We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #227 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is a real gem. Especially if you can find a good rate. I booked a two night stay for my wife and I, for an anniversary. We booked through British Airways and got a good deal.

Luckily we were given a upgraded room, to a king room. This was a really nice size and was at the back of the hotel, so it was very quiet. I think this might have been one of the renovated rooms and had everything we needed for our stay.

The location is pretty much faultless. Right across the road from the Victoria and Albert museum (which is a must see and free entry, charging only for special exhibitions). It's also very close to South Kensington tube which takes you directly to central London and off to Heathrow. Also a short walk to Harrods and other great shopping in Kensington and the Kings road.

Breakfast was included in the price, which really added to the good value we were getting. Breakfast was excellent too, as it included hot or cold items and a great selection.

All in all a really good experience, one of the best I have had in my many visits to London. I will always look for this hotel first on future trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 2,790 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was nice, but your only paying for the location (Knightsbridge) as it wasn't great. Rooms were small, our jacuzzi bath didn't work and we had a view of a brick wall outside our window!
Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann_kimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We have been lucky enough to stay here on numerous occasions. Located opposite the V&A, within walking distance of the Piccadilly line, so you can get a direct tube from Heathrow airport to South Kensington station.
Out of the hotel turn left and just down the road is a Waitrose. Out of the hotel turn right after a little stroll is the world famous Harrods.
With helpful and friendly staff, spacious 'Grand rooms' and a lovely breakfast, I would and have recommend this hotel as a base for a trip to London.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusielouScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We spent a night here on a theatre trip to London. The location makes this hotel a strong contender if you're looking for somewhere central, well served by tubes and buses, in an attractive part of town. Our room was very clean and comfortable and commensurate with its four star rating, but given what it cost I'd have been upset with anything less! If you're visiting on expenses the cost is probably not a great consideration but as a private visitor I would say that, value for money-wise, the Rembrandt was average for a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acoustic_willi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I keep returning to The Rembrandt Hotel because the other equallly priced hotels in the area have been disappointing with their lower standard.The rooms at the Rembrandt are comfortable and clean, nothing fancy nothing shabby, with traditional decor and reasonably sizes bathrooms. Of importance to me is the clean carpet, curtains that darken the room and low-noise level from both the busy road and the corridor.
Considering the location, close to Knightsbridge (shopping and restaurants), the V&A museum, the Natural History Museum and South Kensington tube stop etc, I believe you get excellent value for money at this hotel.
The breakfast buffet is acceptable, not fantastic but I didn't expect more. With a variety of choises there is no reason to walk away hungry.
The service is friendly and accomodating, no complaints. I am always happy to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tova G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I booked this hotel in a package with British Air.My usual West End hotels having had their prices launched into the stratosphere .Unfortunately due to Hurricane Sandy I was forced to stay 3 days longer than I had booked..My 1st room booked as part of the package was excellent, somewhat larger than the usual rooms at a hotel of this class.As the week went on both my room and the prices kept going up while the square footage went lower.I ended up in a closet sized room in the garret for 50% more than my 1st room.I can't really hold it against them, so many people forced to stay over,I am sure they filled the place. Except for the restaurant manager the staff was considerate and helpful.The location , across from The Victoria and Albert Museum,around the corner from the south Kensington tube,and just a few block from Harrods, couldn't have been better.

Room Tip: Take the back, it's quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offbway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week in July with my daughter. This hotel must be rated / expensive because of its location. Although I was expecting the room to be small I was not expecting it to be 4 star with no AC and just generally shabby. We had a fairly hectic agenda so were not in the hotel for most of the day but after sweating in bed for 3 nights I had to complain on the front desk. They told me in a rather snooty tone that I was not the only one in a room that hadn't been renovated ( comforting to know??) and that there was a table fan. The Night shift manager was more accommodating and said that I could change my room to a renovated room that did have AC. We did move room and that was a 100% better. My sisters were also booking into the hotel so I pre-warned them to ask for a renovated room, which they consequently insisted on at check in. Their room was even better than mine and with what appeared to be a jacuzzi bath. ( However they later discovered this did not work). Breakfast was very average, they appeared to run out of fresh fruit quickly and everything else was mediocre. A lot of the staff did not speak proper English and were hard to understand. The location of this hotel is great, tube very close and lots of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 859Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,078 in London
3,484 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#32 of 1,078 in London
3,042 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#138 of 1,078 in London
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Pelham – Starhotels Collezione
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#181 of 1,078 in London
2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#169 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $199 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing