We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a ribeye!”
Review of Hix

Hix
Reserve with OpenTable
Hix is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,637 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Price range: $27 - $65
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Located in the heart of Soho, an area which is quickly moving towards fast casual, to visit HIX Soho is to experience true hospitality and the subtle elegance of service-craft. With an unrivalled dedication to seasonality HIX Soho brings fish and shellfish to the forefront, offering a premium seafood experience serving carefully sourced produce from the British Isles. The leather banquettes lend themselves to intimate corner tables for two or larger dining parties of up to 12, a rare find in this part of London. The oak paneled private dining room is the perfect setting for discreet meals and meetings for up to 10. Open all day every day, HIX Soho is the perfect spot for pre-theatre dining. A set menu is also available until 6.30pm every weekday for only £19.50 for 2 courses. Join us for Bottomless Brunch on a Saturday or the best British roast every Sunday. Downstairs is the iconic Mark’s Bar with its apothecary bar and an eccentric seasonal cocktail list. The bar is open from 12noon - 1am for drinks and bar snacks. Mark's bar does not take reservations for drinks as it operates on first in first served basis.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a ribeye!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I loved this place and can't wait to go back. I was taken here for a work dinner...otherwise it's not something I could've afforded unless it was for a very special occasion.

It's the first time I've been presented with a raw meat board and full description of each item, the way it's best served etc from the waiter. I chose the ribeye steak and it was spectacular! Seriously juicy, tasty, just delicious and perfectly done for my taste.The best I've had outside of the USA. The portion size was excellent and I'd tried the pork scratchings starter too. The service was great too...very attentive.

Really can't wait for a reason to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglishGirl-AngelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    313
    223
    131
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great simple well cooked lunch”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mark Hix's restaurant in Soho is a great place to dine. The staff and service are friendly and have the right balance between being efficient and formal which creating a relaxed and casual atmosphere. The restaurant decor is a little bazaar, but it works, good seating and dining area matched with a stuffed flamingo (?) flying through a neon hope hanging from the ceiling! The food is simple, but with top class ingredients and prepared to perfection. There is a bar down stairs that stay open late and has some great cocktails, but done expect happy hour prices!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJNDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great value fixed price lunch”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Always enjoy going to Hix Brewer Street and today no exception. Fixed price two course lunch menu an amazing £17.50. And what two courses they were. Fabulous. Whipped beets and goat's curd with hazlenuts almost had me licking the plate. Folowed by goat curry. Hix Fix cocktails to start is always a pick me up. Perfect NZ Riesling. Tremendous value for food this good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anchovy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“For this price, should have been a whole lot better”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The cocktail bar downstairs was a good way to start our evening and gave us high expectations for the dining experience we were about to have upstairs. Although the restaurant had a lively atmosphere and an attractive design, this was seriously let down by slow service, fairly average food and just lazy, unimaginative cooking. I chose smoked salmon followed by bone-in fillet, the presentation was utterly uninspiring and totally devoid of creativity. The final straw was the cost of our evening which was probably the worst value for money I have ever had eating out in London.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mxgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Anniversary meal!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

My family and I went here yesterday for lunch, to celebrate my parents wedding anniversary. Efficient service, although they brought out the wrong starter for my mum. Atmosphere was really good apart from some slightly over excited children. Food was good, but the portions are quite small. The bar downstairs is very nice and a lot quieter. I'd certainly go there again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hix also viewed

 

Been to Hix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing