We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Bathroom, Breakfast disappointing.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Leicester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leicester House
Ranked #76 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Bathroom, Breakfast disappointing.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel, just a couple of minutes from Ronnie Scotts, and right by Chinatown. Stylish hotel, staff friendly and helpful. Room simple but comfortable and very clean. Spacious bathroom, deep bath, good towels, and L'Occitane toiletries.

Our only disappointment was breakfast, even the very nice waiting staff shrugged their shoulders! If you are looking for something substantial or bread that is not sweet, or toast not a little crispy would suggest you eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not near the loud fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FudgeFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Sandro, thank you for taking the time to leave us such important feedback. We are delighted to hear that you found our hotel stylish, and our staff team offered excellent customer service. We will be passing these comments back to them during the next staff meeting. We are pleased that you liked our clean, spacious rooms with good quality towels. We do take any negative feedback very seriously. We have decided to start offering a breakfast buffet so everyone can eat as much or as little as they like. With regard to the menu itself, we will be holding a management meeting with the head chef to review this. We would love to have you stay with us again, and hopefully next time we can make it absolutely perfect for you. Darryol Sounders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    93
    34
    27
    9
See reviews for
14
147
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location and the promise of a bath.

The location is fantastic. A short walk away from pubs, restaurants and attractions. This of course also means that there is a lot of noise outside at night. The soundproofing of the hotel is not good. We slept on the second floor and could hear what people were saying on the street. So you can imagine how loud the honking of cars, screaming of party-people and unloading of lorry's was.

The hotelroom was weird. There was no bath. Other rooms have a bath. But we got a handicapped room with a shower. The showercurtain was too short, so the entire bathroom got flooded everytime we took a shower. And because of the ramp to make the bathroom wheelchair accessible, the water also flowed into the bedroom. So we had a soaked carpet. Which got pretty disgusting.

The breakfast is a rip-off. Don't fall for it! It will cost you 10 pounds (excl tax) and all you get is some hunks of stale bread, 4 slices of toast, ham, honey and coffee or tea. They can make you eggs if you want, but this will cost you extra. Go to one of the pubs om Leicester Square or to Muriel's for a cheaper and better breakfast.

(it seems to me more and more hotels use the term "continental breakfast" to get away with a pisspoor breakfast)

The bed was okay. Very hard, but comfortable. Other than the above remarks, the hotel was clean and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rleegwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thanks for taking the time so leave us such valuable feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location. A lot of our guests find us very conveniently situated after a night out at the theatre. We are sorry that you had problems with the outside noise in our hotel. Unfortunately, we are a listed building, so we are limited with regard to glazing. We apologise for the issue that you had with the shower curtain. The matter has been addressed, and we have ordered a longer curtain. Sometimes we have to admit that we get it wrong; and we did with this. Upon booking, we do suggest that guests specify the exact bathroom facilities they would like in order to avoid disappointment. We are sorry that the lack of a bath caused you disappointment. We are sorry that your breakfast did not live up to your standards. Our bread is freshly baked the day before. We will however be reviewing the portion sizes in the next management meeting, and we are taking your comments seriously. We are thrilled to hear that your bed was comfortable and that our staff was friendly. We shall be passing on your remarks at their next staff training session.
We do hope to see you again, when we can make everything absolutely perfect for you. Darryl Sounder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Good location in West End. The employees were very pleasent and helpful both in the reception and the restaurant. We loved the simple and very taste breakfast. The rooms were clean and the standard was good. Everything we needed was there.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bjørg Karin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us such good reveiw on TripAdvisor and to help our future guests find out what we are all about. We are delighted to hear that across the board, our team offered you amazing customer service, and we will be feeding this back to the team. Likewise, we are happy that you were extremely pleased with the cleanliness of your room. We hope to have the pleasure of you staying with us again sometime, when we can make it 'perfect' once more. Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hotel is located in the heart of London (Leicester Square). Bathroom was adorable even though room was small. Very clean, modern and renovated look but with a classy touch. trendy.

The breakfast with several choices a la carte (Granola, eggs, etc) was really nice.

Expensive to my taste but this is London and the location is worth the price. I would not stay there again just becuase I do not mind to save some pounds and stay further away from the center. But a good choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to leave us such valuable feedback. We are delighted that you were impressed with the cleanliness and the decor. We strive constantly to make every room look absolutely perfect so our guests feel relaxed and pampered - after all, no one wants to think about cleaning when they are away from home! We will be feeding back your comments to the chef, which I am sure he will be pleased to hear. He is always trying out new recipes to keep the menu fresh with top quality products. Regarding to your comment if staying a further away from the centre of London you may find it interesting to check our company flagship Twon Hall Hotel in Bethnal Green. www.townhallhotel.com
Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We found the hotel well equipped and desirably located.
Unfortunately we could not sleep due to a noisy fan.
However we did move rooms and have been given a complimentary stay another time to make up for our broken night which is all we could ask for really. Will definitely review again if we have a better experience next time.
The fan is not the fault of the hotel and I understand they are also of complaining about it. We expected street noise in London but the fan was beyond that as it was so close to the window. It did stop at 11.40pm but started again at 5am When we moved rooms at 5am to the other side of the building we slept well until the checkout time.
We enjoyed the cooked to order breakfast and the ambiance of the cocktail bar.
Naturally not a budget weekend break but competitive for such a central location.
We were not expecting to have to leave £100 deposit or to be asked for photo ID on arrival.
Not see what would happen if you didn't have either of these though.
The room was good , we liked the bath being in the bedroom. Overall the hotel itself was very good.

Room Tip: Our room 201 had the fan blowing directly outside the window so you may wish to avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandyF361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for sharin your feedback on TripAdvisor. I glad to hear that the rooms were to your likes and tha you enjoyed the breakfast and the ambients of the hotel cocktail bar. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in this occasion and I glad that you accpeted our gesture of goodwil, in this occasion. We look forward to your next visit at the hotel soon. Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Perfect room, perfect location , extremely friendly staff and wonderful home made breakfast. After searching through the myriad of hotels in London we were glad we picked this one. Thank you for making our trip to London special.

Room Tip: We were given an upgrade and loved our front room on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guests, many thanks for taking the time to leave us such lovely feedback. We are delighted that we made your stay in London so special, and your comments will be feedback to our hard working team during the next staff training session. We do hope to heave the pleasure of seeing you again in the future. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just returned home after staying 3 nights in this excellent small boutique hotel. It was everything it said it was in the descriptions. The location was fantastic - no need for transport everything was 'on the doorstep'. Every member of staff (reception, dining/kitchen, cleaners) were extremely kind, helpful and friendly). My husband and I holiday 4 times a year and I can honestly say we have never had 100% satisfaction from staff until staying here. Well done to all concerned and a HUGE thank you.

Room Tip: The room had an open planned bathroom (separate toilet) which was ok for my husband and I but it may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OpsMng, Front Office Manager at Leicester House, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guests, thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on how we perform. For those considering to book with us, nothing speaks truer than comments from previous guests. We are delighted that you found our descriptions of the rooms accurate and pleasing. We make every effort to make our guests feel special and that nothing is too much trouble, we are happy that our customer service impressed you. We don't stop until we get it absolutely perfect, and we hope to impress you again sometime. Many thanks and kind regards, Darryl Sounders
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#396 of 1,088 in London
1,909 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,088 in London
1,072 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#348 of 1,088 in London
1,589 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leicester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leicester House

Property: Leicester House
Address: 1 Leicester Street, London WC2H 7BL, England (Formerly One Leicester Street)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leicester House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leicester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leicester House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing