We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy to Museums and the Tube” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #228 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Handy to Museums and the Tube”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Rembrandt was near the Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Natural History Museum. The staff was great and really helpful. The buffet style breakfast was exceptional. The hotel is near the South Kensington tube station providing access to all of London. We arranged the flight and hotel through British Airways getting a big discount on the hotel for four days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoundRockBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear RoundRockBob,

Thank you for your extremely positive review following your stay with us in April.

I am delighted to note that you found our location ideal as we are close to the museums, including the Victoria & Albert, the Natural History and the Science Museum.
We are nestled between two Underground stations, South Kensington and Knightsbridge, which is fantastic for exploring everything that London has to offer!

Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and it is also our busiest, so I am pleased that you found it to be exceptional. It is reassuring to note that as experienced travellers you found that we also offered good value for money.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you both back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    1,076
    238
    98
    62
See reviews for
499
1,159
126
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Rembrandt's location can't be beat: just down the road from Harrods, across the street from the Victoria & Albert Museum.

The rooms have recently been updated and are fine, but uninspired in design.

Full English buffet breakfast, included, was fine, but not outstanding.

One major annoyance from the elevators: one of the hotel's two passenger elevators was broken for about four days during my stay. Fortunately the hotel also has a small service elevator that one could use.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Micahel047,

Thank you for your review following your recent stay.

Belatedly, I can only apologise that one of our guest lifts was not fully functioning. This fault was beyond our control and whilst every effort was made to have our lift contractors rectify this fault quickly, parts had to be ordered and the work scheduled, hence the delay. Whilst it is not ideal, our Concierge lift can be used by guests if we are experiencing technical problems. All lifts are currently fully functioning.

We pride ourselves on being individual hotels and unlike large chain hotels we do have flexibility so we do not have to adhere to generic standards, therefore it is disappointing to note that you feel we are ordinary. We strive to offer personal, friendly service with products tailored to suit all of our guests preferences.

Like yourself, we believe we are in the perfect London location, with many major attractions close at hand. I do hope you would consider using us again and allow us to demonstrate our individuality.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked this hotel directly, and so were able to find out that the hotel had different kinds of rooms at different rates. At the time we were there in 2012, they had renovated executive rooms and we booked two of these for our family of four. The quality of the rooms and furnishings was superb. We regretted only staying two nights and next time will stay longer. It was walking distance to the tube, and importantly there an inexpensive laundry service in easy walking distance which saved us a small fortune. We will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Charles R,

Thank you for your positive review and perfect score.

As The Rembrandt is not a purpose built hotel we do offer various bedroom categories and rates increase accordingly. We also offer a price promise on our website. Our most competitive rates will always be displayed directly and we also advertise special promotions and discounts in accordance with our T&C’s.

Within easy walking distance of the hotel we believe that there is everything a corporate and leisure traveller requires; restaurants, banks, pharmacy, launderette, tourist information along with the major museums and of course Harrods, the world best department store.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to The Rembrandt for more than two days on your next visit!

Warm regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We chose this hotel as part of a package with British Airways. We liked it. Our room was modern, clean and larger than we anticipated with twin beds and a sitting area. Bathroom was large enough and modern. Beds were comfy apart from the heavy duvet cover which was too hot for me. This is a problem with many British hotels. The staff helped me sort out a minor problem. A warning to those arriving by car: drop the bags and leave immediately otherwise a cop will jump on you for parking in a loading zone. I just managed to talk my way out of ticket. The included breakfast was full English and very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Texhills,

Thank you for your constrictive feedback.

I am pleased that you found your bedroom and bathroom to be larger than expected and that both were clean and comfortable. All of our beds now have duvets, as this is our guest preference. We also offer throws as some guests wish to have these for additional warmth. If you were too hot we would have happily supplied an additional fan and offered to change your duvet to a sheet and blanket, if you preferred.

I am sorry that your arrival at the hotel was not incident free; there is a dedicated 20 minute drop off point just to the left of the hotel for our guests use. This bay allows guests to load and off load their luggage in comfort. Our Concierge team are available 24hrs to assist guests with all aspects of their stay, be it assistance with luggage, making reservations or booking transfers and tours, our team are here to help.

Overall, I believe your experience was very positive and I hope you will return on your next trip.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be any better. Close to food, shopping, museums, sites and transportation.

The staff is helpful and courteous and the hotel is well maintained. I felt the cost was higher than reasonable, but other than that, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmaleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Dmaleson,

Thank you for your descriptive review.
I am delighted that you found our location between South Kensington and Knightsbridge to be perfect as we do have everything on our doorstep, museums, great transportation links, sightseeing opportunities and varied and vibrant restaurants and bars.

Most hotels operate like an airline and rates vary due to supply and demand, invariably our lowest rates will be offered in advance and if a particular room type sells out then the rate will increase to the next, higher bedroom category. Booking in advance and choosing your preferred room type and rate from our website will offer the greatest flexibility and best discount.

I am pleased that our staff were helpful and courteous and that you felt we were are a well maintained and well presented property.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope we can provide better value for money on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herlev, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

My girlfriend and i where on this trip only the two of us.
The hotel was really nice, and had a really good location.
only 10 minutes walk to Harrods.

Close to both South Kensington station and Knightsbridge. So it was really easy for us to go around in london.

We came to the hotel and went to our room, but the bed was to small.
So we upgraded the room from a executive to a club room. And then hotel took responsibility of moving our bags from the first room to our upgrade room.

The only negative thing to say is that our Aircondition did not work, and we notified the hotel after the first night, but it did not get fixed while we stayed there.

Room Tip: If you are taking a boy/girlfriend trip like we did, then order a Club room, it is larger but more L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Rasmus M,

Thank you for your positive and practical review of The Rembrandt.

I am sorry that you found the bed in your original room small. This would have been a standard queen size double. We do offer guests the alternative of a king size double which I have noted you accepted and upgraded to. It is our standard procedure to offer guests assistance to their bedrooms and with any subsequent room moves.

Any maintenance issues reported by guests should be dealt with immediately by our in-house team, so I am disappointed to note that we did failed to repair your air conditioning. Belatedly, please accept my apologies.

Overall, I believe that you and your girlfriend enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, IL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights when visiting London in the summer. The hotel is in a nice area with many different restaurant options within 3-4 blocks, stores, public transit, parks, etc. Rooms were nice, easy to get in and out, and the breakfast buffet surprised us with how good it is for even "ugly Americans" like us. We had dinner at 3 restaurants within a few blocks and had good meals at all of them. I did my runs in a park near the hotel and we used public transit to do all of our site seeing, etc. After London we took the Eurostar train to Paris which I've done a couple of times and highly recommend, but book that train a few months in advance and it will save you a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadaBingosMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear BadaBungosMaes,

Thank you for your very informative review of the hotel and the surrounding area.

It is always fantastic to receive the perfect score and I am delighted that you and your wife found all of the hotel facilities perfectly met your needs, including our extensive buffet breakfast!

As you have highlighted, locally we have so much to offer our guests be it diverse restaurant choices, amazing architecture to scenic parks – this area of London certainly does have it all!

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Rembrandt.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#162 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#166 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing