,582
    1,834
    472
    117
    70
See reviews for
636
2,158
181
1,259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A great bar at the top of the hotel - on entering go to the far right-hand corner and up in the lifts to the top. A great bar with a view of Tower Bridge/Tower of London/London Bridge. Good for cocktails/wine and nibbles. Sunday is usually not very busy. Weekday evenings it can get busy and has fairly loud music.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic views of the Tower of London, Tower Bridge and the Shard. Very modern, light and airy with small but very functional rooms. Mac TV which would have been alright if it hadn't turned itself on twice in the night, pulling all of the wires out solved the problem.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2-4 February. We have stayed in several central London hotels before and this hotel Icompletely ticked all the boxes. I agree with all the comments made about the services (including the comfy bed and room temperature - very important!). The breakfast was excellent. On the second morning I had the best poached eggs ever tasted! Don't miss the incredible views from the Sky lounge on the top floor. Would highly recommend the hotel for business users or if you are visiting our fine City! Enjoy. I did not put any personal details on the feedback card but completed "Excellent"!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the back and whilst no particular view, it was blissfully quiet, as I imagine all the...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel made my son's trip from the free cookie to the Apple TV and bathroom. The little touches are nice, Crabtree & Evelyn products, comfy bed, air con ( I struggle with hot hotel bedrooms and got the temp down enough to sleep comfortably.) My son filled in a feedback card and we had a callback thanking us for our comments within hours of leaving. Didn't get to see the sky lounge but will definitely try and stay here again to have a look. Good location 1minutes walk from the tube at tower hill. Lovely, definitely worth a revisit.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank julesjackson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference yesterday (feb 7th). Good conference facilities and was pleasantly surprised by the rooms. The staff were excellent and very helpful. Rooms were modern and clean with free wi-fi. The website didn't do this hotel justice as I was apprehensive before arriving but left very pleased with the whole aspect of this hotel. Well done double tree! Would definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank robharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed for one night at the end of January for my birthday, we paid for the hotel as a package with theatre tickets. We were really impressed with the hotel, reception was really helpful and had both received a cookie on arrival. Our room was really clean and my boyfriend was impressed with the Apple Mac! We went up to the sky lounge which had great views but drinks are really expensive. Breakfast was organised and pleased with the options.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mill2601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#180 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,692 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,240 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#240 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,530 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing