We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #204 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

It is well worth getting the rather slow lift up to the Sky Lounge just for the most amazing views of the Thames and in particular, Tower Bridge. The service was swift and the drinks, although pricey, were worth ordering just so that our guests were able to savour the views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richiemint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for visiting our hotel and Skylounge. I'm delighted to hear you and your guests had been impressed with the views, we think it’s rather special too!! Thank you for also mentioning that our staff had taken care of you and we hope to see you again at Skylounge very soon.

In the meantime do let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,587
    1,835
    473
    117
    71
See reviews for
637
2,160
182
1,260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (822)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is an amazing hotel in a lovely location. Try to get a room on a higher floor with a view to the Thames. Ours was on floor 9 and from our window we could see Tower Bridge and the Shard and at night these were spectacular. There is a funky bar on the top floor - the Skyliner which has a DJ playing house music and this is open until 2.00am. The cocktails are fabulous. From this bar there is a terrace which has views right across London and is totally amazing.
Breakfast was good with a huge choice of food and the service was second to none. There can be queues but they very quickly disperse. I cannot fault this hotel, if I did it would be that hot breakfast was served on cold plates but ho hum. There is a gym which we didn't use
The underground station is less than 5 minutes away and from here you can get anywhere in London, Piccadilly was two trains and about 15 minutes. You can walk along the river down to the embankment and if you cross the river there are lovely views of the London skyline. We travelled on a river boat down to Greenwich and were given an almost 50% discount when we were asked which hotel we stayed in. All in all a lovely hotel which we will return to the next time we are in London

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Stayed here for a Sunday night, as we were going to a gig in Hackney. The hotel is excellent. Very clean, good rooms and comfortable beds. The Apple TV in the room, was also a nice novelty. We booked via "Booking.Com" and got a good rate at £71 per night.

My only disapointment with this hotel is the level of customer service at the front desk. On two occassions, the reception area was busy, so we approached the person by the desk, stating "guest services": each time, the person refused to answer our query and asked that we joined the queue, despite the person at this desk not dealing with anyone.

Other than that, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear 'Nick G',

Thank you for your review on trip advisor. I'm very sorry to hear that your experience at the Guest Services desk had somewhat taken away from an otherwise pleasant stay and your feedback will be discussed with our Reception team.

Whilst I have every confidence that the way in which our staff member had come across had not been intended, we are very sorry you had felt that your enquiry had not been handled in the appropriate way as we are only too happy to help with recommendations or any arrangements for a guest's stay.

We appreciate this being brought to our attention and I sincerely hope you would not be deterred to visit DoubleTree Tower of London in the future. If you would like to discuss anything further with me regarding this matter or indeed anything else please do not hesitate to contact the hotel's switchboard number where a representative can transfer your call to my office.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay fairly often in London on business and often get awoken by internal or external noise. This was lovely and quiet. The rooms are lovely comfortable and spacious with Apple TV and free in room wifi there was only a shower no bath but the bathrobes were welcome. Plenty of choice at breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear 'Carol L',

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree Tower of London whilst travelling on business. We very much appreciate your support and I'm pleased to hear that our rooms meant for a restful night's sleep.

Do let us know how we can be of any further help if you are looking to return when next in London (we hope that you will!). Thank you for providing this feedback.

Warmest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

This was our second time staying at the Doubletree. This is a really fantastic hotel.

The hot cookie at check in is a lovely touch. The staff are friendly and will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

You can leave your bags in the hotel before or after check-in/out for no charge.

The rooms are clean and have loads of extras to make your stay even better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this great review on Trip advisor. It is lovely to know that our staff had made this impression on you, we will be sure to share this with our teams and thank you for saying you enjoyed our signature DoubleTree cookie!

Thank you for coming back to see us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon where we’ll have another warm chocolate chip cookie 'at the ready' when you arrive!

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Loved the hotel from the time we arrived. Just a short walk from the Tower Hill tube station on the Circle Line so you can soon make it to any part of London. Obviously, the Tower of London itself and Tower Bridge are both within a few minutes walk. If you enjoy walking, you can get into the West End by strolling up Fleet Street and The Strand past St. Paul's.

I admit to being a complete tart for any hotel that gives me a fresh cookie when I check in, but it did take us about two days to get through it. The check-in staff were absolutely brilliant throughout and had superb memories for individuals which was amazing. The central open space is enormous and gives the hotel an airy feel inside with plenty of space to relax.

The room size and quality was good for a London hotel with comfortable beds and an iMac instead of the usual LCD TV. Once I'd worked out how to turn the blessed thing on, we were away. Free internet access on the iPad was a refreshing change.

The only thing about this hotel that lets it down is the bar on the top floor. The views are absolutely spectacular and so you have to go and check it out. However, the drinks are absurdly expensive and the service poor and slow. Indeed, most of the wines on the menu were unavailable.

Were it not for the above, the hotel would get five stars from me. It's a great London hotel choice outside the centre. More than happy with our stay, and would have no hesitation in returning. Best compliments to the excellent staff - shows that great service is what it's really all about.

By the way, try the German style bar/restaurant round the corner. Well worth a visit...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambsie_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on trip advisor, it is great to know that you had been impressed by a number of aspects of the hotel, especially by the way in which our staff had interacted with you to help make your stay special which is fantastic.

I'm very sorry however that you had found your experience in Skylounge to be less than satisfactory including how service appeared to be slow and that you found items to be expensive. We appreciate our prices in Skylounge are higher than those you would expect to see in other bars, however we do feel these are in line with other similar venues in the area.

If you do feel inclined to offer me any further information with regards to your visit to Skylounge, we would certainly be happy to investigate this further and I'm very sorry for this being in any way disappointing.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to DoubleTree Tower of London and Skylounge soon.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Myself and 3 girl friends shared a room at this hotel on Friday 7th December for one night.
We needed a hotel with a good base in London near to a tube station.
I can totally recommend this hotel, fantastic location a few mins walk from tower hill tube.
Lots of places to eat/drink in the area.
We used the sky lounge which had amazing views on a beautiful winters afternoon!
Lots of lovely cocktails to choose from- I recommend "London's calling" yum!
Our room was clean and modern with free wifi, large enough room with 3 beds in it. Tea coffee making facilities and a fridge, lots of mirrors, 2 fall length ones (which is sometimes missing in hotel rooms but crucial when getting ready for a big night out)!
Room service was excellent, food of a good standard, and breakfast in the morning was very good, All help yourself so you could choose from full English, pastries, fruit and cereals.
The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas!
Staff very friendly and helpful.
I will definitely be using this hotel again next year!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dencroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#181 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,242 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#239 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,533 reviews
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#155 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing