We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
  
Recommended experiences in and around London
from $18.07
More Info
from $109.73
More Info
from $123.93
More Info
from $45.31
More Info
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
68
49
18
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
68
49
18
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews short life hampstead heath willow road english literature short film regency house national trust members romantic poets national art young age overground station lovely morning worth a visit interesting information on display gift shop is small museum
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A modest house with a truly romantic story - Keats shared half the house and wrote much of his poetry here and in the other half was his fiancee whom he never married because he died of consumption (he realised his fate in the bed room upstairs). The interior of the property - now one house - has many period features, momentos and displays and a pleasant garden. There is a small shop and toilets (rather smelly!) but no cafe. The welcome is friendly and the location in Hamstead well worth a stroll round. To get there is fairly easy - from Hamstead underground walk down the hill - on the bus don't get off by the station but a couple of stops down unless you want to take in the shops.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keats H, Manager at Keats House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank your David F for visiting Keats House and taking the time to leave a review of your visit. We're so glad you enjoyed your visit but apologies for the issue with the toilets, which are due to be refurbished very soon. We do not have a cafe at this small, unique Grade I listed building, but the great cafes and restaurants of Hampstead in general, and South End Green in particular, are a short walk away. We also welcome people who bring a picnic and enjoy the garden to its full when the weather is fine, regardless of whether they are visiting the House too (which we hope they do of course!).

Thanks again for supporting Keats House and taking the time to leave us feedback so that we can continually improve the experience of our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019 via mobile

Run by the City of London corporation this was a little gem.

Off the main road ( Keats Grove) a wonderful place of quiet and peace, with gardens all around. The Regency villa was a bonus. The volunteer delivered tour was helpful, informative and just right. Then you were able to walk at leisure through the house. I learnt Ode to a Nightingale at school but knew little of his life. This was lovely.

Note that they do different prices for different reasons....If you are a resident of the borough of Camden and city of London then admission is £2.00 - bargain!!! Students18 and under are free. National Trust members also pay less. This is all part of Keats200 programme of events.

A real treat.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Elizabeth11031959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019

John Keats was a famous romantic poet and naturally Keats House is a writer's house museum. This house was once occupied by Keats. Be sure to visit the Keats cafe.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank T0urist7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019

Unfortunately, the taxis running from Freud Museum, also in Hampstead, were not reliable. The front person at the Freud museum tried to be as helpful as possible but it ended that I only had 45 minutes. I was told by the curator that a particular letter that I was looking for no longer existed though a manuscript copy was at Harvard I think he said. That was the letter to his brother which referenced "negative capability". The curation of the small museum house was excellent and very well conveyed the idea of the poet's traumatic life which he overcame in order to reach his aesthetic contribution to humanity. Imagine having lost parents and then a brother and relying on the good will of others to get by but rising above it all in order to create his great art. Across town was the Van Gogh exhibit showing the same elevation over traumatic reality in order to create monumental works of art. These are truly meditative and inspiring spaces which can be accessed time and time again for further discovery. Interestingly, the shop keeper referenced his minute writing which took up the entire page of the papers he was using when he was practicing medicine. One can imagine how dear parchment or paper was then and how it needed to be used frugally. Compare how wasteful humans are 200 years later! Definitely worth a visit for the aesthetically inclined visitor.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank oopsydaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019

Having moved to the area recently Keats House has been on my list of places to visit and I'll definitely be coming back when friends and family come to visit. Really reasonable price for entry (discounted as I'm a National Trust member) and a lovely way to spend a few hours.

The objects on display were good but the real star is the wonderful house and garden - so atmospheric and a really calm, peaceful haven in London. I'd really recommend coming on a sunny day and making the most of the tranquil garden. Staff were also all very polite and helpful.

Date of experience: July 2019
1  Thank kookyrhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keats H, Manager at Keats House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Dear kookyrhi - thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Keats House, which we are delighted you enjoyed. It really is a special time to visit the House where Keats and Fanny Brawne lived 200 years ago and I am pleased to hear that you experienced that atmosphere during your visit.

Thanks again for visiting and leaving such a thoughful review and we hope to see you and your friends at Keats House again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews