We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Urban retreat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Columbia
Ranked #519 of 1,088 Hotels in London
newport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Urban retreat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. Yes rooms were clean but smelt musty, great location but very cheap decor. If your looking for cheap & cheerful great, anything more & really you need to stay elsewhere. The breakfast, although included in our room rate, definitely wasn't worth the price. Just because you're in London doesn't mean you should get ripped off! You'd be better walking up the street & going into subway, or one of the many pubs if you're looking for value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlotte c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    357
    249
    65
    39
See reviews for
201
278
58
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aubiere, France
Level Contributor
327 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great location : Hyde park, 5 minutes walk to the Underground, lot of bus lines right in front of the hotel, what else ?
We booked a family room (2 adults & 3 kids), and for once, we really got a family room !
The room was wide enough for 2 double + 1 single, full furniture, a TV lounge with 3 sofa in the bow window. And we could still move around very easily. The ceiling was almost 12 feet high, decoration in a victorian style.
I admit, all the furniture and decoration is probably over 20 years old, the floor and the plumbing are over a century old (I enjoy the noise of old wooden floors) but the beds are ok and all seemed clean enough for a family with young kids.
Breakfast was very more than enough to get us going for a long day in London (and they had tables for 5 and a lot of space in the dining room).
Other interesting feature with our room, since we were above the lounge, we could pick up the ground floor wifi.

Room Tip: We had room 116, large, bright, calm (except for the street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank creppygym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Great position overlooking Kensington Park. The rooms at the front are also overlooking Bayswater road, although we kept our window open this did not affect our sleep, but some people might need ear plugs. The staff was friendly and efficient. There was a high standard of cleanliness. The public rooms were exceptional in this class, but breakfast room chairs had been sat on too many times. Continental breakfast was very basic, no cheese or meats, and with poor quality rolls. Our room was of good size[twin] its narrowness being more than compensated for by its length. It had decent quality furniture. Overall, pretty good at the price.

Room Tip: There are 'smoking' and 'no smoking' rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Very enjoyable stay we had at the columbia hotel purpose of our trip was to see a phantom of the opera in the west end. Hotel in a fantastic location over looking hyde park. Friendly service from staff from checking in till we checked out. Room (306) was very clean and spotless and functional. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikeymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Four of us stayed at the Columbia in July. We were there during what had to be the hottest week of the year, and as others have mentioned, there is no air conditioning. We were fortunate that we did get a fan for our room part way through our week, so were much more comfortable. We had four single beds with varying levels of comfortable mattresses. We had plenty of room for our belongings and were even able to unpack in the drawers and wardrobes provided. The shower was fantastic- great water pressure and temperature.
A note about breakfast: the menu says that only the continental is included, but since I had been told that the full English breakfast was included, I asked- and it was! We were able to order anything off the menu included in our room rate.
We found the hotel staff quite friendly. They were always willing to answer any questions we had, drew maps for us, and even recommended a laundry around the corner as it was cheaper than having the hotel do it for us.
Of course, the best part of this hotel is the location right across the street from Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens, where we spent several evenings. There are many places to eat within a few block radius. We walked to the hotel from Paddington Station, and it is a three-minute walk to the Lancaster Gate metro station.
I would be very comfortable staying here again.

Room Tip: Let them know your requirements when you book. Ask for a non-smoking room. Rooms overlooking Hyde...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is located in a prime spot adjacent to Hyde Park. They have a nice breakfast and free wifi, however, don't go there when its warm because there isn't any cooling and the window in our room hardly opened. W called to see if they had any fans but they didn't. We spent two miserable nights because it was sooo hot in the room it was hard to sleep. Besides that it was a nice smaller older hotel. The location is the best thing going for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoBobGranadaHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business and the hotel is in a great location, pitty about the hotel columbia.
The rooms are very outdated, my Granny would probably approved!! It was one of the hottest week this year and the rooms are stuffy, no, A/C or fans. I asked for a fan and was told they had run out. I asked if they would be getting any more fans as it was was so hot and close and was unable to sleep. I was told that their would speak to the manager. It never happened. The curtains were filthy black and the bathroom was somthing out of a carry on film. The staff don't give a dam! I spend alot of time travelling and staying in hotels but never have had a
Terrible experience at a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Turkish1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Lancaster Gate Hotel
#436 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#363 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#576 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caring Hotel
#490 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#396 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Columbia

Property: The Columbia
Address: 95-99 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #519 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel overlooks Hyde Park & Kensington Gardens; minutes from Queensway restaurants & shops; easy access to public transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Columbia Hotel London
Columbia Hotel London
Columbia London
The Columbia London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing