We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating!”

Churchill War Rooms
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.86*
and up
Churchill War Rooms Entrance Ticket
More Info
$56.98*
and up
Historical London Walking Tour including Westminster and Entry to Churchill War...
More Info
$51.55*
and up
Historical World Wars London Walking Tour
Ranked #7 of 1,651 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The underground headquarters of the British High Command served as the nerve center of Britain's war effort during World War II.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fascinating!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Loved this place! Especially loved the Churchill museum. A must go!!!!! A great way to spend a rainy day. We had a tour guide, I would suggest for the additional information.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank gbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15,899 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,390
    3,692
    683
    95
    39
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Expensive but excellent”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This isn't a cheap place to visit, but thankfully we had Clubcard vouchers which we converted to tickets, if you travel by train look out for 2 for 1 offers as well. Having said that, this was a really excellent find, we were fascinated by the rooms left as they had been closed up after the war. We spent a good couple of house here browsing around, I particularly liked seeing the map pins still in place showing where the various armies were, and the bank of old telephones including the red one, thought that was only in films! We didn't realise how close to the street surface it was, had both thought it would be further underground. A very enjoyable way to spend a morning!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“History at your fingertips”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I took some youngsters to the Churchill War Rooms during their school WW2 history project. They were fascinated at to see where such monumental decisions were taken and to learn more of the work undertaken by Great Britain to win the War.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cricketmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
praia da Luz
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very interesting”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Took my family anf friends and spent a very enjoyable 2 hours. Found the staff to be extremely helpful

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank luzlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Plenty to keep you occupied”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Lots to do and see so worth the admission charge. Plenty of interactive stuff to play with and videos to watch. We spent a good 3 hours and it was good to find some seating now and again for those weary legs! The heating could have done with being turned up a notch or two on the cold winter's day that we visited. Wide choice of things to buy in the shop but well on the expensive side (e.g. £2.50 for a pencil with a small plastic crown on the end????). Nice clean toilet facilities

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LamplighterYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churchill War Rooms also viewed

 

Been to Churchill War Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing