We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thistle Euston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thistle Euston
Ranked #262 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, and booked both of the nights using the hoteltonight app so we got it for a great price. When we checked in the lady who dealt with us was in training and with one or two minor hiccups which we did not mind, she showed us to our room. The bed was massive! lovely room. All staff were lovely, the concierge on the second night was also 'in training' and was great. The barmaid on the second night was not too nice though, she was impatient and snappy and seemed keen to get us out of there when we wanted to have a quiet relaxing drink.
Breakfast selection was great and tasted great too, definitely recommend it though its a bit pricey.
There was some kind of noise periodically outside our room which was a little annoying and noisy people in the room beside us.
Location couldn't have been better, literally across the road from Euston tube and rail station (we got a sailrail back to dublin at 8am so this suited us great).
Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    1,220
    357
    84
    40
See reviews for
415
1,066
139
742
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My mum and I stayed here during late January as the hotel was having a winter promotion then. As a comparison, I paid the same rate for this 4-star hotel as I did for a 3-star B&B nearby. Service wise, Thistle was much better in comparison. The concierge was the most helpful staff I've encountered throughout all of my hotel stays. He helped me book my Tower of London visit and printed out the tickets for me and helped safekeep the SIM card my cousin sent them, a week before I arrived. When we checked out on our final day, the concierge even walked us to Euston Station, 5 minutes down the street with our luggage, IN THE RAIN! Excellent service indeed! On our first night, we had a blown fuse in our room and within a minute after my call to the reception, the receptionist identified that the problem probably lied with the hair dryer, took it and replaced it with a new one the very next day!

The room and bathroom were extremely clean (think they just refurbished) and the spacious shower area as well as the hot water with fairly strong water pressure were exactly what we needed after our 8-hour sightseeing walk each day. The location is fantastic, just a short 5-minute walk to Euston Station (undergrounds as well as national rail) and another extra 2 minutes to Euston Square Station which brings you just about anywhere too. At that price, we'd definitely say it was a truly value for money stay at the Thistle Euston Hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 436, the highest floor of the hotel with a view of St James Gardens. When there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lingsue84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at the Thistle in Euston with my son for a trip to London on the 29th December.
Great hotel, nice room , lovely reception staff , nice bar and price we felt was value for money at £100 ish per night.

Would stay there again for football trip. !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justperfect10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Spend the night at this hotel whilst on the way to Cambridge. My wife booked this Hotel as my birthday treat. Hotel is very clean, comfortable but we had a very small room. It was really cosy atmosphere but it was a little expensive (about £100 for the night).
Hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. They permitted a late checkout and they took care of our luggage for the rest of our day. Hotel is at a very good location

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smuh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a Virgin Trains theatre weekend, and spent 2nights at this hotel. We found the staff helpful and attentive, the rooms were very clean with discreet but thorough house keeping. Everything worked, and the room was very comfortable. Breakfast selection to suit all tastes with a more than adequate choice. This is my 2nd stay here, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good convenient London location close to all facilities.

Room Tip: Any on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Thistle Euston is a wonderful little hotel at the corner of Cardington street, about a 4 minute walk away from Euston Station and an 8 minute walk away from Euston Square Station, both of which are only a few stops from the main attractions in the city. It's not pretty or charming in the rustic way that many small hotels in London are, and it isn't particularly luxurious either, but unless you're on a 5-star-type holiday wanting to spend half the day in your hotel room The Thistle Euston is perfect for a holiday in London.

Rooms are very well equipped, with a nice bathtub and big, comfortable beds as well as an expansive coffee and tea making set, complete with hot chocolate and little butter cookies. We booked a Standard Family Room, which was small (without giving you that horrible claustrophobic feeling) considering it is meant to sleep three, but perfectly fine since we weren't really intending to pace around in the room all day. Many of the rooms face a lovely park, which I definitely recommend asking for especially if you're holidaying in the winter, because you get to wake up to a beautiful view of snow-covered trees and a white blanket of snow on the ground. View aside, the heaters are easy to use, and housekeeping is more "attentive, thoughtful organising" than "moving and touching your things unnecessarily".

Overall, the Thistle Euston is a great place to stay in if you're a tourist in London hoping to avoid the gimmicks and tourist traps and focus more on the city itself.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellefiftytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
264 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife does a course that takes her to London once a month. The course is in Camden and our first stay was at the Bloomsbury Park hotel of the Thistle chain. That was fine, but this time this hotel was cheaper, so we went here. This also cut a 15 minute walk of her walk to the course. She was afraid of noise from the station, but the long and short is: It was dead quiet.
Our room was a twin, bigger then the one in the Bloomsbury Park. As it is near the station, there are loads of food outlets. Also, in the weekend parking is free in front of the hotel, so this is going to be our base and when we come only for the Saturday night, I can come by car and park for free. As I enjoy the museums, this is near the Welcome Gallery, British Museum and British Library. If you join their loyalty scheme you get some quite good goodies thrown in. Check it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#638 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Euston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Euston

Property: Thistle Euston
Address: Cardington Street, London NW1 2LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Business Hotel in London
#142 Family Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#195 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Euston 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic hotel for business travellers and people on the move. Whether you're in London for business or pleasure, Thistle Euston is one of the few hotels near Euston Station making it the ideal hotel for overnight or longer stays. At Thistle Euston, we have 362 newly refurbished bedrooms, including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms, and 10 meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style. Business guests now also benefit from a new meet-and-greet point, a break-out area featuring high tables with laptop sockets and Costa coffee at a touch of a button. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thistle Euston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Euston London, England
Thistle Euston Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing