We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Churchill War Rooms
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.80*
and up
Churchill War Rooms Entrance Ticket
More Info
$56.82*
and up
Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War...
More Info
$51.41*
and up
Historical World Wars London Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 1,650 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The underground headquarters of the British High Command served as the nerve center of Britain's war effort during World War II.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a very interesting place to visit when in London. The use of the free audio guide means that there is not very many boards all over the place making the attraction all the better.
I was disappointed with the 'Winston Churchill Museum' part of the tour, this new area didn't seem to have the flow like the rest of the museum, it was unclear which way would be best to look at the displays (well my partner and I felt!)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjoyce1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,868 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,363
    3,688
    683
    95
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
171 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“An hour to kill”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were close by and had the London Pass had an hour before our next sight seeing. It was interesting but I would not go out of my way to see it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank carribbeanmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great place for a history buff like me to visit”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was fascinating not only to see how a successful war was waged while being directed from underground, but to see how the English people coped and what they had to live through. The ingenuity to build and staff this secret place where so many men and women worked under such difficult circumstances is inspiring. I went for an hour, but I need much more time than that.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating place”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Booking on line means you don't have to queue - you can really get a feeling of the claustrophic and poor air quality back then, particularly when you surface back into the fresh air again. Laid out quite well although did find I was darting back and forth through Churchill's life at times. Would certainly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marg037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fabulous must see”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you have any interest in history, visit and plan to spend a few hours. It is in the actual underground bunkers where the war was managed - and they were locked up the day it was over and not reopened for 30 years, still looking the same way. Plus a great museum of remarkable Winston Churchill's life. Excellent!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank oli h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill War Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Churchill War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing