We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Royal Observatory Greenwich
from $19.60
More Info
from $36.86
More Info
from $16.30
More Info
from $123.90
More Info
Reviews (3,020)
Filter reviews
2,170 results
Traveler rating
934
799
300
98
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
934
799
300
98
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meridian line prime meridian cutty sark steep climb flamsteed house harrison clocks john harrison western hemisphere canary wharf audio guide thames clipper interesting place walk up london skyline well worth the visit on display london pass
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,170 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The view from here is absolutely amazing. Also a must visit place to see the prime meridian. It’s a great place to get good pictures of London from the top of the hill.

Thank aniket91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Must people go for the Prime Meriden pictures. Before the entrance there is a small gate that leads you to the free version of the line but we had London Pass and went into the Observatory. Great history lesson of the telescope and much better view of the Prime Meriden

Thank GinaDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We really just visited the royal observatory so we could stand on the prime meridian. As it turns out, this little museum was so interesting. The displays related timento longitude—we never made that connection. It showed us how sailers, even as late steps the late 1800’s did not have anneasy way to determine local time on the boats. Maybe it’s because we are math and science geeks, but we found the observatory museum fascinating. And the prime meridian and red ball that drops every day at 1 pm were just awesome. Worth a couple of hours. It only took us maybe 30-40 min by train from London, then a short nice walk up to the observatory from the train station. Can also get there by that boat taxi fro London.

Thank Fran Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Nice walk through the park to the observatory. Uphill for most of the way. You can get the awesome views of London and take photos without paying the entrance price. For £15 each you get a very short tour of the observatory itself. An audioguide is provided but mine kept breaking down. It is quite interesting but for the three of us who went if was NOT wirthy £45. Walk around the grounds and get free views and save your money.

Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

While a boat down the Thames to Greenwich is a the best way to reach the Royal Observatory from the center of London many a treat awaits you on arrival so make a day of it! The Royal Observatory is special in so many ways as the entire Museum lays out how the science of time and its measurement was established. So allow a couple of hours and consider a guided tour. Set your camera to HD so that you will have the best possible pictures of you and your friends standing in the East and West at the same time at O degrees Longitude. Ensure you arrive in time to see the ancient ball to rise 12:55 and drop at 1:00. After the Royal Observatory explore Greenwich and especially the Cutty Sark.

Thank tonyjN9837OM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our last day of our trip to London and Paris, we were kind of tired of castles and churches!! so my husband thought it would be fun to take the city cruises boat from Tower Bridge to Greenwich ( 30 minutes) and spend the afternoon there... we saw the cutty sark and made it just in time to the Royal Observatory. Being engineers, we really enjoyed the story of the Harrison Clocks and the Prime Meridian. Could have spent longer but they were closing!!! We barely made the quite long walk ( running up the hill) to make it in time to at least see a bit of the museum! ) seems like an observatory might have some night hours but they don't. Anyway it was a very nice stop and we are glad we went.

Thank ellenkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You get great views of London and it is a fun visit with some interesting history . I read the other reviews before from other travelers in regards to price which are true . You do have to pay separately for the planetarium show and entrance into the actual observatory. I only went with my girlfriend to the planetarium and we stood on the prime meridian. It was my last day in London so we didn’t spend that much time there . Also you will likely pass Cutty Sark
, the Maritime Museum , and Queen’s house on your walk up the hill to to the observatory. I do recommend this visit if you have time to spare on your trip. Be aware Greenwich is not close to central London and it takes a bit of time to get there .

Thank Fr0stByte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The highlight of our visit was the walk through Greenwich Park to get there to be honest! I think you’d need to have an established interest in this kind of thing to get anything from it really. The view back over Greenwich was lovely and worth the walk up.

Thank ClareNic77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While Greenwich is a must if it's your first time in London, don't bother entering the observatory. Unless you're an absolute geek and want to see some old instruments, for which you don't need a good explanation, there is no need. You have the same view in then just outside, you can see the meridian from the door. The planetarium is also disappointing and I used to have a subscription to a planetarium.

Thank Amel111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'll be honest, before I went, I didn't think the Observatory would be interesting compared with other potential tourist attractions. It ended up being well worth the trip and was so interesting. Being able to know my location (thanks to GPS) and tell time accurately are things I completely took for granted, but just a couple centuries ago, in order to calculate your speed on a ship effectively you needed to tell time accurately. Unfortunately the movement of the ship affected most pendulum systems of clocks. The Royal Observatory is where they tried to figure out how to accurately calculate time so speed could be calculated. It was just fascinating being in place where some incredibly brilliant minds worked to try to solve this complex problem that today we take for granted.

Thank kcwilliams2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews