We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remains great - loved the Room, Breakfast, Location & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #230 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Remains great - loved the Room, Breakfast, Location & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here again at Easter 2014 - 17th to 21st April. Had a Grand Room (Room 650) this time....well worth the extra pounds....beautiful, spacious, well appointed room, good bathroom - with a very comfortable bed - important. Perfect ! I love the breakfast at this hotel...and that it is included in the room price..... A real genuine buffet English breakfast - how I like to start the day in London ! - even with black pudding and English bangers ! Location is very convenient - we mainly use the busses (and walk....) in London - Direct buss to Piccadilly Circus area from accross the road. Very firendly & efficient check-in and check out....we arrived very early from Norway and they let us check in and use the room immediatly (was about 11am in the morning) - thank you...appreciated this. Recommend the hotel to all types of guest...young, old, couples, families - enjoy your stay ! Thank you The Rembrandt for helping us have a great holiday in London...

Room Tip: Grand room.....very spacious, great bed..and bathroom. Sofa and desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwayTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear NorwayTraveller55

Thank you for reviewing The Rembrandt following your recent Easter break. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that it was worth paying a little extra for a Grand Room. This is our highest room classification, they offer the largest area/space, all have King Size doubles and the amenities are of the highest quality. Breakfast is included in all of our rates and I am thrilled that you enjoyed the wide buffet selection and found it the perfect way to start your day in London!. We are extremely lucky to be in such a convenient location that offers museums and world famous shopping on our doorstep as well as fantastic transportation links to the rest of the capital. Thank you for your positive feedback, I am pleased that you would recommend us and feel that we provide a great base for anyone wishing to visit London – young, old, couples or families. I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    1,086
    243
    99
    62
See reviews for
504
1,179
129
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (513)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sunshine coast
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Rembrandt. Charming period building with handy location to museum, shopping and tube station. Breakfast buffet was very extensive. Our room was modern and very comfortable bedding. The bar provided a lovely ambience for a relaxing drink and snacks. Would highly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silvergull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear silvergull

Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt following your stay in September. How lovely that you describe the Rembrandt as a “Masterpiece”. We believe that we have everything on our doorstep world famous museums and shopping, The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park as well as an abundance of restaurants and cafes. We also benefit from great transportation links to the rest of the capital and our guests can choose either South Kensington or Knightsbridge underground stations, both are within 5 minutes walking distance, or use the 24hr bus route into the West End. I am delighted that we provided modern, clean comfortable accommodation in a charming period building, with a relaxing and friendly ambiance. I do hope that you would consider retuning on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for five nights at the Rembrandt in April. We had a grand room which was huge. The bathroom was bigger than some hotel rooms we had stayed in in London. Great staff, great food ,a lovely bar all within walking distance of Harrods, across the road from the V&A etc and with tube and bus stops located very close by. What better place to stay, loved every minute.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ammiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear ammiej

Thank you for your positive review of The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am over the moon that you enjoyed one of our Grand Rooms, they are our largest bedroom category and we believe offer luxury and comfort, at an affordable rate. As we are not a purpose built hotel all of our rooms do vary in size and shape and I am thrilled that you loved the huge bedroom and bathroom. Like you, we love our location opposite the V&A close to the Natural History and Science Museum as well as world famous shopping in Sloane Street, Harrods and Harvey Nichols. I am delighted that you enjoyed every minute of your stay and I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed in the hotel with a 5 years old child, stayed in the Grand room, which was not a huge but enough, with enough place in closet, large bathroom, quiet air conditioning. Very clean. The service was great for everything we needed. Breakfast was very nice, full English, only missing were fresh vegetables. Also the child had everything he wanted. We ate lunch one day in the hotel's bar, very good food as well.
The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to museums and very close to underground, 10 mins by foot from Harrods, 15 mins from HydePark.
Although not cheap, we will probably stay there next time in London.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Lena L

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am over the moon that you described us as” a perfect hotel in a perfect location”. Apart from the Brompton Suite, our Grand rooms are our highest bedroom classification so they offer the largest area, all have King Size Double beds and all have large bathrooms, with new, quiet air-conditioning. I am thrilled that the hotel was very clean and that the service provided throughout was great. I am delighted that you enjoyed various meals at the hotel and that your five year old had everything he wanted! Like you we love our location close to the museums, shopping, Hyde Park as well as being within walking distance of an abundance or restaurants and cafes plus two underground stations. We really do think we offer everything on our doorstep. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at the Rembrandt on a Saturday night. Although check in wasn't until after 2pm, we had got the early train into London and after a walk round Covent Garden went to the hotel to see if we could leave our bags till later. The reception staff were lovely, a room was already available so we checked in there and then.
The room was huge, comfy sofa (sofa bed), and a massive super king bed. The bathroom was very compact and although the door could do with replacing, was very clean.
The hotel is opposite the V&A museum steps, the Science museum and Natural History museum are round the corner - you are slap bang in the middle of Kensington. The road is busy, but didn't hear the traffic from the room. Stood outside at night you can see the lights of Harrods which is a 5 minute walk down the road. South Kensington tube station is a 5/10 minute walk.
The bar was lovely, cocktails were expensive, but a pint of larger/beer was very reasonable.
We slept really well, and I never sleep well in a hotel. The breakfast was lovely, everything you could ask for.
The staff were very pleasant and very helpful.
Cant recommend this hotel enough, would definitely stay here again for our next trip to the big city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel if you are concerned about traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dublinshopper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Dublinshopper123

Thank you for your descriptive and extremely positive review of The Rembrandt. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in the “big city” and awarded us your top score. Our Front Office team always endeavour to try and accommodate guests who arrive early. Over busy periods it is not always possible to have bedrooms ready before 2.00pm, however we will always take your luggage and store it, so that you are free to explore our fantastic capital. Like you we love our location we really do believe that we have everything on our doorstep. Our guests can easily walk to three world famous museums, The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace as well as enjoying fabulous shopping at Harrods, Harvey Nichols and Sloane Street. We also have great transportation links to the rest of the capital, as we are in between South Kensington and Knightsbridge underground stations and are opposite a 24hr bus route into the West End. I am thrilled that all aspects of your stay met or exceeded your expectations and that you would definite stay with us again, I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back later in the year.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

We booked 4 nights at this hotel through venere.com. It's very close to V&A Museum and hop on hop off bus stops right in front of hotel.

The staff was the best part of the hotel as we were warmly greeted by everyone from concierge to cleaning staff. We had all our questions answered.

The breakfast was great and they were all doing their diligence in making sure that the tables were wiped and cutleries were placed.

If anyone wants to travel to London, I will not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are smaller like many other European rooms and the faucets and sinks may look old but they do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halikorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Halikorean

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt . I am delighted that you described our staff as best part of your stay, thank you for your delightful feedback, I will ensure you comments are circulated to all of the team. I am pleased that our location opposite the V&A and sightseeing bus stop, helped you navigate and explore the capital via the Hop On Hop Off tour. Personal recommendations from our guests are always the best and I am thrilled that you would have no hesitation is recommending us. I do hope that we will now be your London hotel of choice and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to London.

Kind regards
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Opposite the V&A museum, close to the Natural History museum, Harrods and The Royal Albert Hall. Not to mention Hyde Park! The staff are very friendly, the rooms clean and modern and the food well priced. A really good London hotel. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All seemed good to me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryHappyHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear VeryHappyHammer

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rembrandt and for awarding us your top score. I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay especially our fabulous location, which was perfect for you to explore London. We are extremely lucky to be close to world famous museums and shopping whilst also being within walking distance of The Royal Albert Hall, Hyde Park and Buckingham Palace. I am pleased that we provided modern, clean accommodation with friendly and helpful service. I am thrilled that you would highly recommend us and I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip.

Kind regard

Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#43 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#160 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#35 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#173 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#129 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#174 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing