We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rembrandt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rembrandt
Ranked #228 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This is the second year we have stayed at this hotel. We upgraded the room this year so it was larger than last year and had a couch and sitting area. Most hotel rooms in London are very small so at least we had room for our suitcases and shopping. Last year we had a lovely view of the Victoria and Albert Museum across the street but this year no view, which was fine as we were gone most of the day. The room was very clean, good size bathroom and had a kettle to make tea or coffee which was handy. Breakfast was included and it was very good. It is very close ( 3 minute) walk to South Kensington Tube station, the Piccadilly line which gets you to the airport without having to change lines. It is also just a few blocks from Harrods. The restaurants around it are decent but expensive. We plan on staying there a third time next year. Our only complaint were the slow elevators, but at least they had elevators!

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor or Booking.com and see if you can get a deluxe room at a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pottylorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,046
    1,076
    238
    98
    62
See reviews for
499
1,159
126
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed at The Rembrandt for 3 nights and found it situated in an ideal location. Staff was very accomodating. Unimpressive lobby, but lovely bar/lounge area with wifi. Pretty good breakfast, but not outstanding. Our room was very satisfactory, a problem with the A/C was addressed at once. Also, I left my camera in the room, and the hotel very kindly mailed it back to me promptly.

Priced perhaps a bit above the average for a midrange London Hotel, we got a very good rate by booking way in advance online.

One caveat: the road construction in front of the hotel (all over London, really- perhaps due to Olympics preparation) is annoying .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brunellobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Very nice hotel in a good location. Blocks away from Harrods! Very close to S.Kensington Underground station. Large buffet breakfast. Newly remolded rooms, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMEZZ50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

My wife and I spent four nights in The Rembrandt during the month of September. The hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the nearest subway station, and is fairly close to Harrods and is directly across the street from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Our room was decent size and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel offers free wifi, which in my opinion places it several notches above other more expensive hotels which often charge outrageous rates for wifi. The breakfast included with our room had a good selection of hot and cold food, with decent coffee. The hotel clientele appeared to be a good mix of European and North American guests, with no large tour groups. Overall, in a city where the US dollar does not go very far, The Rembrandt is a good choice, and we would return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chuck_F65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Conveniently located across Victoria Albert Museum and walking distance from the tube station and Harrods.The staff was very friendly and the service was very good. Loved the high tea in the afternoon and a drink at the bar in the evenings.The rooms were spaceous , clean and comfortable. Great place to stay at .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranvir92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel is situated near enough right between Knightsbridge and south kensington tube stations so for location you cannot fault it. Ten minutes walk to harrods and Hyde park make it convenient for a nice walk through the park plus one of the best apartment stores in the world.
Lobby maybe a little small regarding seating while waiting but as long as you don't turn up when a big group had arrived that is not an issue as the check in/out is easy and quick.
This is my second time at this hotel and had to get a larger room this time (grand suite) as walked out of a supposedly 4* hotel down the road (kensington close, terrible). Because it was the only room available it was more than I would have normally and liked to have paid but I was more than happy with the suite.
Pool is lovely if only it was free to hotel customers (£7.50 per person), at 330 a night they could include it.
Breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and not rushed at all. Staff very quick to offer teas/coffees and if you ask for something they will try to get it.
Overall I doubt I'll stay at another hotel again unless it is as nice for a lot cheaper.

Overall you can not go wrong with this hotel just don't expect it to be cheap unless you can get a deal online somewhere instead of paying walk in prices.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madskitzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The Rembrandt is a reasonably priced (for central London) hotel, conveniently located in the heart of Knightsbridge, near Brompton Rd., across from the Victoria and Albert Museum and underground stations. The staff was friendly and the room was an adequate size, nicely decorated, with a real KING-SIZED BED! It was quiet at night as we looked out over the back courtyards of nearby houses. Note that free wi-fi is only in the lobby and restaurant areas, not the rooms. The buffet breakfast was satisfactory and included in the price, though it would have been easy enough to find morning coffee and light breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomjet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Ampersand Hotel
The Ampersand Hotel
#46 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,020 reviews
South Kensington
The Pelham
The Pelham
#162 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#34 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Ashburn Hotel
Ashburn Hotel
#166 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#123 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rembrandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rembrandt

Property: The Rembrandt
Address: 11 Thurloe Place | Knightsbridge, London SW7 2RS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in London
#156 Business Hotel in London
#172 Luxury Hotel in London
#202 Romantic Hotel in London
#218 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rembrandt 4*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rembrandt Hotel is located in Knightsbridge, tastefully combines elegant Edwardian architecture with contemporary design and is ideally located with exclusive access to designer shops and many of London's famous museums. Guests can relax with a drink or light meal in the 1606 Lounge Bar or enjoy a delicious Carvery in Palette Restaurant. Guests of The Rembrandt also have access to the adjacent Aquilla Health and Fitness Centre at a reduced rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Rembrandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rembrandt Hotel London
Rembrandt Hotel London
The Rembrandt London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing