We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great central London hotel”
Review of Thistle Euston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Euston
Ranked #281 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great central London hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here in 18 – 19 August 2012, hotel is literally 5 minutes walk from Euston train station. Check in was excellent and even though I had arrived at 9.45am on a Saturday morning, (expecting to just drop off luggage) the room was ready and I was given access to it. This was the hottest weekend in London during summer, with temperatures in excess of 90c; the air conditioning in the room was a bonus and worked superbly well.

Rooms are not the biggest however there’re clean; décor is very good and for the price represents great value. Although I didn’t dine in the hotel, I had breakfast which was very good and service at the bar in the evening was great.

Another benefit to this hotel is it’s location to the famous Camden Market which is only 15 – 20 minutes walk away or 1 tube stop.

Really enjoyed my stay and will return

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    1,248
    365
    91
    42
See reviews for
419
1,082
139
766
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (682)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed at the Ibis Ambassador Myeong-dong Hotel for 7 nights in September 2012. I chose this hotel primarily due to it's fantastic position - it is literally in the centre of the shopping district of Myeong-dong in Seoul. There are lots of shops, department stores, restaurants, cafes and eateries all around the hotel, or within easy walking distance. Catch the Airport Limousine bus 6015 from Incheon Airport, which stops at the front of the hotel and only costs 10,000 Won. The hotel has a free shuttle service every day at 9am, 10am and 2pm, which will take you to various attractions around Seoul. Make sure you book early and be there early, as they only carry about 9 people. The room I had was pretty average; but it was clean and had a little fridge, flat-screen tv, mobile phone and tea & coffee facilities. However, the position of the hotel and the wonderful staff more than made up for any shortcomings. I cannot praise the staff highly enough. Most of them spoke reasonably good English, with a few staff members being fluent in English. However, all of them were extremely helpful, friendly and ready to assist in any way they could. It was a pleasure to see their friendly smiles each morning on the way to breakfast! The breakfast itself is well worth paying the 17,600 Won, and has both hot & cold food with plenty of choices to please everyone. I will definitely stay at the Ibis Ambassador Myeong-dong Hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room. Speak slowly and clearly to the staff - they will do their best to unde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindy-Lou-Australia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Booked this hotel due to its closeness to Euston Station. From this point of view it was an excellent choice. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and found this to be excellent on both occasions. The staff at dinner were exceptional. On the downside the bedroom was too small, probably the worst one I have come across in London. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately, the noise from other guests during the night was pretty bad, conversation seemed to be coming through the ducting system and kept us awake for quite a number of hours.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyNessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed here for one night to visit The Magic Circle (which was amazing!!!). The hotel is situted in a great location, just a short walk from Kings Cross. Check-in/check-out was very quick and easy, and the staff were polite and efficent. The room was small but has everything you would expect from a 4* hotel and was exceptionally clean. Breakfast was also good with plenty to choose from. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenM174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Not overly impressed with this hotel we were supposed to be in deluxe rooms, they were small cold and there was a cold breeze through the broken framed window all night. My friends room had broken tiles in the bathroom and it was mouldy. Also had a generator going all night outside the room which we couldn't shut out as the window would not close properly! I did complain and they said they would upgrade next time we stayed to executive suites from the standard (which confirmed to us we were not in the Deluxe as promised) but there will NOT be a next time! breakfast was pretty good plenty to eat buffet style and a good selection. Not as central as we wanted in London but easy enough to get to!

Room Tip: I would rather have stayed in a premier inn to be fare! better value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a great place to stay! We stayed 5 nights and cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Everyone from the reception staff to the concierge to the bar staff were friendly professional and went above and beyond to help with any needs. The restaraunt food and staff were great, again went above and beyond to make sure our needs were met! Rooms were clean and well appointed. The location is central to anywhere you want to get on the tube! The neighborhood has loads of lovely places for coffee, meals, full or snacky! There is a very nice little park that our room overlooked and the view was a wonderful added extra bonus! The Bed and linens were comfortable and made for a great nights sleep! What a great gem of a find!

Room Tip: Ask for a park view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdroc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The hotel is good - please don't the following put you off. My room was very clean and modern, if not directly next to the lift shaft (one has to be!). It was comfortable, well proportioned and had a large window that let in lots of light - all good! The shower was good, and the express check in and out very functional. The locale is very inner London, but that's what you want if your on business.

The restaurant is very slow. So slow that I had to leave and ask my food to be taken up to my room. I sat fir 45 minutes, ordered, sat for 45 minutes - no drink, no bread, no acknowledgement by the staff. A German table to my right just had enough of waiting and got up and left! I asked my food to come to my room, and it did, 30 minutes later. Oh, and 20 GBP for a burger and water. The performance was repeated the next morning with breakfast, but to a lesser extent.

There are plenty of good restaurants nearby, so don't eat in the hotel, just stay there, its good.

Room Tip: Make sure its not next to a lift. Book dinner nearby in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_Ben_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London Euston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#116 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hilton London Euston
Hilton London Euston
#632 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Euston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Euston

Property: Thistle Euston
Address: Cardington Street, London NW1 2LP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#127 Business Hotel in London
#142 Family Hotel in London
#184 Romantic Hotel in London
#207 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Euston 4*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A fantastic hotel for business travellers and people on the move. Whether you're in London for business or pleasure, Thistle Euston is one of the few hotels near Euston Station making it the ideal hotel for overnight or longer stays. At Thistle Euston, we have 362 newly refurbished bedrooms, including Standard, Deluxe and Executive rooms, and 10 meeting rooms, the largest seating 100 people theatre-style. Business guests now also benefit from a new meet-and-greet point, a break-out area featuring high tables with laptop sockets and Costa coffee at a touch of a button. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Euston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Euston London, England
Thistle Euston Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing