We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb London hotel next to Fenchurch Street”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #239 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb London hotel next to Fenchurch Street”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Absolutley loved this hotel. The staff were very friendly and attentive and you even get a warm cookie on arrival. Nice touch.
Got a really good deal for a Friday night.
It's also a minute walk from Fenchurch Station and a few mins from Tower Hill underground. Great location.
I would definitley recommend this hotel and go back there myself

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoSands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,851
    2,062
    531
    142
    90
See reviews for
742
2,443
197
1,386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (895)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Doubletree Tower Hill from 2/2/13 until 4/2/13. The staff I must say were honestly the friendliest I have ever experienced. In particular the Night Manager and staff at the reception were extremely helpful throughout our stay. We had a young child with us and they were very helpful in making sure we were comfortable throughout the stay.

The room was well equipped and a good size. It was extremely clean including the bathroom. Room service was excellent.

The hotel itself is a 1 minute walk from the Tower Hill Underground Station providing access to the rest of London with ease.

I would definitely recommend this to those staying in London - it is ideal for people on business but the hotel and staff is also family friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent location, comfortable rooms and amazing view from the roof bar. Unfortunately it was let down by extremely slow service in the bar at the top of the hotel due to poor organization of staff.

The receptionist was lovely at check-in though unfortunately did not provide any information on the offers available to us as guests at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review however I'm very sorry to hear there had been 2 particular areas of your experience which you had felt let down by.

I hope that we were able to quickly rectify any confusion with regards to what had been included with your booking, however I will be ensuring our Reception team are made aware of your feedback and I'm very sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Additionally please may I ask you to contact me if ever you can consider returning to our Skylounge as I would love to help in booking you a nice table with your first drink (and a drink for a guest) on us. (Some drinks would be excluded from this). In light of these circumstances we feel it important we can restore your faith and provide you with a relaxing experience in the gorgeous Skylounge.

Whilst the Skylounge can experience very busy periods on our peak nights, this doesn't excuse any failings you had found in the way in which we had taken care of you and I am very sorry.

You are welcome to contact our Switchboard and they can offer you my direct contact details. I hope we can welcome you back to DoubleTree and the Skylounge soon.


Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here weekend of 2nd/3rd February. I have stayed previously and really had a good time, the friend's who accompanied me were very impressed by the service they recieved, the rooms exceptionally clean, warm, with a bathroom to die for especially the power shower, excellent breakfast, guest services ordered transport to the o2 arena as we were lucky enough to get tickets for Strictly come Danceing, nothing was to much trouble. Would we stay here again!! Definatly in fact planning for Christmas Shopping already.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for choosing to come back to our hotel and I'm thrilled to hear you're already thinking of making a return trip later in the year. No doubt you all had a fabulous time at the O2 to watch Strictly Come Dancing (sounds amazing!) and it is great that our Guest Services team ensured your transport was arranged.

Thank you very much indeed for your feedback and if ever I can personally be of any assistance please do not hesitate to reach out to me and our teams.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed here to work at the Excel but be able to go out to the tourist areas with colleagues in the evening.
The location next to the DLR was perfect for the 20 minute ride to the Excel. Getting into Covent Garden etc was a taxi, but only £12 or so.

Staying in or that quick night cap after going out was nice. The hotel gave the sense of space in the lobby bar and the Sky Lounge had a great view along with a vibrant atmosphere.

The rooms were small - I guess in keeping with London. They were clean and had reasonable facilities, certainly good enough for my 4 night stay.

Finally - eating out was ok. There were the usual selection of Italian chain restaurants within walking distance (Strada, Pizza Express, Zizzis) and a few pubs. The Hung Drawn and Quartered was actually nice with some great pies.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Wokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear 'Chris_Wokingham'

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree Tower of London for this business trip. I'm pleased to hear that our location allowed for a stress free journey to the ExCel and you were able to take time to enjoy some of our facilities, including Skylounge!

I sense we didn't quite ‘tick all the boxes’ for this trip and am hopeful that should you be able to return we can do better and provide you with a faultless stay from beginning to end.

If you have any further feedback that you would like to send our way, please do not hesitate to do this by calling our Switchboard who would be more than happy to offer you my contact details.

Otherwise I wish to thank you again for offering your comments and we hope to see you again soon,

Warm regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Superb location right by the tower of London. The room was very clean and nicely decorated with an apple tv that I personally find a pain to navigate. The pillows were poor and very firm but overall it was a good experience. Nice breakfast options and good attentive service. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank El_Capitan_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for coming to stay at DoubleTree Tower of London on business in January. I'm delighted to hear you would look to return however I apologise you had found the pillows in your room to be too firm. May I suggest on your next stay with us, this is highlighted to our Housekeeping team (this can be done by calling our Care line on extension 0, or by all means you can inform reception when checking in). We can then arrange a better suited pillow to be available for you and I apologise for if this had meant for an interrupted night’s sleep.

Whilst it is rare that we receive similar comments to this, we appreciate that this can be a personal preference and we are only too happy to accommodate any particular requests provided this is available.

Thank you once again for posting this review and we look forward to welcoming you back,

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stay here almost every time I visit London since it is cheap and located near Lloyds of London, but my last stay had just about the smallest room I have ever seen. If you are looking for quality, or something bigger than your closet, stay at a hotel on the West end, not in the City of London.

Room Tip: If you stay here, pay extra for a little bit bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irbflyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on tripadvisor and I'm very sorry you had been severely disappointed at the size of your room and its decor.

With the exception of our suites, our rooms would all be of a very similar size and this leads me to think you may have been allocated a guest room looking into our courtyard/glass atrium roof. Our rooms in this area of the hotel would carry a slightly different lay out and may have given you the impression that this was smaller.

Our guest rooms at DoubleTree Tower of London do carry a contemporary design which some have viewed as too minimalistic whilst others find this very comfortable however I appreciate this is personal taste and I hope that you would not be deterred to visit us again in the future.

Thank you once again for your review,

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#167 of 1,068 in London
4,039 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#84 of 1,068 in London
3,297 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#179 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing