We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Royal Observatory Greenwich Entrance Ticket
180

Book in advance
from
$19.72
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Royal Observatory Greenwich
from $19.73
More Info
from $16.84
More Info
from $91.44
More Info
Reviews (3,549)
Filter reviews
3,549 results
Traveler rating
1,547
1,299
492
143
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,547
1,299
492
143
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prime meridian steep climb flamsteed house london pass longitude telescope astronomer exhibits obscura straddle thames importance scientists camera
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
181 - 186 of 3,549 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2019

Arrived at 4:34 and even though they close at 5, they wouldn't let me after 430 even though I already had the London pass and was here all the way from Australia and likely won't get to visit here again in my life. Thanks for the disappointment don't advertise you open until 5 when in reality you don't

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

What a wonderful extraordinary place to visit. Nice to get out of the city and visit this little gem. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

After leaving the river boat and walking through the park, we climbed the short but steep hill to reach the observatory. The pictures we had seen prior to our visit which showed people standing on either side of the meridian did not tell you that you had to pay an admission ticket for it and viewing the museum. Instead, there was a metal gate to the right of the Greenwich Mean time clock which led down a path where you could straddle the east/west line without paying a fee.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank Ellyk2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

A steep walk up with great views, an alternative route available for less strong walkers Is available we think.

Very expensive attraction, a little cheaper on line in advance. Staff at entry seemed confused about electronic entry ticket, odd. Signage not too good but assisted by staff who recommended going with a guide but didn't explain this well. Told it was 50 mins. Waited for a short while and joined a dozen people. The talk began in a crowed room with people pushing past all the time. It was very detailed and technical and people slipped away gradually. Though well presented and interesting spending nearly 1 and a half hours, in one hot darkened room looking at four items was not in the end a good experience. We came out shell shocked with little energy left to see the rest. This needs re consideration and much better advance information.it is for enthusiasts on Harrison and navigation.

Spent the little remaining time we had skimming the rest, some of which looked interesting but didn't have the energy to use the complicated audio guides. Again poor directions and a not informative map. Meridian line is a tourist photo trap, the education centre was poorly organised with useless instructions and things that were broken. The planetarium shows were charged in addition.

Left tired and annoyed, spoiled by poor communication on many levels. Note many many many tourists, some being very childish and ill mannered much of the time which didn't help.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

I’ve known of the Observatory and Greenwich Meridian probably since childhood but this is my first visit. There is much historical information about astronomy and famous astronomers as I expected, but also about time and the history of the search for accurate time keeping for astronomers and sailors, I hadn’t known about the observatory’s connection to time keeping.

3  Thank AndrewSG51
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews