We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat Paradise!”
Review of El Vaquero

El Vaquero
Ranked #1,780 of 22,827 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Argentinean, Barbecue, Brazilian, South American
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Meat Paradise!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I went there because a friend of mine told me about the place some time ago and I have to say... There is no regrets! The meat was great, specially the sirloin steak and the chicken marinated with mustard (those were my favorites), . The staff were very friendly and the location is nice and modern. I'll go back for sure even when you need to book in advance 'cause I had to wait a few weeks before getting it! It is a good place to share with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jsquiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    79
    25
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Really simple but different concept”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a midweek night with friends 2 weeks ago to try it out as we had heard about it from another friend. We had a lovely evening, we all really enjoyed the lovely selections of freshly prepared homemade salads and different choices of meats served by waiters on skewers.The previous reviewer has told excactly how it is but also to say that I really enjoyed all the tastes of different meats and the Teriyaki chicken and other succulent marinated chicken were wonderful.I am not a keen red meat eater but did try a little of everything they offered and all very tasty and good quality meats. Extremely helpful and friendly staff but not in your face and we booked again for Sat 25th and took our family of 3 grandchildren and 6 adults along and again they all really enjoyed the concept. The chips are replenished and garlic bread whenever you want some more just ask. but they do ask you as well which is good and clear away any dirty plates with clean ones.
We were stuffed so could not manage dessert this time, we had the BBQ pineapple which was divine, but would really recommend this restaurant for a different night out. There is a car park behind the N20 building which leads to another bar at the back there but you can park there, other than that it is on the road outside. Do pre-book as it is very busy and you may not get in if you turn up. Thank you to El Vaquero and we will be returning in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladygemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

This was a staff night out, we are a happy go lucky group,all of cheerful dispositions but our patience was tried!!! Not very happy,informative or cheerful front of house to take us to our seats. Waiters helpful and friendly. Food took ages to get, only showed up with each item once (I left hungry and headed straight for McDonald's!!) apart from the chicken hearts which repeatedly arrived.......took aggggggggeeeeeeessssssss for waiting staff to clear the table and even longer for someone to take dessert and coffee orders, my latte arrived lukewarm.....by the time we had caught someone's attention to get this replaced we were impolitely being told we had to leave which was not the best when they took so very long to wait on our table, we left feeling extremely disappointed as the one in Mill Hill is awesome.......oh yes and we also left hungry........

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Naomi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good concept but shabby delivery and quality”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went here with 4 friends, all of whom are big eaters. As soon as diet coke was served in the can, expectations were diminished and El Vaquero lived down to them!
The waiters were attentive, in fact too much so, even when we pressed the red light to have a breather between meat courses. It all feels very rushed and a little like a poor mans Harvester... I never ever thought I would be saying that

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulh616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayshott, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This restaurant is easy to find and there are plenty of places to park. The staff are friendly until they've decided that you need to make way for incoming customers. We had an early table as we were meeting friends with a young family and within 100 minutes we had been encouraged to leave as the restaurant filled up.

A bowl of chips is put on the table as soon as you arrive and the first course is a buffet with salad items and a few hot dishes, including a somewhat lame feijoada-alike. I guess that these are fillers, to reduce the amount of meat they're expected to serve.

The Rodizio comprised tough beef variants, a variety of sausages and bits of chicken and turkey; plenty of which was chewy and lacking in flavour. The waiters come incessantly at first; continually offering miniscule portions of this or that and their constant badgering makes conversation difficult and the atmosphere uncomfortable After 30-40 minutes, they slowed significantly and then stopped coming altogether, despite no-one having pressed the red button - which signifies that everyone's full.

It became very clear that the staff wanted our party to leave as our table had seemingly been booked for another group.

Having eaten in churrascarias in Brazil and Argentina, there doesn't seem to be much that's authentic here - not in the quality of the food or in the nature of the restaurant. As for the 'all you can eat' tag; well you're given a pretty restricted period in which you're welcome to eat there or even sit at El Vaquero's tables. I won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patpezloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vaquero also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to El Vaquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing