We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice AFTER we changed rooms”
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #231 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 25, 2012

When we first arrived we were given a very small, fusty room, into which there wasn't even enough room for our suitcases. When we complained (we were booked for an executive room), we were informed that we shouldn't have booked through Expedia and that the room couldn't be changed. We were quite insistent and finally moved into room 450, which was roomier although quite dated. However, the room turned out to be comfortable, and we thought the breakfast was more than adequate. As others have mentioned, the location is superb. My special local treat was the cappuccino and macaroons at Paul near the tube station.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank itslaverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,821 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had a brilliant 5 night stay without complaint in room 573 which is at the back of the hotel. There is no handier location then across from the V & A. both for the museums and transport(tube) connections. The room has everything required including mini bar, safe and is a perfect size with very attractive appointments. The bathroom is not large but updated and more than adequate. Hotel security is very good and we especially enjoyed spending several hours on rainy days in the very large, beautifully decorated lounge. The employees seem very happy to work for the management as they were constantly smiling and talking freely amongst themselves. Terrific service from every employee we contacted . A credit to a very well managed hotel. Breakfast is included and more than adequate offering many selections. We will be back in the summer, I just hope they have availabilty by the time we book.

Room Tip: Book early as this hotel is very popular with U.K. as well as International guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is just opposite the V&A museum. We checked in early and had our luggage safely stored while we strolled up to Knightsbridge for shopping and bite to eat. Free wifi was easy to access and pretty good speed. The room was a decent size with nice en suite bathroom. The bed was big and very comfortable. The room was too hot over night. There were two radiators, one switched off and the other kicking out heat but without a control valve. We had the window open but still woke up too hot. Very busy at breakfast, nice buffet breakfast with good choice. We checked out and the reception staff kindly stored our luggage while we visited the museums just a stones throw from the hotel. Lots of good bistros towards South Kensington tube. We went to a nice Lebanese for lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowanremote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Our room was fine but not extraordinary. Good breakfast. Very helpful staff. Nice location, just across Albert and Victoria museum. At bus stop and near subway stations. Expensive (but most hotels in London are). Internet is good and free of charge. The pool costs 15 pound for two per visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vangrieken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed here for my annual trip to England for 2 weeks (11/24-12/08/2012). I've stayed here before and it has gone from strength to strength.

I was in an Executive Room (4TH Flr), the room is a good size and has enough storage for
2 weeks wardrobe. (I'm a lousy packer). The room is well appointed has a safe and minibar.
Bathroom is compact, but is more than suitable. The staff from the Desk to the Concierge to the Waitstaff and especially Housekeeping are pleasant, helpful and a pleasure to deal with.
Breakfast buffet has everything you could want.

The area is fabulous, buses and museums across the street, Underground station 5 minutes away. Harrods within walking distant (dangerous for the wallet).

The restaurants in the area are plentiful and varied. The Italian restaurant Orsini's right next door to the hotel is family owned and the food is unbelievably great. Any of the small cafes within walking distance are very good.

All in all, I've stayed here a few times and will continue to do so, because of the Rembrandt and the neighborhood.

Room Tip: I've been on the 4th floor in the back the last couple of stays and they are quiet and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeefan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We've stayed here a few times - mainly when we go to an event at the Royal Albert Hall. As before, the service was excleent, the room clean, well furnished, warm and cosy and the breakfast superb. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

At first sight the Rembrandt Hotel seems fairly beniegn, and there will be no surprises there,the rooms are pretty much like the lobby, breakfast is ordinary and the word quaint would not enter the picture, the surprise is in the location. South Kensington tube station is two blocks away and surrounding the station are a series of small quaint stores, cafes, pub, deli, bakery...... And if you venture down Brompton St you will happen on a small village with more shops, restaurants etc. the Victoria and Albert Museum is just across the street along with an On & Off bus stop. Hyde Park is a short walk away as is Harrords and Harvey Nichols. So if you are looking to save your money on accommodation and spend it on shopping, eating and entertainment, this is the place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the back of the hotel, the room had no view but was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gogogal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#51 of 1,076 in London
3,530 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington Hotel
The Kensington Hotel
#30 of 1,076 in London
3,077 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#135 of 1,076 in London
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#193 of 1,076 in London
1,003 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in London
#127 Family Hotel in London
#155 Business Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
#201 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $163 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing