We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long weekend in london”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #508 of 1,064 Hotels in London
wales
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“long weekend in london”
Reviewed January 25, 2009

excellent location,5 minute walk from gloucester rd tube.lovely old buiding in nice area.room small but clean and warm ,bed was really comfortable,no bath in our room-good shower,also a bit small. check in and check out was efficient.didn`t really use bar or restaurant faclities.short walk to V&A,science and natural history museums and if feeling energetic can easily walk to city centre.tesco extra close for snacks and pub next to that was quite nice but sorry cannot remember it`s name

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank angela9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    303
    139
    82
    43
See reviews for
113
259
55
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2009

From the moment my mother and myself entered the hotel, we knew that it was right for us....this was very important to me as my mother is very elderly and comfort is upermost! We had booked a twin room for an overnight stay.... the room was clean, warm and very comfortable... We had a meal in the evening... and although the menu was not that extensive, the food that was served was nicely cooked and there was plenty of it. After spending a very quiet, comfortable night... in the morning took a shower, bags of hot water, lovely soft white towels to dry ourselves on, this was followed by a very good english breakfast before leaving the hotel... All the staff were extreemly nice and very polite... nothing was too much trouble for them..... we would go back there without a doubt... Very good value for money.

  • Liked — the warm feeling the hotel radiated
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fussyladyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2008

When I booked this room, I wasn’t expecting a lot as the offer was for a small room in London. The room was tiny, with a small single bed, a bathroom the size of a cupboard and paper thin walls. The room itself was clean and in good order, hotel staff were friendly but as I stayed over the Christmas period in a cheap hotel, the clientele left a lot to be desired and kept me awake most the night with drunken behaviour.

I would never stay here again and reinforces the old saying ‘you get what you pay for’!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank kent1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2008

Just needed a place to put our heads, so was looking for value rather than sumptuousness. Location is beautiful. I am biased, I find London the most stunning city, and the area this hotel is located in is one of the many reasons why I think so.

The first impression of the hotel, walking in through the hallway down a long narrow corridor to the reception desk was - well is was Scottish.... tartan absolutely everywhere. The check-in was very friendly, if a little bit confused. They confused the names and genders of our party so that the men became Mrs and the women became Mr - it caused much hilarity during the check out process the next day.

The rooms are truly tiny. You have to climb over the bed to get to the window, and there's barely room to open the shower door without falling into the toilet. But it was only a place to put our heads for the night, and for the price, it was adequate. It came as a shock when there was no hot water for the shower, but the hotel were quick to get this fixed.

The bar had a nice buzz to it, with many of the hotel guests choosing to finish off their evening in there. The service was possibly the slowest bar service of all time - apparantly a shift change meant that we had to wait over an hour for a drink - although were weren't altogether sure why... and we weren't in any hurry.

While it is probably the most calamatous hotel stay I've had in London, there was humour in the place as well as enough tartan to make me feel as if I was in the clutch of my forefathers, and for the rock bottom price we paid, at least the place was immensely friendly, clean, quiet and well located. I think it could become a quirky favourite of mine oddly enough.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ME13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is part of the Grange Hotel chain and I had stayed in their City Grange hotel which was excellent. So although previous reviews indicate differing opinions I picked it for a Monday night stay as it was a good price for London (£70 approx room only). What irked me about the hotel is that it has it all going for it (great location, nice building) and yet they mess it up with drab, faded decor, disinterested staff who just seemed to listlessly hang around, and a grotty reception with damp patches and peeling wallpaper. Some attempts were made in the room to give it a 'luxurious' feel (an excess of satin cushions on top of the pillows) but then the extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work - and in a 4-person room I can foresee that being an issue.
That said, I will keep trying this chain of hotels if their prices stay competitive.....but just take their 4* 'self-rating' with a pinch of salt.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HisFussiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Booked a two night theatre break through the hotel's own website. Got an excellent deal which I thought was great value for money. Hotel is in an excellent location just two minute walk from Gloucester Road tube station, lots of cafes close by and a Tesco express to get goodies for the train journey home!

The room was very small but clean and the beds were very comfy. Not much room to walk around but as you just sleep here its okay. You should not be spending any time in your hotel anyway in London as its a fantastic city to see!

Continental breakfast was included in our price which was great. You could have paid extra to get a full english. There was toast, cereals, danish pastries, crossiants, hams and cheese, fruit juice and tea and coffee.

I would recommend this hotel for a weekend break. My friend and I hope to go back to London very soon for another theatre break and would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Susan48_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Staff were great when we arrived, helped us with our luggage and gave us directions to the park our car. Hotel is in great location, two minutes or less from the tube and a short walk from the car park closest carpark at snazzy hotel round the corder.

Tiny elevator up to our small room on the top floor, ok for 1 or 2 nights but would be difficult (and messy with all my stuff!) for more than that. Being on the top floor meant no noise from traffic but also very little natural light from the high windows, but minor complaint really as the overall decor was lovely and well thought out. I think 'cosy' is the operative word.

The best thing was the bed. Down quilt, runners and the softest pillows, like getting in to a hug, dare I say it, more comfortable than my own bed which I rate highly!

The hotel itself is beautiful, traditional interior and attentive staff.

I'd also recommend the chip shop opposite the tube, great fish & chips, lovely owner and just a short walk from the hotel, open until midnight for a short stop there before going back to the hotel after a night out.

  • Liked — the bed
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#359 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#433 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#413 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#352 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#601 of 1,064 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore
Grange Strathmore Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing