We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and even better service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Ranked #255 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great location and even better service!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was lucky to get this hotel from a Price-line bid and couldn't have been happier with the service or location. It is convient to two metro stops on the Circle and District lines and a short walk to the park where I enjoyed running. I disagree with the reviews that stated poor service. We found the every staff member from front desk to cafe to be incredibly welcoming, kind, and helpful. I ended up upgrading my room when my sister and her daughter joined me but this added free breakfast and access to the executive lounge which had free internet and a happy hour each day. I had the choice of breakfast in the lounge or the cafe and was impressed by both. The cafe even had many Glutten Free options for my sister who has Celiac. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family or friends traveling to London.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jag62012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    582
    219
    69
    38
See reviews for
349
490
99
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott Kensington for a week on a business trip. As usual, with most Marriott's the internet is incredibly expensive - something you would expect to be free for the price per night stay.

The rooms were clean but outdated and I thought quite small (understandably this is London). The beds were only moderately comfortable and the toiletries provided were fairly poor quality. Breakfast was decent, no complaints there. House cleaning unfortunately did not impress me when on the first day they did not empty my trash.

Overall - I would recommend you stay here for the location connivence (right around the corner from two tube stations), fairly decent customer service and a clean room. However, for the price per night I would not have voluntary chosen to stay here had it not been a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank js86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I am a loyal customer of the Marriott chain and frequently stay at their properties whether it is in the US, Europe or elsewhere. As a frequent guest, you would expect to be treated with respect but this particular hotel did not live up to those standards.

Most importantly, the Australian woman who is the hotel manager was exceptionally rude and even tried charging us for a room service delivery that we did not order. When presented with the final bill we obviously disputed the charge and she responded in a very unfriendly and rude manner. Our company spends significant amounts of our annual travel budget booking with Marriott and this kind of behaviour is completely unacceptable.

It is kind of a shame given that Marriott Kensington has a fresh feel to it and the location is great, but the issue we experienced means that there's probably not going to be a second visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wdonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is not living up to the Marriott standards. The rooms are outdated, the fitness center is apalling, and the comfort is lacking. I'm pretty sure my room had bed bugs. I woke each morning with 2-3 bites on me. Plus to cap it off, the fire alarm went off during the middle of the night with no apparent reason. There are too many other options than to waste staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SOKYFARMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Rooms are comfortable and clean, if a bit smaller than a ususal. Staff are efficient and helpful. Breakfast is plentifuly, but stay away from the wallpaper past masquerading as porridge. Suprisingly quiet being you are on a main street. In a very nice location, about 5-10 min walk to tube station. Beautiful leafy streets all around, nice neighbourhood to walk about, with a fun local pub about two streets away, and a 15 min walk to a very good restaurant, Whits. Just what you expect from a Marriott.
Yeah, what is with the perfume smell in the lobby? It did cause my hayfever to flare up. Maybe tone it down a bit.

Room Tip: We faced the back , not pretty but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PensyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. Comfortable room in a great location with reasonable weekend rates. Very comfortable bed in a compact quiet room with bath tub and in-room coffee. What else could you ask for?

Lobby smells of heavy perfume. Asked front desk. Seems they automatically spray perfume in lobby. Why?

Room Tip: Ask for quieter room facing back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I've stayed here several times now. They have a very nice lounge for gold and platinum members open 7 days. I also enjoy the breakfast. The rooms are a little small but standard for the UK. The room could use some updating but they are clean and for the most part comfortable. The staff is mostly very helpful.
My biggest complaint are with the mattresses. The mattresses are terrible and very uncomfortable. I stay here a lot last year and i was hoping they would have gotten new mattresses but they have not. Throwing on a feather-bed cover does not improve a really bad mattress.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joejoe923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Xenia Autograph Collection
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel Kensington

Property: London Marriott Hotel Kensington
Address: 147 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW5 0TH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#179 Family Hotel in London
#190 Luxury Hotel in London
#220 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — London Marriott Hotel Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover sophisticated comfort at the London Marriott Hotel Kensington. Set in an ideal location, our hotel in Kensington, England offers easy access to London's most celebrated landmarks, including Hyde Park, the Natural History Museum and Kensington Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Marriott Hotel Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott London
London Marriott Hotel Kensington England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing