We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Basic, but good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel London West

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel London West
Ranked #403 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Basic, but good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

First off I will admit I am a little spoilt as I normally stay in the Sofitel St James when I visit London, but as this hotel was significantly closer to our meeting location, meaning a walk was preferable to cross city travel at rush hour, it made far more sense to stay here. The Novotel chain is part of the same group of hotels as the Sofitel so I still got the points, but it is definitely lacking and you can see why the Sofitel is a 5 star establishment.

The location of the hotel is very convenient for the Hammersmith tube station which in itself is an easy journey to Heathrow, which is always a bonus and saved a considerable amount of money. However, when we arrived we were greeted with rather awful service at reception, a big queue of people going nowhere fast and only one overworked member of staff dealing with it all. I do have a gold card with Accor hotels and this meant I did manage to get a couple of other members of staff out to help and I was dealt with rather quickly. I was also upgraded to a Business room, not sure what the difference was, but I think there may have been wi fi and I also got a robe and teac/coffee making facilities... whoooo...

Beds were comfortable and rooms are very clean if basic, the bathroom reminded me a little of those in the Travel Lodge, which isn´t saying much. The hotel appears to get a lot of trade from large tourist coach groups and consequently breakfast and checkout was manic. There was a huge queue for breakfast and again for checkout. Breakfast was fine, with plenty of choice but far too busy.

The hotel does have an excellent gym though that was well equipped with plenty of room, and big windows looking out at the city which made a nice change from the usual windowless gyms you get in most London hotels

I would stay here again if I had business in the area, as for a London hotel it is not overly expensive, and although its not that central it is London and getting around is relatively easy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_seeking_ginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    760
    1,487
    646
    228
    124
See reviews for
998
759
235
818
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband had a meeting at BSI so we stayed here again - he for a week and me for four nights. The location to the tube and bus station are very good. This was our second visit to the hotel and it had undergone renovations since our last stay.
The breakfasts are good but the selection was smaller than I remember, however the choice are resonable. One can always go back several times if you are really hungry!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentishmaid67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardHobson, Director of Sales at Novotel London West, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Further to the review you placed on TripAdvisor, I wanted to thank you for the feedback therein.

We've worked very hard on the product and our service delivery over the last four years and I'm delighted to see from your review that that work now seems to be paying off in the form of happy guests; our raison d'etre.

Thanks again for your feedback, it's very easy to critisise so we're all delighted to hear such positive comments as yours - very many thanks.

Kind regards,
E HOBSON

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromsø, Troms, Norway
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is located a short 5 minutes walk from Hammersmith tube station where you can get directly to/from Heathrow Airport with the Piccadilly Line. Also in walking distance is the cheap and popular Primark Hammersmith store and several bars and smaller restaurants.

Check in/out could have been more efficient - had to wait for about 10 minutes at check in.

The restaurant serves a delicious buffet both at breakfast and dinner.

The rooms are clean and of good quality, with a comfortable bed, a desk and a sofa. You can connect your phone/MP3-device to the sound system in the room and get music in both the sleeping room and the bathroom. Very cool!

Novotel Lodnon West is absolutely a recommendable hotel in the western part of London!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigurd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardHobson, Director of Sales at Novotel London West, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Further to the review you placed on TripAdvisor, I wanted to thank you for the feedback therein.

We've worked very hard on the product and our service delivery over the last four years and I'm delighted to see from your review that that work now seems to be paying off in the form of happy guests; our raison d'etre.

Thanks again for your feedback, it's very easy to critisise so we're all delighted to hear such positive comments as yours - very many thanks.

Kind regards,
E HOBSON

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is excellent if a bit pricey and in a convenient location for the West End of London. Reception service is a bit disappointing however. I was in a hurry to check out, there were two people on reception who were both engaged in checking in a large group while a queue of other guests were waiting to check out or have other queries taken care of. We were being ignored by both of the staff checking in the group. Eventually some more reception staff arrived to process us but we had to wait 10-15 minutes for it to happen. As I say, disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwardHobson, Director of Sales at Novotel London West, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Further to the review you placed on TripAdvisor, I wanted to thank you for the feedback therein.

We've worked very hard on the product and our service delivery over the last four years and I'm delighted to see from your review that that work now seems to be paying off in the form of happy guests; our raison d'etre.

Thanks again for your feedback, it's very easy to critisise so we're all delighted to hear such positive comments as yours - very many thanks.

Kind regards,
E HOBSON

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights, underwhelmed by executive room. Good location near Hammersmith Tube Station and plenty of shopping/restaurants nearby. Free will-firm in lobby but not in rooms - bad luck if you cannot connect to wired internet! I had free access but could not use on my galaxy. Reception advised could use internet via television but next to useless.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I wish I could have an option of "good". Because it was "good". But I don't really have the heart to put average.

Basically I was here on business for two days and everything seemed to be managed well. The staff were efficiant and a credit to the hotel.

The cleanliness I felt could have been a lot better. There were marks on the bathroom services and the window ledge had a few cobwebs. The room in general didn't make me want to stay any extra nights.

The staff and breakfast bring the rating up to 4 stars as it was bearable and some perks like the food and general running of the place, even though it was EXTREMELY busy, were nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank the1techi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hammersmith / Fulham
Holiday Inn Express London - Hammersmith
Hammersmith / Fulham
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
St Paul's Hotel
#53 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Premier Inn London Hammersmith Hotel
Hammersmith / Fulham
Adria Hotel
Adria Hotel
#254 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Hilton London Olympia
#630 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel London West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel London West

Property: Novotel London West
Address: 1 Shortlands | Hammersmith International Centre, London W6 8DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs , Hammersmith / Fulham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#279 Luxury Hotel in London
#303 Family Hotel in London
#349 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel London West 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located for easy access to all of London’s key business districts as well as historical, cultural and social attractions, Novotel London West is also conveniently close to Heathrow airport and has excellent road and rail links to the rest of the United Kingdom. This large, modern hotel offers guests a selection of different dining options as well as an extensive fitness centre, secure on-site parking, business services and meetings and events facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Novotel London West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel London West Hotel London
Accor London West
London Novotel
Novotel London West England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing