We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #233 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Costa Mesa, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The location of this hotel could not be any better. Close to food, shopping, museums, sites and transportation.

The staff is helpful and courteous and the hotel is well maintained. I felt the cost was higher than reasonable, but other than that, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmaleson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Dmaleson,

Thank you for your descriptive review.
I am delighted that you found our location between South Kensington and Knightsbridge to be perfect as we do have everything on our doorstep, museums, great transportation links, sightseeing opportunities and varied and vibrant restaurants and bars.

Most hotels operate like an airline and rates vary due to supply and demand, invariably our lowest rates will be offered in advance and if a particular room type sells out then the rate will increase to the next, higher bedroom category. Booking in advance and choosing your preferred room type and rate from our website will offer the greatest flexibility and best discount.

I am pleased that our staff were helpful and courteous and that you felt we were are a well maintained and well presented property.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope we can provide better value for money on your next stay.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    1,145
    248
    104
    67
See reviews for
532
1,236
143
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herlev, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My girlfriend and i where on this trip only the two of us.
The hotel was really nice, and had a really good location.
only 10 minutes walk to Harrods.

Close to both South Kensington station and Knightsbridge. So it was really easy for us to go around in london.

We came to the hotel and went to our room, but the bed was to small.
So we upgraded the room from a executive to a club room. And then hotel took responsibility of moving our bags from the first room to our upgrade room.

The only negative thing to say is that our Aircondition did not work, and we notified the hotel after the first night, but it did not get fixed while we stayed there.

Room Tip: If you are taking a boy/girlfriend trip like we did, then order a Club room, it is larger but more L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasmusbp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Rasmus M,

Thank you for your positive and practical review of The Rembrandt.

I am sorry that you found the bed in your original room small. This would have been a standard queen size double. We do offer guests the alternative of a king size double which I have noted you accepted and upgraded to. It is our standard procedure to offer guests assistance to their bedrooms and with any subsequent room moves.

Any maintenance issues reported by guests should be dealt with immediately by our in-house team, so I am disappointed to note that we did failed to repair your air conditioning. Belatedly, please accept my apologies.

Overall, I believe that you and your girlfriend enjoyed you stay with us and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, IL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a few nights when visiting London in the summer. The hotel is in a nice area with many different restaurant options within 3-4 blocks, stores, public transit, parks, etc. Rooms were nice, easy to get in and out, and the breakfast buffet surprised us with how good it is for even "ugly Americans" like us. We had dinner at 3 restaurants within a few blocks and had good meals at all of them. I did my runs in a park near the hotel and we used public transit to do all of our site seeing, etc. After London we took the Eurostar train to Paris which I've done a couple of times and highly recommend, but book that train a few months in advance and it will save you a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BadaBingosMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear BadaBungosMaes,

Thank you for your very informative review of the hotel and the surrounding area.

It is always fantastic to receive the perfect score and I am delighted that you and your wife found all of the hotel facilities perfectly met your needs, including our extensive buffet breakfast!

As you have highlighted, locally we have so much to offer our guests be it diverse restaurant choices, amazing architecture to scenic parks – this area of London certainly does have it all!

We look forward to welcoming you both back to The Rembrandt.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Have been several times in this hotel, and finally I want to give my opinion about it.
Location for visit London is just perfect ( only 5 minutes walk far from South Kensington tube station), 5 minutes far from Harrods and surrounded by any kind of shops including minimarkets.
Hotel staff is always professional and committed to the customers. Rooms are way bigger compared to many other 4 star hotels in London (and in more than 20 years visiting London I have been in many of them), comfortable and always properly cleaned, breakfast is just lovely (mini muffins are just wonderful). Price quality ratio is very very high even though somebody could find it a bit pricey !! I recommend it for a romantic week end, for a business trip and also for a family trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ginoroma65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Ginoroma65,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, from a loyal patron it is most appreciated.

It is refreshing to note that you feel that our bedrooms are bigger by comparison to other London hotels and that our standards of cleanliness are extremely high. We take great pride to ensure that we offer our guests a quality product which is also considered good value for money.

It is fantastic to note you feel we are the perfect four star hotel and that we can easily accommodate a diverse range of clientele. I promise to have a delicious mini muffin waiting for you on your next visit!

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Rembrandt after booking through British Airways. Even though we checked in very early (before 8am on a Saturday morning after getting off an night flight from the Middle East) the friendly folks at reception were able to find a room that was ready and we were able to check in early, relax and have a shower before having the full day to explore London.

The hotel is in an older building in the trendy South Kensington area, but the rooms are modern, clean and well equipped. The free WiFi is a nice touch and the reduced day rates available for guests at the next door health club and spa was appreciated.

Breakfast (included in the rate) was an ample and extensive hot and cold buffet with a large variety of fruit, cold cereals, hot food, breads and pastries. Fresh juices and tea and coffee are served too. The hotel also offers traditional afternoon tea and cream tea.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Sliscio,

Thank you for your detailed review of The Rembrandt.

I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you at 8.00am! We can never guarantee an early check-in, but our team always strive to accommodate our guests as quickly as possible; we do appreciate that some guests have travelled a long way.

Aquilla Health & Fitness is adjacent to the hotel and for a small daily fee our residents can enjoy all of the facilities including the swimming pool - a hidden bonus for this area.

We strive to cater to all of our guests' dietary requirements, however, sometimes it is nice to indulge and what better way than by enjoying a traditional Afternoon Cream Tea, perfect indulgence!

Our team look forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our 9 night stay at The Rembrandt! The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was a nice size with comfortable bedding. The complimentary English breakfast each morning consisted of a buffet with many tasty options. The hotel was located a quick walk from the tube station, connecting to points near and far. We will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to London.

Room Tip: I would recommend twin beds, which appeared wider than normal rather than a standard double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for your very positive review following your 9 night stay at The Rembrandt.

Full English breakfast is included in all of our rates and we strive to offer a wide selection of quality products which cater to all of our guests' dietary requirements.

Our dedicated team is on hand to offer a polite, professional and helpful service which allows our guests to enjoy their time at the hotel, to make the most of all of our facilities whilst exploring our fabulous capital.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a lovely central hotel. We arrived at the hotel earlier than we should to find the room was all ready for us. We were on the 5th floor the view looked across to the v and a museum. It was a nice room and very spacious. The beds were really comfortable. There was constant hot water as well. Breakfast was plentiful and full of choice and the food was very good and all cooked items were hot and very tasty. The staff were very pleasant and attentive to your needs.
We asked if we could leave our cases at reception as we wanted to spend a day looking around London the staff were very helpful and said we could pick them up when we were ready . We really enjoyed ourselves at this hotel and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front can be quite noisy with outside traffic until early hours of morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarovahotels, Guest Relations Manager at The Rembrandt, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear gill26,

Thank you for your lovely review and for giving us the perfect score.

Part of our service is to store our guests luggage either upon arrival to the hotel or upon departure; so that they can savour all of their time in London without having to worry about their bags. It is always a bonus if our bedrooms are ready and available for our clients who check-in early before our advertised times.

I am pleased to note that you found our staff to be attentive and friendly during your short stay with us and that all aspects of your stay met or exceeded your expectations.

Please come back soon, only next time stay for a few extra days and be truly spoilt!

Warm regards,
Lesley Denyer
Customer Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#50 of 1,069 in London
3,279 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#153 of 1,069 in London
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#162 of 1,069 in London
961 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#142 of 1,069 in London
651 reviews
Marylebone
The Sumner Hotel
The Sumner Hotel
#158 of 1,069 in London
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#173 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing