We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel close to Leicester Square” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leicester House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leicester House
Ranked #88 of 568 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel close to Leicester Square”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

St John is a small (15 rooms) hotel located 20 meters off Leicester Square. The rooms are clean and in very good condition, recently refurbished with a modern decoration reminding of a ship's cabin (funny green plastic floor). The service is good and includes free WiFi. The only main drawback is that being so close to Leicester Square it can be noisy at night. Overall very good value for that quality of hotel. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kwaku78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    89
    33
    26
    9
See reviews for
14
140
12
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a very small hotel with a small number of rooms. The rooms are very different to your 'usual' hotel.
I found the staff very pleasant and all the amenities were better than I expected. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary in the middle of Leicester square this is perfect for you.
The high point was the breakfast for me. Included in the price, this could have been just your normal breakfast, but it wasn't. The restaurant there has very good reviews, and I am sure that if I had stayed for dinner it would have been amazing. The breakfast was amazing, with some very different options, but everything was done to the highest quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinandanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I always have trouble finding somewhere to stay in London. It's all quite expensive, and most of the accommodation is tiny, dirty, old, musty or just tired. None of these adjectives could be used to describe this hotel, which is, without doubt, the best accommodation I have had in london.

I got a last-minute deal on their website fro GBP170 a night, and compared to other highly rated hotels on wotif.com and hotels.com, this place was excellent value for the time I was there.

The checkin was smooth, very professional and very warm. The gentleman at reception was wearing what looked like a chef's outfit, however he quickly reassured me that I was in the right place, and was very warm and welcoming.

The room I had was beautiful.
-Modern and contemporary design,
-Wonderful shower/bath with really high water pressure (very rare in the UK).
-Excellent high-speed wi-fi internet (you need to ask for a code)
-Impressive minibar (I've never seen a 400mL bottle of boutique vodka in a minibar before)
-Incredibly comfortable bed
-Easy to use TV with sharp images (something else often awry in hotels)
-Good climate control
-Plenty of space (rare in London)

The hotel is perfectly located half-way between Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square tube stations (both require bags to be carried about 10 steps on exit). The standard check-out time of 12.00pm was appreciated given that I had a late flight back to Australia that night and the sleep-in was really good.

I wish I had the chance to sample the bar or the restaurant, however I hope to do this on a future visit. This is a fine, modern and relaxing hotel. I hope it will become my base every time I stay in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aussieboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I've enjoyed the inspired cooking at St John's at some of their other London restaurants but was happy to stumble upon this place while wandering around the china town area. It was on the late side for lunch (a bit after 3pm) but we were welcomed warmly and were seated a couple of tables from a large group who were obviously enjoying a long and lazy lunch. Fergus Henderson himself was part of the group.

What can I say about the food? Inspired and creative dishes, with roots firmly in British traditional cooking, but elevated to such a high level... yet never becoming fussy and pretentious. Good, simple ideas executed with great skill.

I enjoyed deep fried sand eels with mayonnaise as a started, my wife tried the crispy pig skin - like the ultimate, light-textured, pork scratching, served with a celeriac salad. For mains my pork belly with beans was a delight - indulgent and deeply satisfying. Great desserts too.

You can be assured of fabulous food here, with efficient service and an overall atmosphere that's friendly rather than formal and stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We are regular London visitors but have never come across this hotel before - surprising in itself as we often end up in the end up in the Leicester Square/Soho area for dinner. The hotel and experience was a pleasant surprise and I am confident we will be back.

The decor is a little quirky and would not be out of place in a smart seaside resort like Salcombe. The green floors are definitely an acquired taste and would benefit from some carpet to reduce the resonance but we loved the clean lines and minimalist interior. The bed linen and towels were all of a good quality as were the bath products. We also loved the inclusion of the bath into the main bedroom. Our one negative comment was the absence of tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Admittedly they were all available on room service but there are some times when you would rather not bother with the extra intrusion. We disagree with previous comments about street noise being an issue. This might be the case in summer when the windows are possibly open (not that they need to be with the A/C), but we did not notice anything this time and we are both light sleepers!

We did not do the restaurant justice but it looked good and the menu was interesting. The staff were very helpful.

As far as location goes it could not be better for the likes of the West End theatres. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

St. John hotel is fun, great creativity, modern, funky, clean rooms. Staff are friendly. The location is amazing, Leicester square is just around the corner. The floors are wooden, so it's a bit loud when people in the room above you are moving around early in the morning.
Restaurant has interesting dishes and good wine selection.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maruschkaSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed in July for one night as a business stop over. Just 1 minute from Leicester Square and Chinatown - but the great location is a big issue. The room was a very good size, great amenities, all painted white, thick fluffy towels and robes, large and very comfortable bed. However, even with double glazing, the street noise was continuous throughout the night and into the early morning. Sleep was a real problem. So despite the friendly staff and the impressive room for central London I would not return - even with ear plugs - just too noisy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#382 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#86 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
The Z Hotel Soho
#342 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leicester House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leicester House

Property: Leicester House
Address: 1 Leicester Street, London WC2H 7BL, England (Formerly One Leicester Street)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leicester House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Leicester House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leicester House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing