We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Ranked #234 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NW ENGLAND
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Our 5th time!”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

First choice of hotel in London. Great value and handy location near the Tower Hill tube. Checked in early and the room was ready. Rooms are always clean and staff are welcoming. Restaurant was busy as there was a coach party in but lots of efficient staff kept things moving.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORRIEFANS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review and we are absolutely delighted we have become your choice of hotel when coming to London. Thank you for continuing to support us!

We're pleased you were able to check out City Cafe restaurant during this trip and thank you for saying staff had worked hard to ensure service levels remained consistent and efficient. That is great to hear and our staff will be made aware of this feedback.

We very much looking forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Take care and kind regards

Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,821
    2,036
    528
    139
    86
See reviews for
727
2,412
195
1,377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Contrary to the title, on 'paper' this is a great hotel. It's in a good location, the views from the sky bar are stunning day or night and with any Hilton or associated hotel, you generally expect a certain quality of service and high standards.

Unfortunately this hotel fell well short of the mark when we stayed with them over the weekend celebrating our anniversary in london.

To begin with our room wasn't ready on checkin as it hadn't been cleaned. We were told someone would tell us when it was ready. 45 minutes later we thought we would try again and it was ready. How long it had been ready we will never know.

Once we got to the room we discovered they had put us in a queen 'deluxe' not the king room I had booked. A word of caution if you book with this hotel. They informed us they had 'upgraded' us to a queen deluxe from the king room. it's only when we pushed for the what the difference was they admitted the only difference between a queen deluxe room and a king room is a king room has a bigger bed.

Once we got into our king room we discovered it was actually 2 beds put together with a double duvet but having moved once already we decided to accept it. Next the shower didn't work. I called reception who said maintenance would be up to fix it. 45 minutes later no one had arrived so I rang again, 10 minutes later someone eventually came and fixed it. After all this delay we missed our dinner reservation.

My biggest complaint is after we arrived back in the room at 1.30am. Our once king bed had now been turned into 2 single beds. still pushed together but with completely separate single duvets. I went down to reception and complained but all they offered was to move us to another room which at what was now approaching 2 am, wasn't an option. To make matters worse, I rolled over during the night and fell straight between the beds as they parted (they are not anchored to the floor or each other). I really don't exagerate when I say this hotel managed to ruin what should have been a great weekend. Please save yourself the stress and book else where, especially if you are a couple expecting a troublefree weekend.

Room Tip: Only difference between a king size and a queen size deluxe is the bed is bigger in a king room. Sou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank craig l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear ‘craig I’

Thank you for offering us your feedback and we are sincerely sorry for any disappointment caused during this special weekend away.

Whilst during busy times it can on occasion happen that not all of our rooms are ready at 3pm, I’m very sorry for if you had not received an update from our staff. Additionally we apologise for any miscommunication with regards to the room category that had been available and we are sorry this had not been the room you had reserved. As you will have realised some of our beds do also convert into twin rooms (there are a small number of our rooms that would do this) however it remains unclear why your beds will have then been separated during the evening, and we will certainly be investigating this and your other comments.

I also apologise for any issue with the shower in this room, and of course we regret if this had meant you were late for a dinner reservation. If you do feel inclined to offer me any further information please do not hesitate to contact the hotel where I would be more than happy to discuss this further with you.

We would not wish for you to be deterred to visit the hotel again in the future and we are very sorry there had been a number of issues during this stay which had let us down.

Thank you again for your comments,

Sincerely
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

stayed here for a week,excellent.tube on doorstep and bus stop a few hundred yards takes you directly to Picadilly Circus.Staff very attentive and pleasent.Highly recomend will return.Would say its now my favourite part of London and hotel is excellent base for exploring southbank and the tube line took me straight to wimbledon,my reason for going,book it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear 'stephen s',

Thank you for your comments. I’m delighted to hear you consider the hotel to be the perfect base for when in London!

I hope you had a wonderful time at Wimbledon and we are extremely grateful that you would not hesitate to recommend us to others.

We look forward to being of further assistance to you in the future,

Yours sincerely
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

With a modern contemporary design, good sized rooms, comfortable beds equipped with IMacs free of use in each room incl. wifi. Clean and fresh, good location two minutes away from the tube.Great bar with nice view overlooking the Tower and new buildings. Great value for money! Recommendable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and I'm pleased you had found many areas of the hotel to be comfortable and value for money.

We hope that next time we are able to give you that extra 'wow' factor and indeed if there is anything our team and I can do to assist you when you next plan to return to London please get in touch!

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is it's Skybar, great views & nice wine list, great to go up there when the rather is sunny ! . The rooms are clean & well appointed & the staff are polite & helpful. There are nicer hotels in the city, this is pretty much an average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Dear 'PaulaRogers69',

Thank you for the really great comments following your stay with us in June. I'm delighted you'd enjoyed the Skylounge, thank you for visiting during your time at the hotel.

It’s a pity we couldn't impress you more, however we hope you may feel inclined to return to the hotel in the future and again we thank you for your comments.

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Big, modern ,clean hotel ,easy to find ,excellent location right beside tower hill tube!beautiful views from the hotel at night.rooms clean and modern but was slightly disappointed how small they where.breakfast was plentiful and nice! staff friendly and efficient would most certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmurphstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear 'Mrsmurphstar',

Thank you for saying you would not hesitate to return to our hotel, we really look forward to having you stay again soon!

We are sorry however that you had felt guest rooms appeared on the small side. We do have guest rooms of different layouts and sizes which may appeal more to you, and as such please do not hesitate to ask our Reservationists for additional information concerning our room types or indeed anything else, when enquiring about a future stay. We are grateful to receive many positive comments from our guests to say they had been pleasantly surprised at the space offered in our rooms, however we appreciate being given your feedback and apologise this hadn't surpassed your expectations for this visit.

If our team and I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Brilliant hotel from start to finish,

We booked one night for our 5th Anniversary for somewhere special,
Very polite helpful receptionist.. we arrived at 12noon and was able to check in straight away despite it being a 3pm check in,
great location across the street from Fenchurch st and Tower hill around the corner. Walking dist. to St.Katherines docks, bars, restaurants, marina and views of Thames.
Tube into west end took 13mins on district line brilliant !!!!

Rooms are immaculate, bathroom cleanest i have ever seen, wonderful shower and soft towels. Great apple mac tv with dvd/cd played/ computer and free wifi !!!

Sky lounge a little expensive but excellent service and best views of london after the london eye !! Cockails £11.00 each but good value for london.

Check out was easy and we go a great price for our room with the get away special price,,
Brilliant hotle, lovely staff, well done especially in run up to Olympics lots of media arriving to hotel daily but service never altered excellent Customer Services BEST IN LONDON WE HAVE EVER HAD !!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed210480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyTregidgo, Guest Relations Executive at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello 'ed210480',

Thank you for staying at the DoubleTree by Hilton London - Tower of London to celebrate your 5th wedding anniversary, we're delighted you had come to think of us for this trip away!

Your comments are most kind and thank you for saying you had not seen a change in the levels of customer service offered by our staff during what is busy time in the City. All of our teams are beaming with pride at having the Games hosted in London and we want to ensure our guests have the best experience possible!

We hope you will come to think of us when next planning a special getaway, (and although we realise it may seem early), watch out for news of our special festive packages including some great deals when booking early…

Kindest regards
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Hilton London Tower Bridge
Hilton London Tower Bridge
#174 of 1,067 in London
3,997 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Bloomsbury
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#81 of 1,067 in London
3,269 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London
Address: 7 Pepys Street, London EC3N 4AF, England (Formerly Mint Hotel Tower of London)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#84 Family Hotel in London
#106 Romantic Hotel in London
#145 Business Hotel in London
#175 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London 4*
Number of rooms: 583
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton, we know that the little things mean everything. These days, travel can be hard. At DoubleTree by Hilton we understand that, and every little thing we do adds up to creating a rewarding experience for our guests. This is evidenced through the signature warm chocolate chip cookies guests receive upon arrival, the advantages of the award-winning Hilton HHonors(R) guest reward program and our industry-recognized Culture of CARE that's been part of our DNA since 1985. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London -Tower of London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel London -Tower Of London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing